HAPPY ST. DAVID'S DAY – MARCH 1

in #thealliance7 years ago

Will you be wearing a daffodil or a leek for St. David's Day? Both are symbols of Wales. I'll be wearing a daffodil, as I do every year. I know that those of you who know me on Steemit know that I am a Scot who emigrated to Canada and then the USA, but what you don't know yet is that I am exactly half Welsh! My Dad met my Mom in Milford Haven at the end of World War II and brought her back to Scotland to marry her! Mom never let us forget our Welsh heritage, so every year I wear the daffodil in her memory. Sadly she suffered from dementia and passed away at age 74 in 2001.

The celebration is on March 1st because St. David, the patron saint of Wales who helped to found 12 monasteries, supposedly died on that day in 589 AD, but the day did not start to be celebrated until the 12th century.

happy saint david's day.jpg*
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 6s Plus


And for the Welsh speaking Steemians - Dydd Gŵyl Dewi Hapus.



Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for photography tips and tutorials and Follow if you wish.


Sort:  

Very interesting! I never knew this! N
My ancestry is Scottish MacKay. My family moved to Canada then later the US
I did a post the other day on my trip to Wales if you are interested. Many photos.
God bless!

Wow! So many people have not heard of it, but everyone celebrates St. Patrick’s Day. Lol!

Happy St David's day Diane

Well, that is very interesting info. Never heard of St. David's Day.

You have now. 😊🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

Happy St Davi’d Day Diane! I am so sorry for your loss dear. wearing a daffodil on your mother’s name is very sweet of you!🌼🌼🌼

Thanks. 🌞

Wow! Ive never heard of this either! Now I need to go look up the history of St. David! Thanks! :D

Steemit is good for an education, eh?

Haha, indeed it is. :)

Okay, after reading the other comments, I don't feel so bad for not having heard of St David's Day before - LOL! Thanks for the info, and the daffodil picture is beautiful!

Lol! I had no idea that so many had not heard of it, but I’m glad to assist in your education. Lol! 😂😂😂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

I've learned something today thanks to you. I love daffodils but had no idea they are symbolising something other than spring. Nice to know that 🙏😊

hello enjoy the day, traditions should not be lost, it is something that unites us to our ancestors

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Hope you had a lovely happy St David's day my friend and it's good to know about our culture background :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53