Defining Me

in #theology6 years ago

Of all the questions that there are to be asked (& there are many), perhaps the two most important are "Who is God?" & "Who am I?", in that order. In a decision that can only be indicative of this author's aspirations, I henceforth address the latter.

I write in the midst of a cultural phenomenon, on the crest of a wave of tolerance, liberty, rights, social justice and various lives that matter. I write surrounded by systematic labelling, by a taxonomaniacal establishment that would reduce to a tetragram the manifold nuances of my personality. I write from the avante-garde defence of absolute, timeless, objective truth in a war waged by the disenfranchised. In uncertain times, in unpredictable times, I follow the Way, I look to Christ & I stand on the permanence of God's goodness & faithfulness.

Who does the creator of Heavens and Earth say that I am? Could it be that I am eternal? A self not dependant on mood? That there is an everlasting, unshakeable definition of me that doesn't ebb or flow with the tide of how I see myself, but instead anchors to the bedrock of Biblical truth, of Spirit-born new creation and purposeful, deliberate genesis?

I am an image of God, full of fear & wonder. I am a child of God, born of Spirit & flesh. I am an heir of God, saved by choice & grace. I am a new creation, renewed in heart & mind. Before anything else, before all labels, titles & categories, I am a man of God, as such a man of Love, as such a man of Peace.

Before you tell me anything else, tell me your mission - tell me the miracles you've seen, the Words you've heard, the prayers you've screamed with joy & whispered in fear; tell me the works God has prepared for you, the fire in which He has refined you & the turns in the path He has you walking. Tell me you're a prophet, tell me that you preach; share with me your wisdom, trust me with your pain. Be my brother, be my sister.

Find yourself in Jesus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44