Forgiveness

in #theology6 years ago

Selected Thoughts


This is true forgiveness:
that God could go to the cross & still love those that put Him there,
still love those that hang next to Him,
still forgive those that drove the nails in, that spat & mocked & made a blasphemer of Him

This is the power of the cross, this is the full & perfect revelation of a merciful God,
a God that is love


In Genesis 4 we read of a progression of revenge; from Cain's revenge, which is sevenfold, to Lamech's, which is seventy-sevenfold. Evil begat evil, broken on top of broken,

In Jesus, we read of a progression of forgiveness, the antithesis of revenge,
Should we forgive sevenfold?
No, seventy-sevenfold

The message of Jesus, the gospel, the eternal life that He calls us to live, stands in defiant response to the rippling, epic unrighteousness that has embedded itself across all generations of the human story.
The way of forgiveness, the way of Christ, answers the way of the world,
Choose forgiveness


Did Jesus crucifixion cover all of my sins?
Why, then, do I keep asking for forgiveness?
Not for God's sake, He has already forgiven me; so for my sake?

So am I really asking for forgiveness if I understand that it is already given? No.
But I do want to step into the fullness of life that is the way of forgiveness. So when I pray "forgive us our sins", I am not asking to be forgiven, but am aligning myself with the way of forgiveness, knowing that prayer goes on:
"...as we forgive those who sin against us..."

Break my heart for what breaks yours
Judge not, lest you be judged
Show me how to love like You have loved me
Forgive me as I forgive

Sort:  

Hi @theichthys!

  • Welcome to Steemit

✞ We basically have the same name! 😎

God Bless

Visit this link if you would like to add this to your posts...
coolfish.png A FREE gift for you!

Hi @coolfish
Thanks for the welcome :)

Congratulations @theichthys! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theichthys! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55