The Diary Game: 20-Aug-04: A Walk in Salt Lake CitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #thediarygame4 years ago (edited)

Step one: I set the post options to 100% for #the1000daysofsteem game. I recently took it off this setting to participate in the SPUD event.

My mother, who just celebrated her 91st birthday, had a routine appointment at Salt Lake Regional Hospital today; So I thought I would take a photowalk along South Temple.

The last time I was in downtown Salt Lake--about a month ago--I noticed that a group had started construction on a new Stack and Pack style apartment complex on South Temple at 500 East. I wanted to get a few construction shots of the new building.

temple_stack.jpg

While I think Salt Lake needs more high density housing, the complex has me worried. As you see, South Temple is considered an architectural showcase for the Intermountain Area. The street is lined with a large number of notable structures which includes numerous churches, mansions and historic structures.

Architects and photographers are known to travel to the city just to walk up and down the street looking at buildings. There have been several books and documentaries about the street. I have about 250 pictures of South Temple on my photo site.

The stack and pack will be luxury apartment complex. So they will probably put a nicer facade on the structure.

Since the street is considered an architectural showcase street, the buildings along the street should be showcase worthy.

Per #TheDiaryGame rules, I can only show eight images. Clicking on an image will bring you to a 1280 x 851 px version of the picture. I have several hundred additional photos of downtown Salt Lake through the years.

The first build is the Holy Cross Chapel which was the first catholic church in the valley. They built a hospital around the chapel.

slr_chapel.jpg

South Temple was originally lined with mansions. Many were built by mining barons and early pioneers.

DSC_5023.JPG

This next humble abode is 576 South Temple:

576_STemp.jpg

Most of the buildings on South Temple are surrounded by trees. It is best to visit the street in mid winter. However 411 South Temple is a rare house that wants to show off the architecture:

411_S_Temple.jpg

The office buildings on South Temple often include an extra flare because they are on a show case street:

STOffice.jpg

Unfortunately, I need a wide angle lens to capture the Salt Lake Cathedral between the trees. You can get this shot in winter.

SL_Cath.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94