Helping our Valley.....Slowly, but any thing helps make it better.

in #thegoodnews7 years ago

So my wife brought me up to this area @ophumanangels. We went out and took a soup that I made in the crock pot and other things I take for granted. So here is what I am going to do this week, as something that I am doing and working on is taking a lot longer than I hoped. My eyes are not as sharp as they used to be, but I will save that for a later day. So I thought. What can I do here in our area to make things better for families. So I googled what is needed in the area the most and this is the list that I found. Was thinking about going to Costco, because I thought I could get more bang for my buck, but @ $230.11. That's more than what I have to spare. So lets see what we can do.

Popular Food Donation Items:

canned or dry soups, chili, stew

canned vegetables, fruits

can openers

pasta, pasta sauce

boxed meals, rice, dried beans

peanut butter, canned tuna

granola bars, power bars

dried fruit, nuts

cereal, oatmeal

crackers

juice boxes

coffee

eggs

cheese

baby food/formula

cooking oil

tortillas

seasonings

powdered or shelf stable milk

personal hygiene items:

toilet paper, toothpaste,

shampoo, soap, diapers

KITCHEN

Ground Beef

Cheese

​Milk

CLOTHING & WARMTH

Blankets

​T-Shirts

Jeans

Socks

Underwear

HOUSE SUPPLIES

Toilet Paper

​Paper Towels

Cleaning Supplies

Trash Bags- all sizes

Laundry detergent

I will go out this week and see what I can do. I know that giving to the people on the street is good, but I think that a lot of times going to the shelter or food bank is the way to go. I will grab a few items here and there and find out when I am able to run off to drop these items off, while not at work....As I write this, its is over whelming and makes me cry a little. Just thinking that everyday items that I have hundreds of....socks, seems to be the one that is loved the most. Dry socks. I know that I will not be able to do this alone, but here is to seeing what I can do and when. I will hit up the Dollar stores here in town and make a run by Saturday.

http://skagitcrc.org/basic-needs.php
http://www.skagitfriendshiphouse.org/greatest-needs.html

Sort:  

This post sums up my reason for loving the steem community! I’m going to go drop off old jackets to the local shelter in town since it’s been raining. Thanks for the motivation!

So awesome! I'll send you some SBD tonight to help as well!!

Thank You that will help out. I will gather all this week and go out and deliver saturday

OMG really....thats awesome. This is making me all teary eyed. You guys are awesome. Lots of good is coming i can feel it.

Oh how awesome dude!!! I love this so much!

Thank you for using the #thegoodnews tag as well since this is Great News. You have my support of course. You're doing good shit @chackett :)

5 SBD sent to help buy needed items.

Shit yeah, @khackett will have to explain on how i use that. You know i do not really think about that too much, just makes me think....ok now what else can i do for next week or more this week. Got boxes ready and going shopping fridsy, i have a list already.

If she can't help you let me know.. I'll show you how to do it

Awesome, we will have to figue it out. We have moved it around inside the wallets on steemit but have yet to move it out. We have coinbase and binance, do we need another?

No. Sell SBD for LTC ... use coinbase LTC to receive... Sell LTC to your bank account... takes 2 days

You can sell SBD right in your wallet using @blocktrades... very reputable.. he'll send LTC to Coinbase for you.. that part takes seconds.. minutes at worst

Ok, yeah that makes sense. We'll sit down and do it tomorrow so that it has time to get into bank account by Friday or Saturday. No worries. 😄

Loved waking up to this blog <3 this is the sweetest thing. Yes, socks here too...most needed. I picked up the club packs of them and they divide them at the shelter. Best bang for your buck as you say!!! Thanks for all you are doing <3

What a beautiful idea! I love this! 💗💗

Thank you for your kindness in our world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42