The Eclipse Chronicles ~ Prelude: An Idea Is Born, The Almighty Prep, and Getting Started ~ Original Photography and Story Of Certain Adventure ~ In Several Parts ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #theeclipsechronicles7 years ago (edited)

P1360085-1 335kb.jpg

Wilson² Gets Ready For The Eclipse


A Grand Event, But Too Much Bother?

The solar eclipse this year was touted by many as the event of the century, and ended up being quite the hoo-haa in the news and other areas of discussion this summer. But for some reason, I was not all that swept up in it all. I think the impending doom and gloom predicted by most of the internet/news outlets finished off any of the personal interest I may have had for the event.

"Hundreds of thousands, if not MILLIONS" of people flooding to the state from outside the coveted 'line of totality', to have a closer look. Driving all over lawns, gardens, and much worse in rented cars, if a rental was even to be had at the eclipse-mad, bulging-with-traveler airports. The expected mayhem went on and on and on in dire detail.

Hotels overbooked and price-gouging for $1400/night. Cell phone coverage dead because everyone will be calling home to report what they see. Long lines and gas shortages at the pumps for the rental and personal vehicles. Large runs on the grocery stores. Forest fires, smoke, vehicle accidents, bad disasters, more mayhem, with major discomfort thrown in as well. Way too much for me to deal with, that's for sure.

The plan from in here was to do nothing for this once-in-a-lifetime event...except go out in the back yard at about 10 o'clock in the morning, look up, enjoy it, then go back into the house and get back on Steemit. I didn't even buy any of those coveted, cheapo cardboard glasses, to allow me to look up safely. (Not sure WHAT my plan was for that part, I DO have #12 welding glass, but need a #14, evidently). I guess I just figured I'd buy them at the last minute, like everything else I do in life. As it ends up, there are many people in my town that plan ahead, just like me. More on that later.

I suppose one could call me a major bah-humbuggist, bordering on big-time pooh-pooist regarding these huge events. But in self defense, I just don't like dealing with all the nutty people in these larger-than-life situations. It just erases much of the 'fun factor'.

An Idea Pokes It's Small-Plan Head Out Of The Sand

Like all planning phases of life, things can change very quickly. A friend called awhile back, and a new, 'great idea', was laid ...and then sat upon to see if anything might hatch forth. It WAS simple, in a complex, simple-plan sort of way. "We'll go to Eastern Oregon. Go early, and camp out on public lands. Get ahead of the crowd, hide out in some corner of nowhere, and watch it from there". Seemed like a good idea, as most last minute ideas spelled out on paper go.

We just had to leave early enough, get ahead of the throng of crazy eclipse watchers, and stay put in the 'wilderness', until they all drove their rent-a-cars home the next day. Bring enough food, water, shelter, food, beer, food, and whatever else we might need to survive in the desert, and wait it out. It was all set, a phenomenal plan indeed.

Smokey The Bear Had A Different Idea

One of the joys of the summer out west, is massive forest and grass fires. In just about every corner of our world. And besides the bad idea of getting burned up in one of these fires, there is the smoke thing. A lot of smoke...smoke so thick, you can't see the skyline, let alone the actual sun. And this summer was no different. About a week and a half before Eclipse Day, things were getting bad. The smoke was everywhere, with a new fire popping up almost daily.

The eastern Oregon plan was scrubbed, and the whole idea tossed out with the bathwater. The western part of the state was promised by those in-the-know as being even MORE of a human zoo. All those MILLIONS of people originally going to the east, now coming west.

Narrow, two lane roads jammed tight, all that mayhem discussed previously, was still going to be the same. Only magnified, and shifted in another direction. "Don't Even Go There!!", was the general gist of the news. And this didn't even account for possible weather changes. Events like the one I read about on-line recently. Some poor guy has made 14 attempts at seeing the eclipse, worldwide. He's only seen one eclipse. Not odds I'd like to bet on.

One If By Land, Three If By...River?

There is a saying from somewhere or another, that I've pretty much patterned my life after, that has served me to some degree of success over the years. It states: "If you don't plan ahead, doing something at the last second means you don't really need to HAVE a plan". This whole eclipse thing was soon to take a turn in this direction.

The solar eclipse was predicted for the 21st of August. On a Monday. This was Friday, the 18th. And at 9:00 in the morning, our eclipse plans were all canceled. Too crazy out there. Back to square one. Go out the back door where it's quiet, look up, enjoy the eclipse, then go back in. Wouldn't be along the Line of Totality, but just fine with me.

Then some more information surfaced on various friendly telephone calls about the state. Later in the day on Friday, it all started: "Hey, a new idea. Canoeing! The Path of the eclipse goes RIGHT ACROSS THE WILLAMETTE RIVER! Why not get in the canoe, paddle down the river, and camp out. RIGHT ON THE LINE OF TOTALITY!!" ALL I could say was "YESSSS!" and "BRILLIANT INDEED!!!!"

"Scurry Scurry, Toil and Worry...Dig All The Stuff Out, In A Big Old Hurry"

This WAS a grand plan, on paper. But it had a few potential kinks, in that dumb-old reality of...well...reality. What if the other 70,000 boaters of the area come up with the same idea?

There are only so many places below high-waterline on the river one can camp. Both physically and legally. It's just how rivers are put together. What if ALL these folks show up in their boats, in the same place, at the same time? That coveted ground zero, where the river crosses the sun's path. Talk about watercraft wackiness.

Plus, this is a river. They tend to flow in one direction. Downriver. You can float down all you want. But you have to have somewhere to park your car where you 'put in'. And somewhere to get out when done boating. And THEN have a way to get BACK to your car, that is now miles upriver, so you can take your boat home. Minor details...they always get in the way.

This sort of thing is a logistic conundrum on a good summer's day. A day without thousands, if not MILLIONS of people added to the mix on the narrow, two-lane country roads, camping grounds, put-in's and everywhere else. All monkeying up the works for those of us with the most-perfect plan. Something had to be done.

Getting Up Before The Sun Usually Solves The Problem

After about a gazillion phone calls to officials running the public land areas around the river, the whole thing was finalized. Google Map was consulted and xeroxed, and all was complete. We would get up before the crack of dawn on Sunday, the 20th. Park the car at the County Park put-in, paddle down and camp, and then some poor sucker would have to walk back on the country roads to get the car, parked somewhere 5 to 10 miles away at the park. Seemed do-able. As long as I wasn't the one 'volunteered' to walk back to the car.

Things were set in motion. The eclipse adventure was on. Not without trepidation...regarding the MILLIONS of people that might be in the way, but the plan was up-shifted from 'N' to 'D', full, canoe-steam ahead.

"Please Spare Us The Details, Sir"

I could go into many discussions about what it took to get all this in motion, in one day. But we need to get to the pork and potatoes of this whole thing. Suffice it to say, it was a LOT of running about town on Saturday, to make all of this happen in that one day.

Starting off with getting river maps at the Whitewater Outfitting Store. (Including a large, UH OH moment, when the woman behind the counter piped up: "I think a bunch of boaters from the area already have the same plan as you. We've seen a LOT of them in here this week. Buying maps, gear, and getting more info for the trip!!") Hmmm...

Undeterred, I then moved on across town to the next steps. Gathering and buying and digging out the foodstuffs, camping gear, water container, fishing gear, more foods, liquid inbibe-ance-es, canoe permit, camping info, Google Map map for the walk, eclipse viewing info, paddles, life jackets, throw bag, cooler, blah, blah, blah, on and on, blah blah. A full days worth of work. And on into the night. I didn't get a wink of sleep from Friday night until departure time, way-too-early Sunday Morning. Too much stuff to do.

Onward, Outward, and Awayward, and Down To The River

The big plan was to drive off the driveway at 3:00 AM, and we finally left at about 4:30. Not a bad start, as my trips usually go. It was a fun drive up to the put-in for me. I slept most of the way. But once we got about 5 miles from the park, and the sun started peeking out from below the horizon, I awoke, and pondered our next, highly iffy part of the plan.

The nice woman on the County Park's telephone on Friday told me that there were 7 official parking spaces at the put-in, and there was "some overflow parking, down by the river, but not much."

Not that I am a Negative Ned about these things, but I figured there had to be at LEAST 7 other boaters in this part of the state with a phenomenal plan as great as ours for eclipse viewing. And if the lot was full...we would have to drastically change this plan. A Subaru will NOT fit in a canoe. We would have to find another place to park and launch our canoe. Not an easy task, with all the other MILLIONS of people crowding the only other 2-3 'put in's for miles and miles around.

"There Ya Go, With Them Negative Waves"

Plan B looked much worse, even when viewed in GOOD daylight. The less-than-desirable possibility that we wouldn't even make it onto the river at all, and end up stuck by the side of the road with a canoe and all the water-accessories that go along with it. Then spend the rest of the day and evening trying to find a patch of ground to park on, followed by spending Sunday night sleeping under the upside-down canoe.

Such fun! Awake Monday morning all super-refreshed and ready to go for the eclipse viewing, eating breakfast while sitting in the canoe in some farmer's field, or in a roadside ditch. We were hoping against hope this fun scenario would not unfold for us.

We drove on, undaunted and unable to do anything about all of this, and finally arrived at the put-in parking lot as the pale, yellow-orange light of day crested the trees beyond the river. "Holy Mackerel, will you look at that!", was the uttered reply, from the three very bleary-eyed canoeist's, crammed all around and between the gear in the Subaru. The shock when we drove into the parking lot was downright palpable...

~ NOT Finto -- To Be Continued ~

Thanks for stopping in and viewing the start of the Eclipse Chronicles. If you have any thoughts about the sun and moon, canoeing, driving to a spot through massive traffic, finding a new Wilson in the Wilderness, or anything else this post reminds you of, feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Post No. 150



Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Sort:  

I'm on the edge of my yoga mat!! Won't move until I know what it was!! All I can guess is a dead animal caught in the grill of the Subaru.....roadkill. It's what makes a Subaru a Subaru?

SLAP 2 on that one. I guess I better get typing, don't want you to have to sit on that mat into interminaty.

I keep thinking about one thing in your list of supplies: 'canoe permit.' I try to imagine the events that led to the need for canoe permits, and I just got nothing. I don't even know why it surprises me either-- I've heard of people getting pulled over in their canoes around here, searched and harassed by wildlife officers for drinking while floating (DWF?) I'm just always amazed at the flaming hoops we have to jump through just to operate a canoe. /rant

I'm excited to hear what is going on in that parking lot, I'll be back!

Rant well taken. I've always been bummed about the beer in the boat thing. I understand where it comes from, people running over other boaters and people after 27 beers. But just floating with a cold one, is one of the joys of life, be it canoe, or tube.
The permit is just a $5 thing, to help defray cost for advertising about keeping your boat and/or trailer clean to keep the zebra muscle and other nasty invasive's from being moved from lake to lake or river on equipment. Kind of a pain, but I can live with it, as the loss of massive species due to all the introduced stuff hauled all over from place to place on boats and trailers is a whole lot worse. There are some nasties moving in. So...rant well taken, but still probably OK with the fee. I hope to have more postage done soon. Too many photos to go through...yaarrg.

Nice read and I'm also intrigued to learn what y'all encountered. I won't ask you to tally up the total cost of the purchased supplies ;-)

I can sum up my Central Jersey 70% "partial" solar eclipse viewing as follows:

  • Coworker buys a dozen pairs of paper glasses at Amazon and gives a number of us a free pair, including me. He tells us his grand plan of taking his 80 year old father to South Carolina to watch the eclipse from a grocery store parking lot.
  • I use my free pair of paper glasses to watch the eclipse on the lawn outside of work. OK, excitement is over, back to work ...

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. Luckily some of those things were just 'dug out' of the home supplies, rather than total purchase. But you can't have too much food, in my book. Particularly if you have NO idea what to expect once 'out and about'.
Your time with the sun sounds very thrilling ( : if not a bit short. Then again, that's the reality of an eclipse on a Monday. Durn work gets in the way of just about everything. At least you got the glasses...that's another part of the story. Nothing like planning ahead...

Noooo! I want to read the rest now! :-)

I'm a day behind, so I snuck a peek up my feed, thinking I would thwart this whole"to be continued" thing. Sadly, there will be no binge-reading for me.

Great writing. If this were a book, I would have been turning pages like mad.

So sorry to disappoint in the realm of the late-night binge ( :
(I took about 1245 pictures of everything except the sun and moon on the weekend. Gotta love digital, but it's taking awhile to get some of them together into some semblance of coherency...maybe that'll teach me. Probably not...)
I'm very happy you enjoyed the read, it makes me smile to have you enjoy these things I type out, as it is a large compliment from such a great writer as yourself. I only wish you would do more. (I unfortunately missed your Spiritual Chameleon by about 17 weeks due to being off-line.) Hope you have a nice night.

A bloody cliffhanger! That's a down vote alright LOL... We best not have to wait for two or three weeks for the rest!!!

I'm still not done with my Christmas tree posts yet. But there's good reasons for that bottleneck. I'll do my best to 'git on it' here ( :

WOW! There were a lot things to be prepared for the view of The solar eclipse at your side. Interesting story! I feel excited with your story. It seems that you had great adventure for the trip.

Nice photo! Very creative idea; the football looks smart with the helmet and the glasses! And it’s very comfortable sitting on the soft seat like this while seeing the solar eclipse !

I also had good experience seeing solar eclipse in Thailand, that's a long time ago! Even though, it’s only a few minutes, it’s really great moment for me; i.e. before the sky was dark, I saw birds flied back to their nest as they may think it’s getting dark at night…

I’m curious to learn more about your remaining story now. Can I expect to see photo of the solar eclipse? Look forward to reading your further story with much interest! ;)

It was a great load of fun. I'll continue on. I took a BUNCH of photos of everything, so am trying to put it all together. Glad you enjoyed reading the first part. Wilson the football says so too.
That's cool you saw the eclipse in Thailand. It is pretty amazing, isn't it. I looked for the birds, saw a few, but was so busy looking all around and at the whole thing and such a way-too-short time. So much to take in. I only took one picture of the sun, due to time, and it really bothered my eyes. Even with the glasses. So...I looked all around at the environment, birds, trees, planes, and other things all about. So odd when it goes dark in the day, then comes back. Probably one of the most interesting things in nature I've ever seen. I'm sure you'll agree.
Well, have a nice day, and enjoy the regular sunshine.

It’s great to know that you took a BUNCH of photos of everything! I’m much excited to see them soooooon…. Um…and it’s good to know the name of the football, “Wilson”. It’s nice to hear from him, too! ;)

It’s pretty amazing seeing the eclipse here! Wonderful experience for me! I can imagine what’s going on with you at that moment through your story….

I absolutely agree with you, “It’s one of the most interesting things in nature that I’ve ever seen”.

Good idea! Let’s enjoy the regular sunshine! ;)

Odyssey dear friend @ ddschteinn, I'm sorry for everything you've had to go through.
Excellent work dear friend, I love to visit your work always find satisfaction in it, I appreciate that you have commented tue xperiencia.
The next time you see it on television, in the comfort of your home.
I wish you a beautiful day

Thank you, glad you enjoyed the story so far. But it was a whole lot of fun, as well as an adventure. Can't take these things TOO seriously. Hope to have more out soon, I'm just not that fast ( :
Have a wonderful night, and day tomorrow. Take care my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50