Giving in but not Giving up!

in #thealliance7 years ago (edited)

I was silently cursing Rin when she called me at 5:30 a.m. to inquire if I was up. I wasn't. I had no plans to get up. My alarm clock was intentionally silent. Saturday was my day to snooze all day if I so desired. Why didn't I turn the ringer off the on the telephone? Why did I answer the dumb thing when it rang, and why was my only reply "yeah, sure. See you at six thirty?" Me, play golf? Surely she couldn't be serious? Of course she was serious! Thanks to my commitment to Mr. Bell, there was no longer an escape.

Why was I so against learning a simple sport which gave me the chance to inhale fresh air into my nicotine coated lungs, exercise my legs that felt like jelly if I walked over two blocks, and socialize with the elite? The answer was obvious to me but no way was I going to relate my prejudices to the Chief's wife! I was born and raised in the backwoods of Arkansas and loved the outdoors. However, I had previously refused to lower my standards by subjecting myself to chasing a little white ball that was hard as a rock and full of pimples around acres of prime real estate with metal rods shaped like miniature hockey sticks. This was what Colonels and their wives did to impress Generals and their wives. I had already put my career on hold to support the Major's career. I'd be damned if I was going to take up a sport just for the opportunity of "kissing ass." That wasn't my style.

Gary, my husband, had taken up golf in college and was very dedicated to the task of lowering his handicap. His father was a retired Post Master and related his philosophy to his only son early in life on what it takes to move-up in society. As a result of his dad's brain washing, Gary had become an avid golfer and politician. I would met Gary and his golfing buddies at the 19th hole after they finished their rounds. Gary would never fail to give me a blow by blow description of each agonizing hole, all 18 of them. His talk bored me.

I was more tolerant of Pete and Rin as they had more humorous stories to tell about their "adventures" on the golf course. I still smile about the one where the new First Sergeant decided to learn golf and asked the Major to teach him his (smart move.) I can see the picture they painted to this day of the poor innocent crow that got hit by the ball that was flying straight up in the air and knocked the poor crow senseless. I suspect e is still flying around with his banner that boldly spell's out "BEWARE OF AMATEURS TRYING TO IMPRESS THEIR COMMANDERS!" I welcomed the chance to get to know these two unique people who brought a smile to my face the first time we met.

Pete, the Chief of the squadron at our new base at Yokota air Base Japan, was very persuasive and his wife, Reico, or Rin as we preferred to call her was insistent. If I was to be her friend, I had no choice but to at least give golf a try. If I didn't have a good time the first time out, she wouldn't bother me again. I could sit home and mope while they were all out having fun. She sparked my interest. However, golfing made more sense when Pete so aptly pointed out, "You could easily become a better golfer than me or the Major since you girls have 5 days a week to practice. Gary and I only play on weekends. Besides, golfing is totally acceptable behavior for a Commander's wife in training. Of course, if you prefer, you could always learn to play bridge like some of the other Officer's wives who want to get close to the Commander's and General's wives. A lot of men have gotten their promotions that way and I know you want to support Gary in any way you can." He had my number and we both knew it! Damn him!! "Okay, give me the darn golf clubs!"

My induction into the world of golf was indeed an experience never to be forgotten. When Rin knocked on my door at 6:30 a.m., I was still half asleep but was proud of myself for managing to get dressed in such a short time. I thought the bright red tennis shorts quite appropriate and the white blouse with the tiny collar and silver buttons matched well. Not bad for a backwoods country girl trying to fit in as an Officer's wife. I expected a compliment. Instead what I got was a shocked look, then muffled giggles. rin was surveying me from head to toe. When she got to my feet, she burst out in uncontrollable laughter. "What?" I asked. She continued to look at my feet and laugh. "What!" I screamed. "I hope you don't plan on golfing in those sandals," she said trying to keep a straight face. "don't you at least have a pair of tennis shoes?" she asked. "Uh, yeah sure. I just have to find some socks." By now we were both staring at my feet. It was obvious that those cute shiny white sandals with crisis cross straps were not something that I had just slipped on temporarily. We both looked up at each other making direct eye contact at the same instant. I could feel the edges of my mouth start to crack. It began as a sly grin and soon turned into full blown uncontrollable laughter for both of us. That day was the beginning of many more days full of laughter mixed with tears and accomplishments overshadowing failures. A time in my life never to be forgotten.

During the three years we were at Yokota AB, I not only learned to play golf, I also started teaching it to all the other lonely and frustrated wives, both enlisted and officer, who were like me, looking for a little laughter, fun and companionship while our husbands were pre-occupied with their jobs. We ran golf clinics, fun tournaments, serious tournaments, and the rest of the time we were hitting balls on the driving rang or just playing for the fun of it in our own little groups. Weekends, of course, were reserved for showing our husbands how much we had learned. Never mind that I always felt intimidated by Gary's criticisms and snide remarks such as, "If you took this game a little more serious, you would do much better." Or "If you are going to play with the big boys, you need to learn to hit like one." What he didn't know was that every time I played golf with him, my score was at least 20 strokes more than when I played with anyone else. I wasn't about to give him the satisfaction of knowing just how nervous he made me.

One Saturday Pete, Rin, Gary and I were sitting around the 19th hole after 18 holes of play. I had scored my lowest score ever in one round and was getting even with Gary for all the times he had made me suffer. I was all the way up to hole number 9 in my blow by blow description when he could take no more. "I'll make you a promise, if you will just shut up," he interrupted. "The day you beat my lowest score or if you get a hole-in-one before I do, will be the day I will hang up my golf clubs and retire!" he said sarcastically. He then turned to Pete and whispered just loud enough for me to hear, "Don't worry, at the rate she is going, I won't have to retire for another 20 years. "Besides, she is so clumsy, she will be ready to give up golf in another 6 months or so." These were fighting words and keeping my cool wasn't easy. As Edgar Allen Poe would say, the thousand injuries of the Major I had borne as best I could, but when he ventured upon insult, I vowed revenge. Beating his lowest score would be an accomplishment but that would be justified by the fact that I was a woman and we were given too many advantages on the course. I must not only punish but punish with impunity. I had to get that hole-in-one before the Major was promoted to Colonel. I continued, as was my wont, to smile in his face, and he did not perceive that my smile was now at the thought of his immortation.

Almost exactly a year to the date from when Rin had first taken me out on the golf course, my day came. I was on hole #7 at the 9 hole par 3 course at Yokota where Rin and I would play to practice our short game and also the course where we ran our golf clinics for beginners. Rin was teeing off and I was trying to decide between the pitching wedge or the nine iron for the 60 yard par 3 hole when I heard a familiar voice yell out "Hi Ann!" I looked up and saw General Gufaston and his wife on the fairway to the left of my tee box. They were waiting for the couple ahead of them to get off the green, so I knew they would be watching my shot. I smiled, waved and turned back to my clubs. "Better use the 9 iron. I'd rather go over the green than be too short. God, I hated having an audience. Rin had hit her ball onto the putting green about 3 yards from the hole and it was now my turn. I nervously placed my tee in the ground, then put my ball on top of it. The ball fell off the tee. "Shit!" I mumbled with my teeth clinched. I took a deep breath and calmly placed my ball back on the tee. I began preparing my stance as my mind told my body each move to make. Legs apart, knees bent slightly, butt stuck out, club had behind the ball, left arm straight, left thumb on the top of the club, right hand over left, fingers interlocking, no more than two knuckles showing (or was that three? Damn, too much to remember.) Keep head down, remember to move club with left arm, right arm slightly relaxed, don't drop shoulders, move knees and hips sanctimoniously with left arm, follow through with back swing, keep head down, keep eyes on the ball, keep knees bent, left foot steady, pause slightly on back swing. Now bring arms down turning at waist and jerking hip into the ball, follow through with swing, don't look up until swing completed. "Wow, there it goes. At least it is in the air and headed in the right direction. The swing looked and felt good! Hey, it's headed for the green. All right!! It made it to the green. So it has a way to go but the greens are fast today. Maybe it will roll close enough for me to putt it in the hole. Hey, it's still rolling and headed for the flag. Birdie time! Maybe even a tap in. Wait a minute, Oh my God. YEESSS!! CLUMP.

Take that Major!! Time for you to retire....Yeah and my Hole-in-one was witnessed by the General and his wife.

Sort:  

lovely short.....i like your all post

Great story, and particularly well-written.
Congrats on the hole-in-one! I tried golfing...tried. But the pressure of everyone behind me waiting while I quadrupled par or more was well...too much for me.

Thanks and yes it can be stressful when you have people waiting. That is when I would just pickup my ball and move on. LOL

LOL, I like that option! I've thought about lessons, actually. It just seems like a nice way to get some fresh air and a little activity without being terribly strenuous. Plus, you know...beer :)

Yes, it is a good way to gt exercise, fresh air and of course beer. Lol It can also be extremely frustrating too. I would highly suggest you take lessons from an experienced golfer if you decide to take up golf. I spent many hours on the driving range and putting green and still wasn't that good at golf. I was however a good teacher and many of my students went on to bat me. The hole in one, I think was just sheer luck.

Never met you, never heard your name, and already forgot how I ever got here. Then I read every single word. All the way. Well done!

And then I remember my mother's favorite story of her earliest days with my father (both now gone awhile)...

She had 8 siblings. Mostly boys. My dad was over and one of my uncles had an old revolver. They were out back shooting cans and such on my grandparents farm. My dad never really insulted my mother as far as I know, but he teased her a lot, and when she came outside to watch, it wasn't long before she was watching them all miss the can a lot with the old shoddy revolver. She made some quip about them not being able to hit the side of the barn, and you can already see where this is going.

They put the pistol in her hand, cocked it for her (double action, so bang bang bang, without any cock to reset between shots)

Boom Boom Boom - three cans down. She handed the gun back to my father, the uncles all stood there with the jaws hanging slack and silent.

She just turned and walked back inside without a word, as she tells it.

And she told it for the next 60 years.

Amazing story!! Your mother reminds me of my grandma. She could hit the spitune 5 feet away from her chewing tobbaco. Thanks for taking the time to read my story. I didn't think anyone would. Lol. Glad you enjoyed it. Like my Dad, I'm a storyteller and at my age, I have plenty. 🤗

your post like different just cool. tnx

The story was very good to me. I got a lot of fun. The story was very enjoyable while reading the story. golf I can also play But not much better.

Glad you enjoyed it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74