Day #1: Chocolate and Loathing in Colombia | The Diary Game 5/30/20steemCreated with Sketch.

in #thediarygame4 years ago (edited)

I absolutely love chocolate, but I LOATHE the over-the-top COVID-19 Dicktatorial CONTROL of a small city in the middle of Colombia, which I happen to call home.

The taste of hot chocolate rolls over my tongue. I added a smidge of Baileys. Whimsically I contemplate Molotov Cocktails. How refreshing one could taste about now with all this heat. Hmm, where did I leave my poncho? This cold rainy season weather is driving me nuts too.

Dear Diary,

My name is Erin Donaldson. Many years ago I moved to Colombia. I stayed because what I found was a place with freedom reminiscent of the USA back in the 90's. Business is freewheeling, the men handsome, and opportunities are in every direction for the open minded adventurer.

Today, I run websites dealing with different culture facets of life and tourism abroad. Each one has a very special focus. My 2020 sob story is composed of my exhilarating race to success, and depressive "smack of reality" drama starring me watching the Covid-19 bring all my dreams to a screeching, bone tearing, metal grinding halt.

And then starting over.

Covid-19, has made me rethink the very meaning of life itself. Which means, I simply need to be a bit more innovative. Survival of the fittest is now the order of the day.

As I sip my spiked hot chocolate - I can't help but stew angrily over the new controls by our local governance on our lives. Fierce independence has always been a thing of mine - I don't dig being told what to do.

https://www.lapatria.com/manizales/pico-y-cedula-en-manizales-sigue-igual-hasta-el-1o-de-julio-458503?fbclid=IwAR2RA9bjGydUso-umy8DSiY-ZQ4s7j77ytfcQ13SjKaOJjk6YCpkDidjxJE

At the very least I can use my frustration to work harder and create more content. In Spanish they say "levanta desde las unas," to lift yourself up by your nails, or pull yourself up by your bootstraps. You could call what I am doing, that.

I digress. The point of my participation in #thediarygame is - to show that yes, there is a silver lining in all this. Some of us are emerging stronger, meaner and more willing to fight for our dreams. Others will go whining to the government praying for a little bit of bread, and maybe a wee bit of milk - to see them through to the other side. Those of us who were born with the predator spirit will go out and find their dinner the old fashioned way - through true grit and survival instinct.

Finding dinner has never been such a challenge. Colombia is one of the last countries still forcing quarantine on the general population. The noose stifles my constant need to travel between cities taking care of clients, creating new business ideas and putting others into action.

Sometimes I feel like today, where I want to go out and start a riot in the streets with anyone who is willing to create a pirate band of malcontents. My mind imagines the catharsis of smashing their control through violent disobedience.

Instead, I focus on my work. Facebook may not be a good platform for me much longer. Time to cultivate communities of like minded individuals and confront reality through carefully planned subversion, guerrilla tactics and the dissemination of truthful information.

There is always a way to achieve your objective - it only takes a bit of focus and commitment.

Let's see what tomorrow brings...

#the100daysofsteem

If you feel a kindred spirit in my diary about times of coronavirus, pressure and overcoming - then do your part to help a neighbor get through to the other side by upvoting and/or giving me a resteem of this post. Tell a friend - and join #thediarygame so we can all bring home the rewards of high quality content curation on the @Steemit ecosystem.

Sort:  

This is an inspiring piece from you @openmindedtravel. I feel pumped after reading it. Let's make steem greater and better. Use #steemexclusive if your content is exclusive to steem so we from @steemingcurators easily find your post and upvote you. Thanks for coming back and join the #newsteem 😊 stay safe and keep steeming!

Most of my content IS exclusive to steem, so I WILL take your advice to heart - count on it. I made a commitment to Steem at the beginning of May, after a long absence. Up til now, I have been losing hope - but maybe there IS a light at the end of the tunnel after all. Thank you! You don't know me, but if you ever want my collaboration or support, count on it! #Teamwork

@openmindedtravel hey let us do that. We need team members in @steemingcurators to help us find and curate contents on steemit with some specific guidelines. Join us on discord to discuss more, checkout @steemingcurators our discord invite link is there.

Hello @openmindedtravel congratulations! I have chosen your this post as my favourite diary post for the new challenge initiated by@steemitblog please check out the latest post from steemit team and keep up the good work enjoy!!

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

I am really enjoying the game - I have always had a special connection with diaries because I have kept them since the age of 7. They only stopped when I went online and started writing (over 7 years ago after moving abroad) - but #thediarygame has taken me to interesting places which will help my online writing as a result. Thanks! Will follow!

Life is a garden...I'm digging it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24