The Diary Game: 8th October 2021 - Hiking at Kota Damansara Community Forest

in #thediarygame3 years ago

Hello Dear Steemians!

Hope you are doing well today. For today's post, I would like to have a throwback on our last Friday's diary, as I didn't manage to update my day back then. :)

Last Friday, we were extremely happy to be able to hike at Kota Damansara Community Forest! The forest is also known as KDCF in short. KDCF offers a few trails that are easily understandable and well-mapped, both in their website, as well as on the Komoot app. Today, we explored the easiest route there, which is the Salleh Trail. However, Salleh Trail & Petaling Trail are quite near to each other and has the same shape of their route (one is just outside of the other). So, I am not really sure whether the one I am on is Salleh Trail or Petaling Trail (because Komoot doesn't show any Petaling Trail in the map), so I just assume it is Salleh Trail (which is what shown in Komoot.

According to the the regulars, the difference between the 2 trails are the type of walk. If you're walking on soil, that's Salleh Trail. If you're walking on a concrete trail, that's Petaling Trail. Maybe because they're near to each other, I missed the sign. But the one I'm walking on has concrete trail, so that should mean it's Petaling Trail. The regulars adviced (which I just read on Facebook after I have went back home) to use the soil routes instead of the concrete ones, because moss have developed on most of the route, and makes it slippery. That explains the slippery route that we had just now. I didn't let go of my preschooler hand for most of the way to ensure he didn't run (some of you would understand that is REALLY hard work if your preschooler is a runner by nature).

The trail was very informative. There were a lot of educational boards along the way. One of them is of the Petaling tree, as below. But my preschooler is more interested in reading the Do's and Don'ts board :p

image.png

But unfortunately, the lake observation decks were not well maintained. Thus, I only manage to take this picture while restraining my son from going on the deck.

image.png

Along the way, we get to see a lot of what nature brings to us. One of them is this cute skink.

image.png

The hike was not too long, but there were some steep areas. Thus, our preschooler gets a bit tired halfway. Luckily, there's a gazebo for him to take five.

image.png

We manage to finish the trail within 1 hour! When we were checking out (giving back the number to the counter and signing out in the log book), my preschooler wanted to draw on their paper. I was reluctant, but the man even gave him a blank paper to draw. My preschooler drew the map of our trail. I think he must have seen it from the app on my phone that I used during our hike :p

The day went by as usual, but the best thing is when my husband came back from his outstation trip that night. We booked a movie ticket and when for a date to watch Shang-Chi! There was no advertisements board at all at the cinema, thus, I just took picture at the entrance :)

image.png

That was how I spent my day last Friday. Will update more of my days soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67