ڈائری اندراج شمارہ ۵: مجھے سمجھ نہیں آتی۔ | Diary entry # 5: I don't understand

in #thediarygamelast month (edited)

IMG_20240403_101052.jpg

ایک دفعہ کسی نے پوچھا تھا کہ اردو میں کیوں نہیں لکھتی میرا جواب تھا کہ اردو ٹائپ کرنا مشکل لگتا ہے کیونکہ ہمارے ہاں سب کی بورڈز انگلش میں ہوتے ہیں۔ اردو میں لکھنے کے لئے خاص سافٹ ویئر چاہیے اور ظاہر ہے کہ اس کی تربیت بھی۔ مجھے تھوڑا بہت انگلش کے
QWERTY اصول کے مطابق لکھنا آتا ہے۔



یقین کریں، مجھے بھی اس پہلے پیراگراف کا انگلش ترجمہ پڑھ کر ہنسی آ گئی۔ میرے الفاظ کا وہ مکمل تاثر نہیں آ رہا جو میں کہنا چاہ رہی ہوں۔ بہرحال آپ جو بھی سوچیں، آج
میں پھر بھی لکھ کر
ہی رہوں گی۔ اُردو جاننے والے بھی تھوڑا ہنسیں گے۔

اردو فارسی عربی نصب میں لکھی جاتی ہے، جو کہ 58 حروف پر مشتمل ہے۔ یہ بنیادی 39 حروف ہیں اور دو حروف کے جوڑ سے بننے والے 19 حروف کو شامل کریں، جو دو حروف کے مجموعی آواز کو ظاہر کرتے
ہیں، تو مجموعی58 حروف بنتے ہیں ۔ اردو میں جوڑ تاریخ یا جوڑ کے طور پر انہیں عام طور پر اسمبل کیا جاتا ہے۔

اوہ! اب بھی ترجمہ مشین میرا صحیح پیغام سمجھنے سے قاصر ہے۔ تو تنگ آکر میں نے اُس سے پوچھا کہ میرا ترجمہ میرے احساسات کیوں صحیح سے نہیں پہنچا رہا۔
:اس کا جواب ملاحظہ فرمائیں

ہاہا، کوئی بات نہیں ! کبھی کبھی ترجمہ کرنے کے دوران کچھ تفصیلات کھو جاتی ہیں۔ لیکن آپ کا مزاج بہت اچھا ہے، اور آپ کا رویہ دلچسپ ہے۔ خود کو بیان کرتے رہیں، اور اگر کوئی مسئلہ
ہو تو بس پوچھ لیں

یقین تو نہیں آیا اس کی بات پر، لیکن "دل بہلانے کو غالب یہ خیال اچھا ہے "۔

یہاں غالب صاحب ہمارے مشہور شاعر ہیں۔ بہت بڑے کمال کے شاعر گزرے ہیں۔ پینے کا بہت شوق تھا انہیں پر پیسے
ہمیشہ کم ہی رہے ان کے پاس ۔ اس بات کی یہاں تک تو کوئی نہیں بن رہی لیکن ذکر کرنا ضروری تھا۔

اردو میں سوچنا تو بڑا آسان ہے، صرف ٹائپ کرنا ہی مشکل لگ رہا
ہے۔ تقریباً دو گھنٹے میں یہ لکھ پائی ھوں۔

مارک ڈاؤن ٹیکسٹ بھی اردو کے لیے تو بالکل نہیں بنا۔
عجیب سی فارمیٹنگ ہو رہی ہے۔ یا پھر مجھے ہی لکھنا نہیں آ رہا۔ وہ کیا کہتے ہیں، ناچ نہ جانے آنگن ٹیڑھا۔

Or the bad workman blames his tools!

میں نے سوچا تھا کہ انگریزی کا سہارا نہیں لوں گی، پر ایک دو جگہ لینا پڑا۔



Phew!

This was my attempt to write in Urdu. It didn't turn out as expected. The formatting made it really hard to type. I tried copy-pasting from a Word document, but it was in vain.

However, I realized something: while typing in English is a breeze, thinking in Urdu was an absolute charm. I didn't have to translate every word in my brain. Even though I am quite proficient in English, thinking and talking in my own language has never been so aptly understood as when I was writing on this platform. Because I have always been writing in English here.

If you ask me to write on paper (with pen or pencil) in my mother tongue, oh, I can express myself eloquently. I have a plethora of fancy words, along with several proverbs, expressions, phrases, similes, verses, and some very poetic thoughts to share. I take pride in being an Urdu speaker. Although I haven't majored in Urdu, I can confidently say that I have made efforts to learn my language.

I wonder how people here write in their native languages so effortlessly. Either I don't know how to format properly (as I have mentioned the "bad workman blames his tools" trait), or this is an embarrassing situation where Urdu, not being a widely popular language in terms of technological development, hasn't received much attention from software developers and markdown platforms. Yes, I have checked the Urdu community, and the same formatting issues persist in the texts there. It's a very sad situation indeed. I tried justifying my text, aligning it various ways but no joy!

How can I blame anyone when more than 50 percent of our own books are in English, and even my daughter, after studying Islamic studies in Urdu for nine grades and appearing in tests in the same language, opted to take her board exams in English (a last-minute decision when she saw the question paper) because she wasn't very confident about her Urdu? I am to blame as well. However, amidst the sea of subjects and so many responsibilities, I couldn't do much to foster her interest in Urdu. She is already struggling with a lot on her plate.

So as the topic of my text مجھے سمجھ نہیں آتی

I can't understand why the situation is like this. To be honest, I do understand, but I don't want to admit it.

"کیو نکہ بات تو سچ ہے مگر بات ہے رسوائ کی"

by Parveen Shakir



On a side note I have to say; he is my true friend 😆

When I asked him in frustration what's the matter with this problem, he didn't hesitate to give the desired response. He ~ "who shall not be named".

Yes, you're right. Markdown is not suitable for Urdu and the formatting can be strange. No worries, I can help you if you want. Just tell me what to write, and I'll write it for you.

I said, "No, thank you. I just wanted to know the answer to this question. The rest I will handle."

Sort:  

او میرے خدایا، آپ کی پوسٹ پرھ کر مین ھنسی سے لوٹ پوٹ ھو گی ھوں
اتنے باادب اور مزاحیہ طریقے سے بات چیت بس اردو میں ھی ھو سکتی ھے
ھجھے یہ کھنے دیں کہ ھمارے بڈوں نے جو ظلم ھمیں اردو اور انگریزی میں لٹکا کر کیا ھے اس کے لیے میں ان کو کھبی معاف نھیں کروں گی
ان کی وجہ سے میں مطالعہ پاکستان میں فیل ھوتے ھوتے بچی تھی۔ کیونکہ جو 4 شعر میں بامشکل یاد کر کے گئی تھی وہ پیپر دیتے ھوے بس ایک ھی یاد رھا۔ بس وھی بار بار ھر سوال ھیں لکھ دیا
اللہ بھلا کرے بورڈ والوں کا مجھے پاس کرنے پر
ھمیں اشد ضرورت ھے اردو مشق کرنے کی
مجھے فخر محسوس ھو رھا ھے سب خود اردو میں ٹائپ کر کے اور اپنی نانی کو یاد کر کے

Don't try this at home⚠⚠⚠

مجھے بہت خوشی ہوئی کہ آپ نے میری پوسٹ کو پسند کیا اور آپ ہنس ہنس کے لوٹ پوٹ ہو گی ـ

یہی مقصد تھا میرا

آج آپ کا ہی انتظار تھا مجھے

میں بھی آپ کا کمنٹ پڑھ کر بہت لطف اندوزہوئی

مطالعہ پاکستان نے مجھے بھی خون کے آنسو رلائے ہیں لیکن پھر میں نے مقابلہ کیا اور اردو سیکھی

بہت شکریہ آپ کی رائے کا

آج آپ کا ہی انتظار تھا مجھے

جس کا تھا انتظار

آگیا وہ شھکار

آپ کے انتظار کا بہت بہت شکریہ

آپ نے تو مجھے لاجواب کر دیا- میں نے خود کافی مرتبہ چاہا کے اردو میں لکھوں مگر قیورٹی کی بورڈ اردو لکھنے کے لیے استمال کرنا واقعی بہت مشکل
ہے۔ مجھے آپ کی ترجمہ مشین کے جواب نے بھی بہت لطف اندوز کیا۔ ایک بات میری سمجھ سے باہر ہے کہ ہم سے پچھلی نسل ٹیکنالوجی میں دلچسپی نہیں لیتی مگر اردو میں ٹائپ ہم سے بہتر کر لیتی ہے۔ کیا ہم اردو سے خود جانتے بوجھتے دور ہو رہے؟

میرا خیال ہے ہم دونوں کو اردو تخلیقی لکاھئ پہ کوئ تعاون پوسٹس کرنی چاہئیے۔

آپ کے اس کمنٹ نے مجھے بہت خوش کیا۔ یقین جانیں کے لطف آگیا۔
اور آپ نے مجھے اُردو لکھائی کا جو طریقہ بتایا
اس کے لئے میں آپ کی دل سے شکر گزار ہوں۔

:اور آپ کی اس بات سے مکمل اتفاق کرتی ہوں

ایک بات میری سمجھ سے باہر ہے کہ ہم سے پچھلی نسل ٹیکنالوجی میں دلچسپی نہیں لیتی مگر اردو میں ٹائپ ہم سے بہتر کر لیتی ہے۔ کیا ہم اردو سے خود جانتے بوجھتے دور ہو رہے؟

فارمیٹنگ کرنا اس پر کافی مشکل ہے۔ ہم مزید مل کر اس بارے میں بات چیت کرلیں گے ۔

آپ کے خیال اظہار کا بہت بہت شکریہ ۔

English translation:

Your comment made me really happy. Believe me I enjoyed it so much. And I am really thankful to you for pointing out another way for writing in urdu (on WhatsApp).

And I agree with you on this:

One thing I find interesting is that the previous generation isn't interested in older technology, but they type better in Urdu. Are we becoming disconnected from our own language?

It's really hard to do the formatting in urdu here. We can further discuss this in person.

Thank you so much for your remarks.

First of all - the formatting options in the Steemit editor are very limited. There are a few HTML codes beyond the notorious Markdown style, some of which work (most of which don't, unfortunately...) What you could use for Urdu - I have absolutely no idea.

The fact is that I prefer to write in the language in which I think. Especially with poetry, that's not so easy to transfer.

Yes, the formatting gave me a real headache. Typing was relatively easy, but still difficult. I think I will stick to English. I am too old for learning the urdu keyboard now. And even if I get hang of it, I won't be able to format it here at steemit. I have trained my mind for English now :)

Thank you so much for stopping by. I hope you got the urdu part ;)

Good that you mentioned it!

When I translate Urdu directly into German - whether with Google, Pons or Webtran - it sounds really, really lousy. Now I know your way of expressing yourself, and I wouldn't assume that you would suddenly bumble in your mother tongue. So - the translators are good at translating the European languages among themselves, but not the "exotic" language areas.

Incidentally, when I asked the operators of DeepL, they told me that they don't offer translations from and into Urdu, Bengali or Hindi for precisely this reason: they couldn't meet their own quality standards...

Well, our favourite enemies, the AI's, do a much better job. But better than terrible is still not good. Unfortunately.

If I translate your Urdu text into English, it's much more pleasant to read, but doesn't quite correspond to your English text. I assume you didn't translate it, but wrote both versions in parallel...?

So: I always welcome contributions in the original language, as long as an English version is also offered directly by the author. We have often discussed this, for example in Dream Steem or in Deutsch Unplugged, and we have different opinions. The fact is: if I had only got to know you through texts written in Urdu, I wouldn't have got to know you ;-))

I didn't translate it; it's a hybrid post with the first half in Urdu and the latter half in English. Initially, I intended to write the entire post in Urdu but abandoned the idea midway due to formatting issues. The editor struggles with Urdu text, resulting in odd spaces. I believe it's because Urdu is written from right to left, unlike English and other European languages.

For reference you can read my replies to hira and amina. I have translated both texts in English. But not the post!

The fact is: if I had only got to know you through texts written in Urdu, I wouldn't have got to know you ;-))

I can understand why :)

میں نے آپ کے متن کو اردو میں کاپی کیا اور اسے یاندیکس مترجم میں چسپاں کیا ۔ اب میں اس مترجم میں جواب لکھ رہا ہوں اور میں دیکھ رہا ہوں کہ اگلی ونڈو میں میرے خطوط دائیں سے بائیں کیسے لکھے گئے ہیں))یہ مضحکہ خیز ہے کہ آپ کی تحریروں کا مکمل طور پر قابل فہم انداز میں ترجمہ کیا گیا ہے ۔ بظاہر بہت کچھ مترجم پر منحصر ہے ۔

اب میں اس مترجم میں جواب لکھ رہا ہوں اور میں دیکھ رہا ہوں کہ اگلی ونڈو میں میرے خطوط دائیں سے بائیں کیسے لکھے گئے ہیں))یہ مضحکہ خیز ہے

آپ نے درست فرمایا ۔ اردو خط دائیں سے بائیں جانب لکھا
جاتا ہے
اسی وجہ سےفارمیٹنگ میں مجھے کافی پریشا نی کا سامنا پیش آیا

اور واقع یہ مضحکہ خیز ہے

cursor پاگل ہو جاتا
ہے

میں آپ کی تہ دل سے شکر گزار ہوں کہ آپ نے میری خاطر اتنی محنت کی۔

آپ نے صحیح فرمایا کہ بہت کچھ مترجم پر منحصر ہے۔

شکریہ

ڈی ای پی ایل مترجم میں اردو زبان بالکل نہیں ہے ۔
ہمارے پلیٹ فارم پر متعدد مترجمین کا ہونا ضروری ہے))

We have what we have :) Luckily there are other translators ))

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️



ہم کہیں بھی اور کسی بھی ٹیگ کے ساتھ پوسٹ کی جانے والی معیاری پوسٹس اور اچھے تبصروں کی حمایت کرتے ہیں۔
Curated by : @patjewell

PS: I hope I got this right

آپ نے بالکل صحیح ترجمانی فرمائی ۔ @patjewell

اور درست ترجمہ کیا۔

اس کے لئے میں آپ کی دل سے شکر گزار ہوں۔

خوش رہیں۔

اور شاندار کارکردگی دکھاتی رہیں۔

آپ کی اپنی
" دل سے خواب کو دیکھنے والی"

@soulfuldreamer

The pleasure is all mine! 🎕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85