THE DIARY GAME: 03.08.2020: WATER AND LIFE

myself on the field (Source: Original- Yours truly)

Hello…to all steemians out they, today was actually a hectic day for me starting from when I woke up, I was finding it difficult because I had a little fever due to the rain that soaked me up yesterday when coming back from my aunt’s house at night.
When I woke up this morning feeling pains on my body…I did a little press-up exercise to stretch by body a little and become strong. It was actually hard for me but I could struggle to overcome it looking forward to how the day is going be like.

myself after dressing up (Source: Original- Yours truly)

I took a quick bath after brushing my mouth and rushed over for breakfast prepared by my small cousin because it was already late, about 8:30am…I immediately dressed up after the breakfast… you know trying to beat up with the time having fixed an appointment with someone by 9:00am at his office.

just waiting in-front of the office (Source: Original- Yours truly)

On reaching his office, I discovered that he has not yet arrive, what do I do…have been trying to reach him on phone but his line is not reachable…nothing more…I just have to wait…just wait…!

trying to surf the net (Source: Original- Yours truly)

When he later arrived about 9:30am, I was asked by him to boot up the system trying to surf the net for a particular document that he was looking for.

From his office, we immediately moved to the field as scheduled today for a particular work…
Today got me here, a visit to Ibeno Local government area, Akwa Ibom state in Nigeria. It was fun though but to be honest, I was heart broken… seeing people drinking water from a dirty well constructed with the use of an old rusted iron coated drum which is already polluted right from the source….what a world! The consequences of these contaminants in water are widespread and are detrimental to the overall health status of the users in that community.

Amongst other things and instruments we went together with to the community that was to be used for the collected of samples from the source point were: Cooler box, a canon camera, sampling bottles of 100ml size, a GPS (Geographic Positioning System) that will be used for taking the coordinate values from each of the locations that water sample are to be collected as seen below.

Instruments carried to the field (Source: Original- Yours truly)

My visit to this community was aimed at getting water samples for laboratory analysis for the determination of physical and chemical quality of this water and how suitable it will be for various purposes like drinking, domestic, agricultural and industrial uses.
How do we do this? First off, I tried pulling the well head of some boreholes found within the community after taking permission from the rightful owners. Why do I have to pull the well head off? So that I can get water directly from the source aquifer, which is not treated and this will give a correct information after which the analysis is carried out on the samples.

Trying to pull out the well head (Source: Original- Yours truly)

In this community, I found out that the people were using drilled boreholes and some dogged wells as their source of drinking water. Some of the drilled boreholes were treated and some were not and these can actually pose a threat to their health as well just like those using the dogged wells as their source of drinking water.
On getting to the dogged wells, I collected the samples directly from the wells as shown below into sampling bottles so as to be used for the analysis.

Getting water samples from the well (Source: Original- Yours truly)

Not just that, it’s been a while seeing the natural and beautiful looks of the oceans, this was once again an opportunity for that…they say “all work without play makes…”

Just chilling out on the field closer to the beach (Source: Original- Yours truly)

That's how i spent my day....
THANK YOU

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98