The Marine Memoirs - Day 017

Day 17
2009-5-12

The heavies keep concocting ways to keep us busy to satisfy their commanding officer. We just finished up weapons maintenance, and I personally am good to go once my internal mechanisms are clean, and my weapon is in perfect firing condition. My old squad was ordered to go down to the motor pool we’re now operating out of to receive some classes; when in fact; they were actually tricked into going down there to participate in a working party. When you’re placed in a leadership position, your own needs and desires need to be placed aside to a certain extent. You need to stick up for your Marines, and try to alleviate as much bullshit as possible for them. When you agree and accept every meaningless task thrown your way, because you’re afraid that someone in a higher position will think negatively of you… you shouldn’t be a leader! Too many Marines, often allow certain events to transpire, that inevitably hinder individual Marines for their own personal gain. The best Marines are those who take the Marine Corps one contract at a time. I stood up for what I believed in, and was fired because of it. Every Marine who has ever existed, would still follow me into any situation, because they know wholeheartedly that my decisions aren’t based on what someone may think of me. In other news, I was supposed to attend some brief yesterday, and was ordered to take a bus over to the area where the class was being held… and the bus driver managed to drop me off two hours early. If I actually knew I was going to be so ahead of schedule… I would have just walked. Although, it did later pay off significantly, because the idle time lead me to the discovery of a free station, where all of the hygiene products one could want are free and up for grabs. I was also informed of a location where there was free tactical gear. I acquired some Surefire batteries and an extra set of flame resistant organizational gear. Although there was no boots my size, I found a pretty sweet jacket. I also took one for my friend Charles, who was later very appreciative. The heavies are pissed that I have yet to switch slings, and that I’m showing no signs of giving in. A one point sling is designed for a combat zone, and the last time I checked… that is precisely where we are.

Always keep your eyes peeled for a free station while traveling.

The Marine Memoirs - Some Base Infrastructure

I’ve decided to crowd source the ever irksome task of editing and proofreading my book with you guys and gals, so please feel free to make any corrections or suggestions you’d like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60