Using The Unmentionables to Mentor New Steemians

in #theunmentionables7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

About 3 weeks ago, I stumbled onto an invitation to join a Discord group called The Unmentionables. I had been active on Steemit for a few months already, but I had not really found a group to join yet, so I thought I'd give it a try.

I very quickly found that the members were friendly and welcoming. I started to read the posts by the active members, and I noticed that they were a level of quality that I have to spend hours seeking out on Steemit by myself.

As I've gotten more and more involved, I've seen how building a community via a Discord group can help influence the quality of both the posts and the comments here on Steemit. I encourage you if you are looking for a way to improve your interactions and build relationships here on Steemit, consider joining the Unmentionables. The community exists to support members of all ranks: from complete newbies to witnesses. There's even a community account that is used to promote and upvote posts by the members of the group. The group also hosts raffles and contests occasionally with SBD prizes and more!

I'm sharing this invitation with you today because I am seeking to be a mentor to the group. As a mentor, it would be my responsibility to help new members develop better quality posts and learn to use Steemit more effectively. I will teach them about curation: both commenting and upvoting, as well as what makes a good post. I've gained much knowledge over the past few months on how to effectively navigate the good, the bad, and the ugly of Steemit, and I will communicate this knowledge directly to our new members in a constructive way.

I know the things that have positively influenced my Steemit journey, and I will do my best to help other new members find some of the same influences. I will do this by directly communicating with members via the Discord group and by engaging them in posts and comments here on Steemit.

I fully believe in the mission of the Unmentionables and the countless other groups that have been formed on Steemit. I believe that by encouraging genuine engagement with posts and comments, we can create a supportive community for all members, no matter how big or small.

If you'd like to check out our group, just follow this link to the Discord group. Create an account and say hello! We're always interested in welcoming new members!

To learn more about #TheUnmentionables, visit our latest recruitment post!


I hope to continue to serve the community and promote fantastic content and engagement!

With warm regards,
Ethan D. Smith

Images via Pixabay

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occassionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

image.png

Interested in joining us? Come join our Discord server at:

https://discord.gg/7kYYrw9

#TheUnmentionables

Please upvote this comment to help us pass out higher dollar value upvotes in the future!

You're the one who got me started in there and you've been a great help and encouragement along my steemit path! :)

It's been my pleasure. Glad you've found a home with The Unmentionables. We've enjoyed having your content there for the past week. Looking forward to much more!

Ethan,
As the other half of the "powers to be" of The Unmentionables, I personally want to thank you for putting in your application. I'll drop you a line in Discord so I can say hello and get to know you a little bit. Sound cool?

Anyways, happy to have you here on Steemit and with our awesome group!

Cheers!

Tilsley

Sounds great! Thanks for your comment. I'll look forward to hearing from you.

Go for it Ethan - From what I have seen I think you would be great at it

Cheers

Thanks so much!

I support you @ethandsmith, you are a great team player (the number one criteria to become a mentor).
#theunmentionables

Thanks so much. I hope I'll do you proud!

Great endorsement! I'll be popping in. 👍

That's great! Feel free to message me over there if you have any questions

Absolutely! I'm officially party of the group. 😀

Ethan,

You're a role model example of the type of member this group needs to THRIVE.

We would absolutely LOVE to have you become one of our mentors - you've most certainly earned it buddy.

You're the best man. Keep up your selfless attitude and giving spirit, and you know it'll keep coming back to you 10-fold.

Great application Ethan wishing you the best of luck :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Hey I like this post because you are serving and doing a great job..just met you in discord..otherwise, I might be lost Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76