The Diary Game: 2020-Aug-20 - A Blackout!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #thediarygame4 years ago

mower.jpg

It is 8/20/2020. I've managed to pop out a post every day for the first 20 days of #TheDiaryGame.

My pedometer reads 11,200. I also continued my streak of daily bike rides. This time I was just going up and and down short hills hoping to build up enough strength to be able to go up long hills again.

While I was cruising down the hill, I felt the liberating sensation of wind in my hair.

I realized that such a sense of liberation was unfitting. I ran my hand through my hair and realized that I had forgotten my helmet. So, I headed back home. I was out without a mask and no helment. I am happy the local health commissar didn't catch me. My cyclometer now reads 30 km.

The main chore of the day was the simple act of mowing the lawn. I decided to take a picture of the bright orange mower set against marigolds. It is a nice contrast of artificial and natural oranges.

I got the electric mower in 2016. It starts every year like a charm. Perhaps I should sharpen the blades, but the mower itself does not need the care of gas mowers.

I got a corded mower because we happened to have a long enough cord for the lawn.

Personally I prefer corded tools to battery powered tools because the batteries wear out and they create a toxic mess when they expire. I think there are enough toxic messes in the world. Other than the plastic shell and plastic wheels, the parts of the corded mower can be recycled.

We do have a batter powered trimmer, pictured below.

The Blackout

Electric Mowers create less pollution than gas powered mowers. Quite frankly, I think everyone should replace powered mowers and snowblowers with their electric equivalent.

There is only one catch. A corded electric mower requires the cooperation of the local power company. My neighborhood suffered a rare blackout while mowing. The blackout lasted for five hours.

It was a traumatic experience as my voting power regenerated to 100% during the blackout and I missed one upvote. That means no upvote reward and I am at a loss wondering how I will make up for the gap in my cyber budget.

The power company said that the blackout affected a thousand customers. That is twice as many people as there are participants in The Diary Game.

trimmer.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77