The Toy Story: Why I´ve just bought a new surfboard 🏄steemCreated with Sketch.

in #theeverydayproject7 years ago (edited)

'As men get older, the toys get more expensive.' - Marvin Davis 

Tell me about it! 

Thank God waves are for free, because I´ve just spent a fortune on my new surfboard.
It feels like birthday and Christmas all in one. 

We can´t buy happiness but we can buy toys, and that´s pretty close.
Here´s why we should indulge ourselves with something from time to time.

IMG_9068262a1.jpg

Indulge yourself! 

Indulgence has power, enthusiasm and purpose. 

It calls to us and asks us something. It provides us the freedom to please ourselves. 
Indulgence is irresistible. And that´s actually a good thing. 

Everybody finds pleasure in something. Maybe it´s shopping, a good meal at your favourite restaurant, a massage, a walk along the beach, traveling, being along, being with your friends, being in love.

It´s your life, you are in charge, you make the rules. Go for it! 

That actually reminds me of one of my favourite songs.

Paul Newman - 'Come and get it'

'Come and get it if you really want it.'
'Come and get it if you really need it.' 

Living life to the fullest 

We only live once, and life is dramatically short. Let´s do it efficiently. 

If we love what we do, then we do things for fun, pleasure, creativeness; then we do them dedication, passion, love, hard work, and desire to be better. 

The older we get, the more we realize that happiness takes work. 

It´s a constant evolution of being the best version of ourselves, avoiding frustrations that distract us from our fears and, above all, of fulfilling all our dreams.  

Fulfil your dreams! It is somehow our obligation. The world needs people who love what they do, spread happiness and inspire others to fulfill their dreams. 

Make the best of it! Here is my interpretation:


Picture source: https://es.pinterest.com/explore/surfing-quotes/


People may have their own usage for lemons. There are actually infine ways of making the best of what we get.

We cannot buy happiness, but we can live our lives to the fullest. 

We can be good to ourselves, follow our passion, please ourselves with whatever contents us. Only if we love what we do, we can become the very best version of ourselves.

Enjoy :)
Marly - 
 

PS: Don´t forget to follow  #theeverydayproject: The Everyday Project

IMG_909864b9f.jpg

Sort:  

Your reward for being in Promoted is an upvote and 0.019 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, keep your contents promoted! :)

You are amazing! Thank you!!! :)
Enjoy your Sunday

Awesome!

Great post with a great message!
(I am a big John Newman fan by the way)
Upvoted! Happy surfing! :)

Thanks for the support, @nikolina! I am happy you enjoyed it :)
I love him, too. Especially that song!

Hehe, squeeze one in your hair and go surf! I love the idea of living life like this. Go for it. No point in wasted regrets!

Me, too! I even think it´s the only one :)
Happy Saturday, @meesterboom!

And a happy Saturday to you too!!

A good motivating post.

Thank you, I am happy you found it inspiring!
Following you now :)
Happy weekend to you

Good luck!

What led you to buy a new board, and what specifically led you to choose that one?

It´s time for the next level. I´ve been surfing with a beginner´s board for almost one year now. That board provided much security and I learned how to read the waves, get up on the board, surf lefts and rights. Now I need one that enables me to be more flexible and to learn some new moves (turns). The new one is a fiber board 6´4″ (6 foot and 4 inches), my old one was a foam board 7´0″. There is still missing a nice painting on it which I will create by myself and then give in hands of a board designer.
Now I just can´t wait to get into the water with the new board tomorrow :)
Do you surf, too?

My surfing is limited to the web, but I always like to learn about why people to choose to upgrade their specialized equipment for different sports.

"Surfing is the Source!"

A new board is an amazing thing, yes, yes indulge! If you're transitioning from a foam board to fiber glass, it is a huge step up. Speed, trim, control, maneuverability will all see an improvement on a 6'4" over a 7" foamie. And most importantly FUN will also increase as you get more and more accustomed to your new friend!

I'm a big fan of Fishes my self, every board is unique, and learning to ride a new board is like learning to dance with a new partner.

Stoked for you, pura vida

Oh here is a pro talking!! Cool! Thanks for stopping by. I've always asked myself where the surfers are on steemit ;)
YES it will be definitely a lot of fun. I tried a fiber 6'4'' in Maldives last summer. First it was hard work, besides the fast board waves are incredibly fast there, too! But then it started to be pure pleasure. An unreal experience.
In two hours I'll be in the water with my new baby.
Yeah, pura vida!!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84