I won a Google Scholarship!

in #thegoodnews7 years ago

My Good News!



GrowWithGoogleDeveloperChallengeScholarship.png

Last year I got really into learning how to code in java and python. I signed up for every free class I could get on Udacity and Udemy and completed quite a few. Right before Thanksgiving I received an email from Udacity announcing a scholarship from Google for their Android Developer Course. This usually costs over $500 and I wanted to win. I completed the application and found out today I won! I'm so greatful for this access to free knowledge and I can't wait to get started.


Now that I know developers can contribute to the Steemit platform through utopian.io, I want to learn as much as I can! Maybe in a few years I'll be able to help code around this place! I'm so excited I just had to share the good news with you all!



20180110_075027.gif

Random gif, just because


The last few days I spent a lot of time back in Facebook land. Originally, trying to recruit peeps for the cause. I've got at least 3 new members for the Fantasy Crypto Trading League coming over, but they're still waiting on account creation. Not much I can do there. While I was promo-steeming it up, I of course ran into other fellow Steemians. One of those steemians was @ashleykalila. She has started a project called @humansofsteemit which showcases real life Steemians in all their shining glory! She has come up with a list of interview questions for people to answer and then she publishes it all on the @humansofsteemit account. She splits the sbd made from the post with the interviewee. So cool! When she asked me if I wanted to take part, I didn't hesitate to accept. She is always looking for more humans of steemit to interview, so if you're interested, please go check it out. I think it's a wonderful project and I look forward to supporting it. I spent a lot of time yesterday writing up my answers and I can't wait to share it with all of you. As soon as the post goes up, I shall resteem it!

hos.jpg

@chackett is hard at work planning our next #ophumanangels mission. He looked up online what all items our local food bank and halfway house are in need of and totaled it all up. He then made a post asking for help to fund this endeavor and Steemit came through big time. Last night we cleaned out our pantry and found a whole box of stuff that we had and will never eat that was on the list. This weekend we'll go to Costco and the Dollar store and load up on the rest of what's needed. A huge thank you to @lyndsaybowes, @hendrix22 and @davedickeyyall for donating sbd to the cause. We'll be documenting the whole process so keep an eye out for that post. It's gonna be a feel good story you don't wanna miss!


Tommorrow I'll be doing an official Fantasy League post, hopefully our gals from facebook will be all set with accounts by then. I'm in the mood for a contest, so don't miss that one either! hahaaaa


That's all the good news I have for today, thanks for reading!


kgif.gif


banner.jpg

Sort:  

That's wonderful news.. congratulations.. yeah.. you go girl

Thank you! 😁

Congrats to you. that is great news..

First of all Congrats!!!! I'm also super exited about @chackett's Op that you guys are doing! You guys are amazing!!

That is a Great news, congratulations: D

Congratulations on the scholarship!! :) I can't wait to read about your op either!

Thank You! We're excited for this next mission, it's a pretty darn good idea my hubby had. 😁

love it! Congrats on your success. I've participated in #humansofsteemit and #ophumanangels so it's funny you mention both here.. or we just run in the same circles lol ;) following you now

Haha! That's so funny! I spent some time reading through the humans of steemit posts yesterday and I do remember yours! Thanks for the follow, I'm always glad to make new friends. 😁

It is amazing how people think programming is some kind of mythic arts or something outside the realm of humans, congratulations in winning but even more in wanting to learn Java, I hope you can make a post of how good were your first lessons.

It looks like a really great program. The first project is to create a weather app. I'm exited about it! 😁

Congrats, knowledge and applying it is one of the most important thing someone can have!

Congratulations @khackett good things happen to good people, I cant wait to see your achievements, make us proud.

Excellent news, I hope to participate in that. Congratulations

Wow! Congrats hope you get to teach me too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42