I jumped out of my sad negative pit yesterday, and howsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #thealliance7 years ago

Yesterday was a very relieving but yet finally overwhelmingly exhaustful day. After dealing with the whole hurricane mess for the last week, it all finally hit me. I woke up from a slumber that wasn't long enough, after many days and days of worried shortened sleep.

Needless to say, I woke up in a very negative frame of mind. A very emotional, unnecessarily so, frame of mind.

jennysad.png

I know we get that way sometimes, I accept that. I didn't like it though. It had me second guessing some things in my life that I try not to obsess over. So, I let my husband know where my mindset was. I let him know that I didn't feel like myself and I didn't want to feed into it. So we didn't really allow me to feed into it. None the less though I felt just down, upset, negative, sad, and exhausted. So, since mostly everything was closed after Hurricane Irma, we went ahead and got some new movies online to keep us occupied. I knew that the nearest store to us (7-11) was open, so I hoped on into the car with a four-legged friend begging to come with me. I obliged of course. So he and I hoped in the car and headed to get some crunchy and sweet snacks.

king22.jpg

So what do you do when you are just heading down the road, about a 5 minute drive to your destination, with your dog in the car, and you are in a bad mood? You turn on some music. And then it happens. It seeps into your veins. You can feel the beat. You automatically move your appendages a little bit just like the dance moves you know.

Then it happens...
It all just melts away. You roll down your windows in 80 degree weather and sing along with it. You smile for the first time all day. You get a little bit of a lighter feeling. That 5 minute drive there and 5 minute drive back changed everything. I came back happy, no semblance of my mood. It doesn't always happen that way, but music seems to almost always brighten my mood.

What song was it that changed me?

This answer is easy. Not Today by BTS. If you don't know who these guys are check them out. Here is the video for that video:

Not Today - BTS


Source

If you know me at all you will know the genre. If you don't here it is: K-pop. This song is so upbeat. This dance is so fun. Just listening to this music in the car, followed by a few others from theirs makes me just...happy.

Studies have shown that listening upbeat music can increase your mood. I will go one further and say if you listen to upbeat music that you like, then it can increase your mood. In all honesty, if I had listened to an old 90's song, some dancehall, some latin pop, some normal pop, some old school hiphop, or anything else other than K-pop (which is my favorite genre), it wouldn't have had the same effect on me.

How did I know that this song, and the others that came after it would help me? I didn't completely, but I did know that if any did, it would be those. Those songs are the ones I listen to when I am happy. Those are the songs that make me dance around and sing to them. Those are the songs that I am almost constantly humming or singing around the house without music.

So if you are feeling down, turn on some upbeat tunes. Turn on the ones that make you excited to listen to when you are happy. Those songs that make you smile when you are happy. Those songs that you have on replay all the time. That's what you listen to when you are sad, upset, or in some type of negative mind frame. Music can heal. Music can set you free from your moods and give you better ones.

Come and listen to music with me. That's what I do, all the time. If you haven't found what speaks to you yet then I suggest searching around. Don't limit yourself to anything specific, just be open and go with what speaks to you. For me, it's K-pop. If you haven't tried that yet I strongly suggest it.

As usual I am here for any suggestions related to K-pop. It is my genre. I will always share my love.

alliancebanner2.png

teamcanada1.png

Sort:  

@topkpop I've recognized that when it appears to be like terrible, just stepping absent for your moment would make all the primary difference on the earth.

Absolutely agree. :)

The k pop is not my thing, I never listen to it, only classical, jazz and reggae music... and sometimes a live dj set on b@tv, but I love your dog! Very cute pup! Happy Wednesday! \☺/

Thank you for the compliment about my puppy. He is wonderful. Hard to believe is is 11 already. That's ok if K-pop isn't your thing :) You have some great genres there though, I love listening to some classical (Piano specifically, anything by Yiruma is just wonderful), Jazz is also very interesting. I am more of a dancehall type of girl myself instead of reggae but totally get it :) Thanks for sharing and Happy Wednesday to you as well.

@topkpop Great day I value all the info and labor thank you :) Followed.

Thank you :) Glad it enjoyed it.

@topkpop This is great news. Nicely carried out!.

Thank you.

Congratulations @topkpop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-canada courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34