Basketball Court Bar - DIY

This past week I got a great chance for a fun DIY project. The farmer's wife bought a piece of a basketball gym floor. Yep, I had no idea that this was a thing, but she got a big piece.

She was designing a rolling island for her son's kitchen, and this flooring was going to be the top. I cut her piece the size she needed it, and then she said I could have the rest!

Stacie D has been talking about us building some sort of bar or counter since we first got here. The kitchen is incredibly small, so this would add some much needed space for meal time.

This is a two part re-purposing project. The top is made from recycled gym flooring. The lumber that I used to brace and support it was actually from the old well house. Back in April the farmer dug up the well outside the farm house and ran the lines into the basement. This meant that we no longer needed the well house. 

I left it sitting outside until I figured out what to do with it. I used the saw to cut through all of the nails and put it into the garage to dry. When it was time to put it all together, I got to give my oldest son a nice lesson in geometry and carpentry.

I was originally going to build it with four legs. Something strong and not too big or in the way. After drawing out several designs I decided that I was going to build it like a giant shelf. So I worked out all of the measurements and then made all of the angle cuts with a circular saw. 

I like to build, but I really enjoy working out all of the math to make a more complicated design. Stacie D laughs and shakes her head every time I tell her that the world is built with triangles.

I hope you are enjoying out adventure as much as we are.

Another great experience #innerblocks

Be well

~The Yeti

Join us on The Inner Blocks discord!


View this post on the Inner Blocks Community dApp for the best experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15