The leaning tower of Eiffel and giveaway

IMG_20180103_205630121.jpg
The 3d printer pen has finally paid off. I knew I purchased this thing for a reason. It's got alot of potential. But I'm a little lost for new directions. New projects to work on.

The trick to using this pen, is that in order to to have it work without too many squiggly lines, I first need to plan out some rough blueprint that I can trace out on a piece of paper. Contrary to popular opinion, I haven't been able to operate this pen in thin air. But it's fun to try!
89808_1000x1000.jpg
this is not one of my works

So, I'm offering a steem dollar to the person who has the best idea for a new creation project for me to work on.

I am a creator at heart. I enjoy making things. Writing things. Expressing myself.

The Eiffel Tower shown above is the prototype for a project I'm taking on for a friend. Her heart was broken when she couldn't purchase this on boxing day:
home-accents-holiday-christmas-yard-decorations-ty261-1611-0-64_1000.jpg
So I've accepted the task of building one with her. As a way of showing her: 1. You can do anything you set your mind to, and 2. Time spent working on your dreams is far better than anything money can buy.

So stick around to find out how the grand scale of things works out with the Eiffel Tower.

And, if you've got a fun idea on something for me to build please share the idea, and I'll throw around a little crypto.

I'll let the contest run for a week, and then award the winner!

Sort:  

awesome! i didn't knew such a pen exists ,but will look more into that. How about some Glasses? (i'm reffering to the frames, as lenses would be mounted on this 3D printed frame)

Oh! That's a fun idea! Maybe I can skip the lenses all together, and wire a string of my faerie lights directly into them for the festival!

The pen is something I ordered off of wish on a whim. It was like twenty bucks, and has sat on my shelf for a few months now. But this week, its had the most use out of its entire life. Used it twice now, and getting the hang of it. It's alot of fun to be able to draw something tangible. Opens up alot of potential opportunities!

I didn't know about these pens. I think the first thing I would do is fix a couple of zippers on my luggage where the pull tab has come off of the zipper, but seriously, that pen is perfect for cosplay.

This sounds like a grand under taking! it'd be perfect to not have to build all kinds of different things, and just go ahead with some free hand design bits. The tricky thing, is that the plastic bits the pen puts out, aren't the strongest. You could definitely build up a zipper pull tab, but I'd likely reinforce it internally with some metal bits for strength. Then build the plastic around to avoid slivers. Metal slivers are the worst.

Can you get a different plastic for it? And to change the subject completely, have you heard of Sugru? It's like silly putty that sticks to things and air dries to silicone rubber.

I had not heard of sugru. Until now! OMG!! It looks amazing! I'm going to have to send those people some of my steem dollars! Wow! I could use some..of...that!! yeah!
And, I have only just seen the one type of plastic for these pens. It's basically just a little adjustable feeder, attached to an iron. But it runs really efficiently, compared to some of their older models. From what I learned about their reviews.

domestic ninja indeed!!

I took one look at this post and decided I better follow you! I have a metal Eiffel tower that is a tea candle holder. I can take a photo of it if you think it might help with your design.

I'm a big creationist at heart. I love to make things, and build systems. One of my bigger undertakings right now is explaining the tarot in a series I'm working on. But the difficult part is, learning the things myself. I've been studying for years. This is a great opportunity to put the system into digestible, understandable bits for my own mental clarity. Welcome to my blog! I'll send a few upvotes, and check your material out!

I'm pretty new here and highly analytical so I'm checking things out. I will keep an eye on your posts.

I can be relentlessly analytical at times myself. Virgo at heart, it can drive people crazy. But hey, it keeps me sane! And understanding the world around me.

I relate! LOL

Here's what I think you should make. Blow up a balloon and then sketch designs on the outside with the pen. When the plastic is dry, pop the balloon and turn your masterpiece into a lamp shade or a lantern.

A wonderful idea! Might have to layer the balloon with plaster of Paris beforehand, since I'm dealing with hot melted plastic. I'll have to give it a try. But my inklings are saying, the balloon will probably pop at the first touch to the tip of the seering hot pen tip!

I wondered about heat. Of course, experimenting is part of the fun. You could try filling it with cold water too. LOL

Haha! Sounds like an accident waiting to happen!

You could blow eggs and try it on the egg shells but then the shapes are pretty small, but just blowing eggs is kind of fun. I think we need a Sugru pen.

yes, if the current pen had a little flex in the finished product it'd be pretty awesome! Let's hope there is someone out there working on a sugru 3d printer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30