Akkadian Driftwood, August 11

in #themesopotamians6 years ago

It's still August 11 somewhere, maybe, at least if I get this done in the next few minutes. Less than a week into this trip and I'm already more than ready to be home.

This is a weekly feature of some of the work @themesopotamians project has supported on Steem through the @particleman account. The Mesopotamians provides ongoing support to certain selected users in hopes of building a cooperative and growing middle class on Steem.




@corpsvalues wrote an incredible post about Medusa, the Greco-Roman destruction of feminine myth, and how modern political movements tie into and synergize with the attempt to recreate a constructive mythos around female gender. (If there were a followup post about NB I bet that one would be completely awesome as well.)

I really appreciate the effort put in to actually say something about cultural imperatives and gender conflict rather than just semi-consciously perpetuating it, which is most of what I see in the outside world. There's a level of reflection and systematic thinking here that's extremely worthwhile.




@veryspider brings us an original character design of Cassi the gaslamp age paper witch. I can just say that when I was editing, the very phrase "gaslamp age paper witch" would have made me sit up and take notice. It's an excellent elevator pitch component.

I think and hope that Spider is moving closer to turning some of these character designs into full-fledged projects, and I'm excited to see what she comes up with. I can see a real narrative talent here that I think she has difficulty admitting to herself. Getting the most out of it is a lot of work but I firmly believe that the results will be worthwhile.




@amritadeva writes about a change of career path from nanny to IT professional. It's always fun to see someone making a bold change in their life, and this one should be very interesting to follow as she tries to find her way in the IT universe.




@nathankaye has found a house for his family to live in. Being from Minnesota, the idea of an eccentric musician who lives in a vividly-purple house is fairly familiar to me. Now Nathan's recreating it on the other side of the world.


Great work, everybody! Keep it up!

Sort:  

Thank you for highlights again Tim. Can't believe I nearly missed @corpsvalue's Medusa post, with a rather captivating discussion in the comments too. My VP is taking a big hit! Lol!

Thanks for doing this curation! I need to work harder at staying abreast of our mesopotamians. Your community building efforts are so greatly appreciated.

Being from Minnesota, the idea of an eccentric musician who lives in a vividly-purple house is fairly familiar to me.

Oh that is gold!!! I literally laughed out loud. Showed my partner and she laughed too. So good
Thanks for this curation mate!


Blissful blessings and smiles

in joy

Nathan

NK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23