The Diary Game (6/24/20): A Rare Opportunity to Get Out of the House

in #thediarygame4 years ago

Introduction

Hello fellow Steemians! I am excited to share my shopping extravaganza adventures with you all today, in addition to my usual daily activities. But let's not waste any more words or time and get right to it!

My day

I woke up at 9, an hour earlier than usual, because my mom wanted to go shopping in Glen Mills around 10 to avoid large crowds by shopping in the morning. I showered at 9:15 and ate breakfast at 9:30.

We arrived at the shopping center slightly before 10. We first went to DSW, a large national shoe store chain, in hopes of buying a pair of rain boots and shower sandals. It was interesting going into a retail store for the first time in a while. There were a lot of signs reminding customers to socially distance and to place shoes in designated bins after trying them on. Other precautions included directional arrows on the floors for each aisle/section and plexiglass separating customers from the cashiers. We struck out with the shower shoes, but I did find a nice pair of Timberland boots after trying on way too many pairs and sizes.
image1 (1).jpeg

After having partial success at DSW, my mom and I went to Target, a popular American retailer and department store, in hopes of finding shower sandals. But alas, still no luck due to their very limited stock. However, we did manage to snag two packages of Clorox wipes. The store policy only allowed for one package per customer, so I did what I like to call a "pro gamer move". After the cashier initially told us that we could only purchase one container, I came up with the idea for my mom and I to each buy one container with separate cards (I used my debit and she used a credit). I know what my mom and I did could be considered morally gray, but in our defense, we had no hand wipes in the house and had no luck buying them online.

Anyways, I showered again after we drove home from Target to be extra cautious. It is my understanding that COVID is extremely unlikely to spread via contact with soft surfaces such as clothes fabric, but I showered anyways to appease my mom. Then, I did my typical daily workout routine (which I described in much detail on my 6/22/20 diary post). During my elliptical workout, I always watch Youtube videos on my phone, so I watched the new TwoSetViolin video, which was a weekly meme review of their r/lingling40hrs subreddit. Today, I ran a total of a little over 3 miles total, which was better than yesterday's workout but slightly worse than Monday's.
image0 (5).jpeg

Right before 1, I got emotionally and mentally prepared for the Manchester United (MU) vs. Sheffield United (SHU) Premier League match. Let me tell you, I had a lot personally invested in this game as a MU fan and owner of two MU players in Fantasy Premier League (FPL). And the match didn't disappoint as my midfielder Anthony Martial scored MU's first Premier League hat trick (3 goals in one match) since 2013. In addition, my forward Marcus Rashford assisted two of Martial's goals. It's fair to say I was jumping out of my seat after every goal that my team scored in a dominant 3-0 win against SHU. Here are the match highlights if want to see MU's masterclass performance:

(NBC Sports)

I also tuned into the next featured match at 3:15, Liverpool (LIV) vs. Crystal Palace (CP). I also had two players on my FPL team in this match, and they didn't fail to disappoint me either. The game was also a blowout as LIV won 4-0 against CP. My defender Trent Alexander-Arnold opened the scoring with a sumptuous free kick, and my midfielder Sadio Mané closed the scoring with a tidy finish into the bottom corner of the net. Here are the match highlights:

(NBC Sports)

Even if you don't follow football (soccer) or sports in general, you have to at least watch Alexander-Arnold's free kick. It's textbook on how to approach a dead ball situation from just outside the box. Also, I know I have been talking a lot about my FPL team in these diary posts, so I figured I'd attach a few screenshots of how my team is performing this matchweek and over the course of the season so far:
image2.png
image3.png
image0.png

After the last match of the day ended, I got on Netflix Party with my two friends (@rasmuffin is too busy partying it up at the beach currently, but he will be forgiven). We watched episodes 6-8 of Avatar the Last Airbender (ATLA) after dealing with some minor technical difficulties with FaceTime and Netflix Party. As I've said before, I really enjoy re-watching ATLA with my friends who get to experience it for the first time. It's objectively one of the greatest television shows of all time.

A little after 7, I had dinner with my brother and my mom (my dad was on the phone with a coworker, so he didn't join us). I had leftover Baked Ziti from yesterday because I am allergic to fish, and my mom made salmon for the rest of the family. I feel like leftovers are better than fresh-out-of-the-oven meals because the flavors have more time to soak in more. For dessert, I had a few (a lot) of those Trader Joe's chocolate candy pieces. I can't resist chocolate!

I hope you enjoyed reading this. Keep following me for daily diary posts and other less frequent original content. Until next time!

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76