BOULDER SUNDAY

in #theluvbug5 years ago (edited)

Another place to share our love for earth's history, told by stone. More than happy to join in. I have viewed some amazing material already. #melinda010100 continues to set the bar . A shout out to #bouldersunday + #shasta + #rockhound is in-order, thanks you guys! Also to #theluvbug for her support.

These are some boulders I believe fit the rules. No way I'm driving away with these babies. That best part of that is I don't have to go to far with them. These magnificent boulders are right on my property. I have placed them so that I would be able to get at them at a later date. They are really cool as they are loaded with fossils. Some fossils of plant life, others of what seems to have been some type of crustacean.

IMG_0275.JPG

IMG_0276.JPG

These three boulders were set aside 7 or 8 years ago. When I first placed them there they were void of the beautiful greenery that masks many of the fossils.

IMG_0277.JPG

This is another one I have put aside. The pictures that follow are of this beautiful boulder.

IMG_0278.JPG

IMG_0279.JPG

Getting up closer, where the moss doesn't impinge the view, you can see why I kept this guy around.

IMG_0281.JPG

IMG_0282.JPGIMG_0288.JPG

Now that I am retired I plan on using these jewels I have now cherished for years. After I power wash them, my plan is to lay them in some sort of a pile to have as a center piece of a garden, to gawk at in wonder, and to be reminded of just how insignificant I really am! These beauties of long ago humble me!

Hope you enjoyed! thebigsweed

Camera: Cannon Power Shot SX 530 HS

Sort:  

Those are sure some awesome boulders you
have @thebigsweed! With moss and fossils to boot!
Awaiting the view of the fossils after the power
wash, keep some the moss tho :-)
Best part is, they are yours!

Thank you so much @thebigsweed for showing
your boulders to us, they are truly beautiful!
Thank you @melinda010100! & @rockhounds!

I love rocks of all kinds, big, small, old and young 💎
It is amazing what all they been through to get to
where they are.
What part of the world are your boulders?

Thanks for the up-vote and reply. I am from Upstate New York where I OWN A TREE FARM.

Is wasn't calling you a fossil! I was saying I like your fossils!

howdy sir thebigsweed! very interesting...how big are these things? I think you should sit on one so we can get an idea! Or set something beside them.
I assume they weigh hundreds of pounds so you had to use some type of equipment to pick them up?

They are quite large. 3ft x 5ft x 4ft. My best friend, who lives across the street has a tractor and he is the one who has moved them for me. My estimate is between 1.200 - 1,800 pounds.

oh that's big! and you're going to stack them up or something?

I plan on using hem as a center piece of a new flower garden my wife wants.

Thanks for the reply.

oh very cool, that will make another interesting post but it will be even better is you can move those by hand! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86