Theurgy and the pagan moon projectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #theurgy5 years ago

Theurgy

Theurgy, or what I would consider as true magick; is a self transformative process that uses what I see as the fundamental laws of nature for the art of self improvement. It is considered in Latin, Magnum Opus, or in English, The Great Work, as it is seen and observed by various mystery school traditions.

Intention

Intention is a key part of self transformation and many tools are available to help. I have been using the moon to my advantage with regards to my own practice of theurgy now going on three years. With it I have experienced both ups and downs, trials and tribulations; but most importantly, a lot of insight into my life and personal growth.

Why intention?

There is something incredibly powerful about setting an intention with the moon. The manifestation is other worldly; it's as if source is telling us exactly what we need to do in our lives to fulfil our intentions, to take us to the next step and to allow us to be of greater service in the world.

So why the moon?

The moon has many cycles from New to Full; Psychologically and Ritually it allows us to focus on the new, to bring some form of positive change in to our lives. The moon, when new, is dark and empty; a clear void for us to create and bring something in. Whereas, the moon when full is the greatest reflector,we take this time to look back, analyze and see how far we have come and what we can do to improve upon ourselves for the next 14 or so Sun Days of its cycle. This is extremely similar to Kolbs' work of experiential learning as observed in modern psychology, you can find a link to an article on this matter I have previously posted here:

Link to my article on Kolbs cycle of experiential learning

The period of time from New to full and back to New should leave is with roughly enough time to reinforce this new idea or behaviour as a positive habit, compared to what may seem like a daunting task of a New Years Resolution,by having the mind being aware this is only for one month I believe it makes the achievement easier as committal is only contracted for one moon cycle; and by the time this is complete it can even be extended.

Setting intention with the moon

Intention is key but intention has to be well thought out. In the past I have made intentions without truly giving thought or feeling; I have used the moon cycle, as an example, to attempt to improve my breathing, thusly I was plagued with nasal flu like symptoms which really made me work hard to breathe through to survive and thrive never mind to improve the breath. This is a direct result of not using 'the word' with intention in a safe and sensible way. Safety first... Be sensible.

When used correctly with intention it can be a huge catalyst for theurgy and self improvement. This months cycle has been for me about acceptance... Acceptance of where I am, Acceptance of praise from others; This 'coincidentally' has places me in a position with more leadership and responsibilities as well as opening me up to new opportunities.

Where next?

Take these as starting points, there is always more to what I have to say but I share it as it is a great starting point to allow you to give it a go and research more. In a later writing I will be going into detail about enhancing outcome in line with the elements and embodiments of the moons month.

Don't be afraid to start small and get the basics down; one month is a surprisingly quick period of time these days. But keep reaching for the stars for it is where you belong.

pexels-photo-556666.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43