Let's Talk Albums (1) - Dedication 6 by Lil Wayne

in #thecut6 years ago

image.png

Dedication 6

Hello everyone I am going to be starting something new today. One of my biggest passions in life is music as you can see from my bio on my Steemit profile. I live and breathe Hip Hop every day and I know that may not be the music choice that a lot of people follow on here and I completely understand that :). I won't have a set schedule of how often I make these posts and I'll make them as I can. Basically the essence of the posts will be me going over some of the standout songs of the albums I am talking about in the post.

Now I know Lil Wayne is sometimes seen as the "easy target joke" among people that aren't familiar with Hip Hop by making fun of his lyrics, but he really is a genius at times. He hasn't made anything noteworthy in a long time but in my opinion he really has come back to his roots with Dedication 6. Let's get into some of my favorites right away!

Fly Away

What a great way to start the mixtape. Obviously we all knew that Wayne was going to be spitting on other people's beats, but I didn't expect Kendrick Lamar's "DNA" beat. It really was one of my favorite beats from DAMN and I know Kendrick is a huge Wayne fan so I'm sure he was really excited to hear the legend go over it. Honestly I know a lot of people that said this song was their favorite on the mixtape but it was alright to me. I felt it necessary to include in standout tracks just due to the beat choice to be honest. Gotta love the beginning DJ shoutouts too.

Bank Account

He didn't even have to change the name on this one when he was going over 21 Savage's "Bank Account" beat. Honestly Bank Account by 21 Savage was one of my favorite songs of last year. My friend's and I bumped it almost daily. I wasn't sure how Wayne would do on this beat but I was pretty stupid to think that the legend wouldn't destroy this one too. The fact that Wayne basically killed the beat more than 21 is classic Lil Wayne to me. Its hard to go back to 21 Savage's version now.

New Freezer

Lil Wayne had to go for the new school on this one too. He took Rich The Kid's beat and made it his own. Can't forget that he also has Gudda Gudda featured on here too. I know a lot of people aren't big fans of Gudda Gudda but I actually liked his verse more than Wayne's on this one. Wayne for sure rides it but I feel like he may go on too long for the song. I don't think you could mess up this beat though.

Yeezy Sneakers

Again with going with the new school on Kodak Black's beat from "Rollin in Peace". This was the last huge standout to me that I have had on repeat a ton. To be fair, I think I actually like Kodak and XXXtentacion's original version of this better still. It kind of hurts to say that, but you can't completely OWN every beat in the game on a comeback mixtape lol. Still, Wayne kills the beat and that is why I have it listed as a standout.

I can't wait to make more of these music write ups! I had a lot of fun writing this. And don't worry, I'll be doing rap from the 80's through the new school so all rap fans will find something they like!

Sort:  

not bad but still nowhere close to old wayne tapes...

Oh of course, there is literally no question to that. This was just much better than I could have originally expected from 2017/2018 Wayne. Nothing can top No Ceilings for me, even though that isn't exactly one of his oldest.

it was solid

It was solid

Cool review. More please.
🤙🏼

I thought i was coming in to this expecting to defend Wayne but you actually had similar opinions to me on the overall tape and songs. I agree with you and i hope Wayne continues to apply pressure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44