The Mesopotamians System Status, Week 20.

This is a weekly update of the status of @themesopotamians system.

Hey, we made minnow. Weird week for it.

So here's where we are. We're going into quiet mode at least temporarily. Voting will continue, level projects and extra rewards for them will continue to be available, but the accounts are not going to post, except possibly this one. I will work on getting the stats-posting bot working; no guarantees but I do have less demand on my time than usual this weekend. Curation posting will probably not be coming back anytime soon, and we will not be adding new levels or new users at this time. That decision will come later.

I'm not super-enthusiastic right now but resisting heavy-handed authoritarianism seems to be the name of the game everywhere these days, so it's not like I can get rid of it by leaving Steem. I feel better after talking to some of the witnesses who are either opposed to the 50/50 plan or require a lot more evidence to move forward with it. I have hopes that everyone will now contentrate on SteemFest and the whole thing will blow over.

And I figured out some actions which I can take to maybe make a difference, which is always going to make me feel better than sitting around waiting to be messed with.

ACCOUNTLEVELSTATUSVOTING
@doctorworm0-500 SPActiveSupporting 20 users
@particleman0-500 SPActiveSupporting 23 users
@m-sargon500-1100 SPActiveSupporting 13 users
@m-hammurabi1100-1800 SPInactiveSupporting 11 users
@m-ashurbanipal1800-2700 SPInactiveFollowing @particleman
@m-gilgamesh2700-3800 SPInactiveFollowing @doctorworm
@themesopotamians3800-5000 SPInactiveVoting all users
ACCOUNTNATIVE SPDELEGATED SPSOURCE
@doctorworm124.7331513.208@tcpolymath
@particleman96.8691526.293Leased
@m-sargon116.2592014.262@tcpolymath
@m-hammurabi29.7452506.931@tcpolymath
@m-ashurbanipal8.369
@m-gilgamesh8.463
@themesopotamians133.811150.367@davemccoy, @bigotemaifriend
----
System518.2497711.062
System Growth22.3852.686

The Mesopotamians is a project to use ongoing support and gamification to encourage account growth and build a class of community-minded minnows and eventually dolphins. This project is run by @tcpolymath.

The Mesopotamians uses a six-level system of automated votes to encourage specific users to invest in their accounts and make community contributions. As a user progresses up the levels the value of vote they receive increases. Before advancing to each new level a user will be asked to envision, develop, and implement a new project with community benefit.

The Mesopotamians is an outgoing support initiative, not a vote-trading scheme. Support from our members is appreciated but not in any way required.

Users are chosen for the program by @tcpolymath in a completely-unfair and usually-opaque selection process based on what he thinks is important for the community and who he thinks would be a good dolphin someday. He's giving his own money away here so he's ok with that, but it's best to be upfront about it.

Sort:  

resisting heavy-handed authoritarianism seems to be the name of the game everywhere these days

For real. While certainly no utopia, I think the censorship-resistant nature of Steem (and the fact that it makes absolutely no effort to be a utopia) is the project's most underrated strength.

I'm actually over 800SP now. A lot of that is due to your efforts and votes, and support from a few others, I do appreciate it. I can not believe that at one time back in Jan or Feb, I was able to cast a 14 cent vote, My vote was over a dime. I had a lot less SP back then.

I remember Dave and I sort of going back and forth on the My 2 cents, and newbie nickel, I was a pretty happy steemian when I could give out those nickel rewards to new users. Totally in shock when I saw that the value of my account was over $2000.00. Now it seems like everytime my account goes over $650, it starts to go back down no matter how much steem I keep converting to SP.

Netcoins, has really helped with steem price, (thats a joke). It is a very very precarious situation that steemit is in right now, if there is not upbeat news out of steemfest 3, then I think those that have weku, trybe, whaleshares accounts and other secondary blockchain accounts will be looking at a serious reduction in their time on steemit. So I can see and understand the frustration levels. We all do what we can to make our lives better, and the lives of our family, friends, and neighbors better, it all trickles down and out, unfortunately it seems as if there is a black hole of greed sucking the life out of steemit. We will see I guess what happens. At least I have had fun here for a little over a year and a couple of months now. Aug 17.

I'm mirroring your thoughts exactly @bashadow! Just have to wait and see where it all heads to now. Thank you for the update too @tcpolymath!

Steem is hurting hard right now along with just about every crypto. This is probably the massive thinning of alt coins that we all saw coming where only the strongest projects and communities will survive. I won't say that Steemit will survive just because the platform has a lot of awesome people, because I have been part of awesome communities that fell apart before when the platform we lived on failed. However, we all have financial incentive to find some way to rally and find a common ground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66