Let's Talk Albums #6 - Bloodas by Tee Grizzley & Lil Durk

in #thecut6 years ago

image.png

Bloodas

I was way too exciting to talk about this mixtape. I feel like this is one that definitely flew under the radar for a lot of people for a few reasons. Well it is a popular one around the midwest just given that fact that Durk is a Chicago drill rapper and Grizzley is from Detroit. Honestly this ended up being one of my favorite tapes of 2017. It may not critically be the best thing released last year, if we are talking AOTY worthy, but I just can't stop listening to it. It came out just about a month ago too so let's see if it has some staying power.

Factors

I had a lot of standout tracks for this one but I am going to do my best to slim it down as much as possible for you all if you just want to check out a few songs. Throughout the whole tape you're gonna hear Grizzley and Durk trade bars but they really ride on their own verses in this song. The real standout for me on this one is Durk on the course. "You're nobody till somebody kills you, but where I'm from you're nobody to kill somebody" is one of the most chilling lines to have in a chorus.

Rappers

Okay this is one of the standouts for the tape when it comes to the two of these guy's chemistry together on the tape. They trade bars back and forth quite a few times. Even the chorus is split between Durk's singing and Grizzley's rapping. I don't care to share the specific bars that I loved in this one, but let's just say these two really hold onto their money even when its those close to them lol.

Ohhwee

Ohhhweeeeee this is the best song on the tape for sure. Honestly the bars are pretty average but I could literally listen to Lil Durk on this chorus over and over again. It may sound a little corny at first but after listening to this song one time you'll be rapping along side Durk saying "OHHWEE". This song gets me dancing every time.

This tape is so much fun to listen to all the way through. The run from the song "Third Person" through "Dirty Stick" is just phenomenal . The beginning and end are meh, but you can't have a perfect tape. Hopefully we see a Bloodas 2 in the future because these guys know how to work the mic together.

Let me know if there are any albums I should try listening to or review :).

Sort:  

Awesome description of the album.. That quote you included of the lyrics is heartbreaking but so important. I love music that says something stead of just being about nonsense(although that can b fun too, but some songs gotta have meaning, you know?)

Anyway, seriously dope. I see you do a lot of reviews, that's smart you are good at them!

love, Jade

Thanks! My music write ups are my favorite thing I author on here actually.

Each of your posts is very interesting to me!
Improve the quality of future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01