THE PRICE I PAID FOR LOVE

in #thepriceipaidforlove3 years ago (edited)

How it started

IMG_20200727_122403_417~2.jpg

Though it started three years ago, it is still as fresh as yesterday. After undergoing one year NYSC programme (a compulsory service to Nigeria by all tertiary institution graduate), luck shone on me and I was opportune to be among those who were enlisted for a Federal Government Empowerment Initiative Programme. Due to my passion for teaching, I was shortlisted under the category of teaching.

On that fateful day of my resumption at my Primary Place of Assignment, I made it early to the Government Secondary School I was posted. On my arrival, I stood at one corner of the Staffroom Block taking my time to observe the environment - something that I do whenever I find myself in a new environment. Most of the students were not that intriguing in appearance in the area of dressing except for one. She was like a golden ball in the midst of black balls. She was walking majestically from the school entrance to the direction of the Staffroom. Out of curiosity, I took some steps down from the Staffroom Block. I wanted to know who such a spectacular teenage girl was. So, I moved towards her direction to steal some gaze.

When I moved closer to where she was, I gave her a wave with my left hand. In return, she returned the gesture with an infectious smile that can melt even the most strongest of hearts. She was not only different in appearance after all, she was also smelling differently; she wore a perfume which made her appearance more inviting and thrilling. I couldn't help it than to halt her. When she stopped, I asked her the class she was as well as her name. Without delay, she gave answers to all the questions that I asked her.

I got curious to ask other students who the girl was. They told me that she was the Head Girl of the school. Their response to my inquisitiveness explained why she was different from all other students. Her walk steps, her voice and accent were all different and unique.

That very day, after closing from school, I spent some of my time replaying my encounter with the Head Girl. However, somehow, I hit myself so hard not to allow the thought of a secondary School girl to occupy my mind. Besides, I have never had anything romantic and emotional with a teenage girl before. All my past relationships revolved round adults and as a principled person, having a relationship with a girl of her status should be the last thing I would do in life.

The next day, I went to school without a memory of the preceding day, but it seemed that day had other plans in stock for me. During break period, that same girl passed where I stood under one of the mango trees. Her passage left behind an irresistible force which drew my attention to her presence.

To be continued...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52