FAKE STEEMIT EMAILS - WARNING! WATCH OUT!!!

in #thehack8 years ago

So my account too was hacked and I am still in the process of recovery. I followed @fyrstikken his advice to switch over to Lastpass.

Now with Ned's latest security announcement you can actually go through the process of changing all of your keys. For me it didn't work just yet... As Ned mentioned in his article:

"If you logged in with Facebook or Reddit your account will be immediately restored. Steemit will contact everyone else with additional confirmation instructions."

So apparently Steemit will contact me with additional confirmation instructions. BUT BE CAREFUL WHERE THESE MAILS COME FROM. Because this next email is FAKE and NOT from Steemit, this email just got through my spam box.

So how do you recognize it is fake? First of all, they ask for the following details:

First Name:
Last Name:
Phone Number:
A picture of an ID with your name:
A picture of you holding your ID:

DO NOT EVER PROVIDE THESE DETAILS because at Steemit they have no data at all to compare it with. Do you remember registering to Steemit and having to supply any of this data? DO NOT DO IT!!!

Also the email looks very legit because it's from [email protected], but the To: is to [email protected] which is weird... Isn't it supposed to be directed towards my email?

I suspect that the hacker still has my email address and spoofed some email addresses from Steemit. Join the Slack at steem.slack.com to inform yourself about the latest news.

BE WARNED!!!

@ned & @dan

Sort:  

It's legit. For accounts not created via facebook or reddit, they ask for that information so the hacker would have to give away his identity for overtaking that account again.

I just don't trust it, my gut feeling still tells me to watch out.

My gut feeling tells it would be way too expensive in man-hours to ask, process and store full verification information on Steemit users.

Are you sure this is fake? If so thanks for pointing it out! It's unfortunate that when there is success you always get people trying to take advantage of it.

I don't know, I just think asking for ID my name and last name is a lot.

This is true be careful its a jungle !

People have to be alert and remember that phishing emails is one of the most common "hacks".

Remember no one will ask for your password ever. Unless you have been hacked and you are trying to fix it.

Thanks for keeping us informed. Hope others are not getting hacked.

Just so people are aware 2FA will not stop an attacker gaining access this way.

Just a head's up. Be smart, don't use chrome or IE for crypto.

They disabled joining Slack. You have to have a @steemit.com, @syncad.com or @cryptonaut.vc address.

This is nuts. I'm really worried at how much of a challenge phishing is going to be for crypto in the long term.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33