When I was on the poster!

in #theater6 years ago (edited)

When I was under graduate student, I used to do perform stage drama. After a long time suddenly I got nostalgic to see that above posted poster which I locked in my Almira. How mesmerizing those days were! I could fly in the sky if I wanted……………….
I loved to do theatre. I performed many roles throughout my 5 years journey in theatre.
My most favorite playwright was “JOIBOTI KONYAR MON” by Selim Al Deen.


Still now, I can’t believe that the poster girl is me. How unbelievable! It was like fairy tale. Isn’t it?
The story is also interesting. It revolves on two women belongings to two different ages – Kalindi (a girl from the 18th century) and a contemporary jatra (Bengali traditional drama) artist Pori. I performed the first one and which was my dream role.

The playwright showed how the two women fall victims of a flawed social system.

Kalindi, a hindu girl fall in love with a muslim baul and they get married against the rule of religion, faith and society.

One night while performing at a musical program the audience assaults them. After that incident Alal the muslim boy develops a liking for Sufism. He quits singing, writing songs and also starts to avoid Kalindi as his wife. Kalindi becomes frustrated because of Alal’s actions and at the end commits suicide.

Feeling so tired to memorize my old good days. It’s a kind of tired that sleep can’t fix……………….

Sort:  

Congratulations @sadiajafri! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks so much

Congratulations @sadiajafri! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks a lot

I didnt know you did theater !!! Are you still on it ? wow.!! because of this writing I get to know your hidden talent !! at least to me ....

thats such a tragic story.... love has no label .. but still we try to measure it with social stigma !!

I did. Now I can't manage time.

It's really tragic. When I played the role I could really feel it.

@sadiajafri, what a thoughful post. The images are absolutely beautiful.

Thanks a lot dear for your wonderful complement. I had to study on it when I did my role.

Great Work Sadia..... I am sure more are coming , Please do continue working on theaters

Thanks Amina. I really want to do it. But my bad luck you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76