The Diary Game | 08/17/20 | Day #17 - Mama Again!steemCreated with Sketch.

Having babies isn't limited to pushing out progeny the old-fashioned way, but is sometimes about adopting the young or discarded of others. This also applies to errant teenagers and puppies. And, initially it can feel like being a mama again.

My first night as a puppy mama was a sleepless parody of Lady and the Tramp, in the beginning where they get the puppy, try to box-train it, and finally relent to letting it sleep in their bed.

All pictures are my original photography and rights are restricted to Open Minded Traveler. I use a Sony NEX-3N and basic photography principles, plus a Samsung S7. Most pictures are edited using Canva Pro.

Dear Diary - This puppy is so cute, but do I box-train or run the risk of having a giant monster in my bed forever?

This morning I literally scraped myself out of the bed and down for coffee. By the time breakfast was over I was stressed to the hilt from trying to keep my 5-year-old from smothering the 6-week-old.

When noon arrived, I finished the massive errand of scrubbing and mopping the upstairs terrace, bedrooms and bathrooms. Why do I always save housework for when I am the least prepared for doing it?

The upside of it all was not having to do anything complicated for lunch. I had previously ordered Pasteles Chocoanos, and today was delivery day. These are like tamales but instead of corn, potato - they are more like some corn, rice, and slightly different combination of spices. They were delicious! And, I love trying different types of Colombian food. In this case, a typical plate of the pacific coast region known as El Choco.


I got the ass-end of the chicken, my mom had a leg, so the inside of mine wasn't very pretty.

In the afternoon, it was time for a nap. Since it was a holiday I couldn't go to el Centro (downtown) to run errands. Most holidays in Colombia are on Mondays, and there are 18 of them. Even locals have no idea what most of them are. I needed the rest in any case!


If you ever wondered what $600,000 USD would buy in Colombia, this is it. It's a house for sale, up on the ridge of a mountain overlooking the two sides of Manizales: The upper part where el Centro is, and the lower part where the airport is both in opposite directions.

My friend send me the picture above, to show me a house that her friend was selling which she thought I might be able to help market. It's a very cool situation - definitely one of the best views-for-money in the coffee axis (eje cafetero).

Towards the end of the afternoon, a friend stopped by with something she had brought for me. It was nothing remarkable. ;-) We tried to take a picture, but Daniel wanted the "mid-air pose" and instead came down with a case of the blur-face.

The rest of the evening was spent catching up on her recent trip, and my recent adventures.

If you feel a kindred spirit with my DIARY entry in times of Coronavirus, New Opportunities and Colombia, then do your part to help a neighbor! Be sure to upvote, comment and/or give me a resteem, of this post. Tell a friend - and join #thediarygame so we can all bring home the rewards of high quality content curation on the @SteemitBlog ecosystem during #the50daysofsteem

I am a proud member of Team Colombia with @marpa @franyeligonzalez @josevas217, and @helengutier2.

If you missed my last post from Day #16, you can read it HERE: https://steemit.com/thediarygame/@openmindedtravel/the-diary-game-or-08-16-20-or-day-16-a-puppy

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

And thank you for setting your post to 100% Powerup.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43