#thealliance ... "You are not quite desirable for our society." >>> My Response: "From Whence That You Came" (poem)

in #thealliance7 years ago


As you can probably guess from the poem, my surname is "Savage." I wrote this poem for my daughter to remind her of the roots of our family, and the standards to which we are to hold ourselves. At 50 years old, this creed of self-expectation and manner of comportment has become central to my self-identity, and, it is a worldview I have imparted upon her. 

#thealliance

I recently applied to a group here on Steemit called #thealliance ... a group whose membership is "by invitation only." In order to join, you have to submit an Application Post. Someone reviews it, and does some background investigation, to decide whether you get in, or not. The purpose of the group is to foster mutual support for the creation of quality content. A noble ideal ... and one of which, I thought, would make me a poster-child applicant. 

I did not make the cut. Here's an excerpt, posted on Dischord, in full public view, of their rejection of my application:

"... we have decided that you are not quite desirable for our 'society'. It may be your lack of dedication, consistency, perhaps some terms you used, different people have different disqualifying features. Please try again in a month."   

Of course, #thealliance, (or any other private group) has, and ought to have, the right to determine their own criteria for membership. And, they have, and ought to have, the right to decline membership to anyone they believe has failed to meet it. But wow! Doesn't that strike you as a pretty ... shitty way of saying it? That rebuke, and what it infers about my character, never-mind the impact upon my reputation, stays on the blockchain forever. 

Well, so does this post. 

Now maybe you're thinking I'm some rabble-rouser, sailing the seas of Steemit swearing and cursing, spamming or just creating really poor-quality posts. I invite you to peruse my feed, including comments and replies, to draw your own conclusion. 

In particular, I encourage members of #thealliance to do so.

I encourage all Steemians, and especially members of #thealliance, to include in the comments section of this post, where you believe I went wrong. Where I fell short. How I failed to meet even the most draconian of expectations. Please feel free to be verbose.

I don't really know what to think about the whole incident. Everybody I've met who is associated with #thealliance has been, quite frankly, incredible. And, I've looked at blogs of members I've not yet met and they all seem to be good, upstanding folks dedicated to the groups' mission ... creating quality content.

But come on: "... we have decided that you are not quite desirable for our 'society'. It may be your lack of dedication, consistency, perhaps some terms you used, different people have different disqualifying features."

Are you kidding? 

What kind of a groveling sycophant would I have to be to let such a thing go unanswered?

"It's nothing personal," you might argue, as that language is part of the Permanent Message on the rejection pane. 

Well, it ought not be. It is language that is, at best, needlessly inflammatory and, at worst, deliberately insulting ... and language that invites posts like this one.  

  

Did you:    Up-Vote?    Follow?    Comment?    

Perhaps you haven't read, "Ancient The Curse," in my Intro Post.    

Don't think you're safe just because you're not a whale.     

Don't screw around with Black Magic!  


Poetry can make wonderful gifts   

Visit: QuillFire's Zazzle Store

 







Sort:  
Loading...

Morning Gents, it was 3am when this pinged up and I was pretty much ready for bed - especially considering I had to be getting up for work in 4 hours. Seems like I missed quite the party, and to be honest I don't think i have any more to add then has already covered. I would say that I have double checked where I commented in discussion with you @quillfire - and I never suggested you join the alliance or even made a reference to the group. I did suggest you look to join discord groups - of which there are many - and you can find the links sprinkled throughout posts on Steemit - because many have post-promotions sections where you can leave links to your work. I think you have strong content that will go far on Steemit, what you need to concentrate on is making friends and networking to get your content seen by more users.
c0ff33commentaimage.png

Loading...

If you would have asked me first, I would have told you- just like I told Pryde- NOT to join. You are too new. Do you know you have to delegate SP or pay a monthly amount? You dont see me in it do you?

old-guy-photos,

I joined at the recommendation of @c0ff33a. And no I didn't know there was a monthly fee (where does it say that?). And yes, I did think you were a part of it ... and Pryde too.

Yes the delegation is 60 SBD or a monthly. ..so I am opposed to it because you are so new especially. You wont see an Alliance banner on my page. Read:
https://steemit.com/thealliance/@themothership/attention-all-alliance-members-mandatory-please-read-the-mothership-will-be-ready-to-board-on-feb-20th

That's our voting bot yes.
Members only, which if, you were in the castle walls, you would know that anyone that cannot afford the delegation, we are all more than happy to make sure they have at least 2 steem to get their tickets. Please don't assume things you haven't the full story on.

Well ... guess who feels like an idiot now? It seems like a detail worth highlighting BEFORE they accept your application. Anyway, I don't want to get into a fight with anyone but I was so dumbstruck by the language of the rejection, in public view for all to see, that I thought I had to respond.

You show me one other person on Steemit who puts more work into a post than I do. This place is about building a reputation. Whoever reads that comment ... what are they going to think?

Thanks for the up-vote. The post has had 27 views so far and not one other upvote ... or comment. Are people scared of retribution or something?

You don't have to pay anything to join us, only time and effort. You are very wrong. We do have a voting bot strictly for members, but there is no fee or delegation mandatory to become a member of the family.

Well I am confused. The article says "This will be a mandatory boarding for all members " but you are saying it is NOT mandatory, yes?

That's our voting bot yes.
Members only, which if, you were in the castle walls, you would know that anyone that cannot afford the delegation, we are all more than happy to make sure they have at least 2 steem to get their tickets. Please don't assume things you haven't the full story on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55