A Student’s Diary | Budget Challenge – 100 pesos a week | More About Myself

in #thebudgetchallenge6 years ago (edited)

First of all, I would like to thank @smaeunabs for this wonderful contest. This is a big privilege to share my budget challenge last year when I was a grade 10 student.

Untitled2.png

ME DOING SOME CALCULATIONS

Since I was in my Elementary years, I am very vigilant when it comes to my own money. It is because I already knew the situation of my family, of how hard to find a single peso. When I was in my Elementary years all my savings are contributed to my mother, at least I could pay her for her efforts.

When I stepped in high school I realized that I have to save my money for myself. To buy the things I needed, to pay projects and to have an extra money for my school supplies in school. Three years from Grade 7 – 9, I failed saving money. It was then when I was a Grade 10 student, I was able to do my budget challenge.


MY DAILY BUDGET


Last year when I was a grade 10 student, I am given 100 pesos a week for my allowance that means I only have 20 pesos a day. When our class started, we were being told that we have to pay 5 pesos a day for our sinking fund for our Christmas Party. What I did was I calculated the minimum and maximum budget that I have to spend or to save.


Untitled.png

DAILY BUDGET & EXPENSES

Specifically, this is how I budget my daily expenses. So first of all, I would like to state my situation. I lived in Tipolo, Mandaue City. Our school is 1-2km far from our home, if I wanted to have a ride to my school, I had to pay 20 pesos for a tricycle ride. I have to walk for 7-10 minutes before arriving in our school. Our classes start at 8a.m. and end at 2:45p.m. so I have to bring lunch already. On the graph above, you can notice that I only spend 5 pesos for my water and food. Well it’s true guys, I only buy water. You see, water is very important for me. Water makes me feel relaxation or a peace of mind, when headaches strikes I only have to drink water then everything will be alright. How about my snacks huh? To be honest I only buy foods/snacks to eat for at least twice a month or once I guess. I make sure that I have successfully saved a lot of money in a week before spending my extra money for food. Do I starve? Well yes, sometimes I get starving looking at my classmates eating but I focus on my studies and activities though I don’t have enough time for snack time. I also talk with my friends in order to disturb myself from starving.


MY WEEKLY BUDGET


1.png

WEEKLY BUDGET & EXPENSES

Generally, this is how I budget my 100 pesos weekly. I always have 50 pesos’ savings every week. I spend 25 pesos for my sinking funds. I know you’ve noticed above the outcomes. So here’s the truth, actually I don’t spend 5 pesos a day. It is situational, therefor I sometimes spend more than 5 pesos a day for my food and water and sometimes I spend less. That’s why I saved more extra savings sometimes. Overall weekly savings is 50-70 pesos (situational).


WHY DO I HAVE TO BUDGET


Source

Budgeting is important for me because it helps me know how I managed and spend my money. As a student, I have to practice myself on how to handle money. Budgeting also helps me save more money in a way that I list what should I spend and my expenses. Many find my budgeting inspiring many find it a waste of time. But I always believe and admire this quote "Work Hard, Pay Hard”. If you work hard for something someday your hardworks would be paid off.


WHERE ARE MY SAVINGS?


31543452_790860881110201_3093123932048326656_n.png

T-SHIRTS I HAD BOUGHT

When I stepped in high school, I noticed there are many projects and funds to be done and school supplies as well. Some of it are costly and is needed to be paid. I didn’t want to ask money in any member of my family unless if I really need it. Aside from school stuffs, there are many things that I want to buy and things that I need to buy. I was wondering what to buy first though I saved much money in my grade 10 year. Then I realized why do I have to pick if I can buy one thing with both perspectives. I had bought 2 t-shirts since I don’t have enough t-shirts to wear. The 1st one is the Justin Beiber T-shirt, it captured my heart and I need t-shirt as well of course so I bought it with no doubts. The 2nd one is the Justice League T-shirt, it also captured my heart and I bought it for my Christmas Party outfit.


31693060_790860487776907_8046921116557508608_n.jpg

MORE OF MY SAVINGS

Thank you for spending your time reading this blog. I hope you enjoy! If you want to join this contest be sure to visit @smaeunabs. This contest's deadline is tomorrow go ahead and make your entry! Don't forget to leave a comment below or resteem (because I don't ask for any upvotes and follows).


Greetings,
@carlitojoshua

Sort:  

bootan kaau ka dong...lau jud kau kag maabtan...

salamat ate :)

I suddenly remember one of the episodes of Jessica Soho, katong nigraduate siya nga 20 pesos iyang baon everyday hantud nigraduate ug college. I actually see him in you @carlitojoshua!

Just continue with what you are doing carl! You are one of the youngest steemians I know but you actually act and think like a full grown adult already :D Dreams plus determination, those will propel you to reach the finish line of your academic journey. God bless Carl :D

thank you so much ate @smaeunabs :) God Bless as well to you and your contest :)

Wow such an amazing and what a genius one.
I can't vote this time my sp is down at the moment.
I believe you'll get the grandprize with this budget challenge of my guro @smaeunabs.
At young age you've already responsible of things ...very inspiring...

wow you allocated your money well. Keep it up!

Masinop na bata dapat tularan .

salamat ate ;)

wow! you're such an inspiration! kudos @carlitojoshua! lodi petmalu!

hehe salamat ate :)

Amazing you managed to budget your money well @carlitojoshua .. I envy you though , I should start budgeting my money now . :D Heheh Anyway, You did a great job and just keep up the good work .

Followed you and resteemed your post ^_^

Hi @carlitojoshua, I met you sa Pinoy Henyo. LOL. Alkanse jud ta sa mga questions didto basta bahin na sa ilang lugar pero laban lang. Please call me Ate Melai.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by carlitojoshua being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36