Tales of Light Episode I: @sunny4glow

in #thegoodnews6 years ago (edited)

In this series, I will try to highlight some of the good deeds that are often passed on by million glances. More oft than not, the posts under this category will be a submission to #TheGoodNews.
charity.jpg
(Image from Borgen)

And see that ye have faith, hope, and charity, and then ye will always abound in good works. - Alma 7:24

And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. - 2 Peter 1:7

Regardless of your religious affiliation or personal path of spirituality, I hope there is no arguments about good works and assisting other fellow humans to make the world a slightly better place.

I came across @sunny4glow's post about visiting a psychiatric hospital and the orphanage today.

What they did may seem little, but I have no doubt that they made the people's lives better in those locations. If anyone is reading this, I do suggest you stop by and see what other contents he will produce in the future. I think the man has a lot of potential to lift those around him.

The psychiatric hospital visit hits home for me because I had someone close who went near the deep end due to his mental illness, which almost completely destroyed his life. As we all know, such illness is often brushed under the rug and cast a stigma on the afflicted individual. Fortunately, through the help of family, friends, and some providence (some may call it luck), he was able to receive better medical attention and is now on the path to return to building his career, etc.

Since I do not have permission from @sunny4glow to post his photos, I encourage everyone, again, to visit his blog to see some of the good works he's been doing with his group.

Remember a wise quote from J.R.R. Tolkien through his character, Gandalf:

Some believe it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. It is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love.

We can draw many parallels between this aforementioned act of charity, life in general, and how this platform will function.

Sort:  

Most definitely have my support I do think mental health has to be looked at more often

It's a difficult field to navigate, but there are definitely more mild cases that could use more compassion.

Yeah really it's hard to tell a lot of mental problems could be found with people especially from domestic abuse or anything else. Some people go through things that make them like that

What more can I say to you, sometimes we ignore most of this serious issues affecting our people . Thanks so much for the mention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13