Poloniex Exchange Review- Scam or no Scam?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #thereum7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20170622-190441.png

There are rumors that Poloniex Exchange is scamming traders using an assortment of methods. Because of these accusations, I have spent the last month testing the validity of using Poloniex Exchange for cryptocurrency trading. These tests were designed to test the overall functionality of the site, to monitor the behavior of traders on the exchange, and to test for system bugs that many users have reported.

Screenshot_20170622-193803.png

I started my research by simply purchasing Ethereum through Coinbase and sending it to my Poloniex Echange Account. I was not thrilled on the exorbent costs associated with purchasing the cryptocurrency through Coinbase, but it was a necessary barrier to entry. Coinbase also took way to long for the Ethereum to be issued after funds were extracted from my account.

Screenshot_20170622-195514.png

After promptly receiving the funds into the Poloniex account, I initiated buy and sell trades, margin trades, and traded in and out of different currencies. I traded from my phone and my computer.

Screenshot_20170622-202941.png

Eventually I was able to exit my positions and transfer them back to Coinbase and deposit it back into my bank account.

Screenshot_20170622-203604.png

Screenshot_20170622-203748.png

My Observations;

*Trading on my Samsung Galaxy J7 8core 260gb, overclocked, and with unlimited 4G.

-My primary observation is that Poloniex Exchange on a mobile platform is very unreliable. It is almost impossible to swing trade because information is grossley inaccurate. Reloading the page freezes the platform, in witch you have to close the browser, and re-open it to view relative information. Sometimes you even have to restart your phone. Load times are better using the non mobile version of the browser, but results are still the same.

*Trading on a modest PC with DSL.

*Much Faster load times were observed, but still some web lag. Still having to reload the browser to get more accurate data.

Overall Observation;

*It is nearly impossible to put in an accuarate market order instead of outright buying the intended cryptocurrency. As soon as you place a limit buy or sell order, market conditions drive higher or lower depending your position. Im guessing this is primarly because of automated trading.

*It was possible to manipulate the market by placing limit buy and sell orders because of the market driving the price in the direction that would consistently least benefit your position.

*I observed that lag was much more foregiving if you tried to close a losing position.

*I observed that lag was much more forgiving if you were going to open in a losing position.

*I observed that crucial trade periods when trying to sell would result in a complete breakdown of the platform before I was able to open/close a position.

After fees, between trading, transfering, and closing funds on Coinbase and Poloniex, after a great increase in prices, I managed to break even.

Conclusion;

It is my personal opinion that trading on Poloniex is not a good idea on a cellphone. It is manageable to trade on a computer, but market manipulation is still present, and presents a considerable risk in short term investment activities. I am highly suspicious that the exchange is indeed performing some type of behavioral algorithm.

Speculation that lag fest occur when your close to closing a position for abprofit were ramped in observation.

Speculations that funds could not be removed in a timely manner without problems were non existent.

Its my personal oppinion that money still can be made on the exchange, but will require an individual to become a "bag holder" and long term investor.

Sort:  

Tnx, following

I can confirm your observations as i an a Poloniex user.
this is not so robust application and it require refreshing constantly the browser but for swing trading it is good enough
the interface allows you to see the chart immediately you don't need to open various tabs and load the chart ..it shows you your positions and have a simple display.

On a mobile platform the chart takes forever to load. The computer is much beter. The platform is not a good swing trading platform whatsoever.

by swing trading i mean a trade every few days ...not a day trading platform
any way I was day trading futures using serious platforms IB and Ninja trader etc and Poloniex is Shit in confront of those but still it is what it is ...i wish also that it would be better and they can improve a lot

Very useful post and in depth, thanks for sharing. Sent a follow as well!

Really, after like 10 seconds. A follow and up vote. U must be like superman in the internet world. A non living being. Maybe a spam bot?

Nope human here lol, you just happened to show at the top of the new thread for me and thought it was quite an in depth experiment you did there so wanted to make sure I put in the upvote it deserved. Thanks again!

Poloniex guide by Tokens24:

http://bit.ly/2n9GN1k

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68