You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Date with Marek - Day 121 - Daily Haiku

in #thealliance6 years ago

...so many things in both of our lives that could have prevented us meeting, but ultimately, conspired to being us together, for which I am forever grateful - love it! Tim and I met on a blind date, but only after I'd posted a LOST sign for a painting-in-progress of my mom's mother, which a former classmate saw, and thought, Carol paints? I should introduce her to Tim... well, Tim is so good, I gave up painting, and my sign worked; I got the lost painting back (having driven off with it on the roof of my car). It was truly not a good painting, not worth mourning its loss, but it led to me meeting my husband - 30 years of marriage, now!

Sort:  

Awesome story! Yay marriage to someone who actually gets us!

And I completely relate on the value of lost artworks, even if their only value is to ourselves.

I did a polymer clay sculpture shortly after my divorce, inspired by my artist friend Boo Ehrsam, who is a polymer clay expert, which was essentially a pair of Tyrannosaur-like creatures with sterling wire (since I did a lot of wirework jewelry at the time) for the backbones, tails and legs, the larger of which had no arms.

The name of the two sculptures collectively was "Divorceasaurus," which became extinct because, while she had fully functioning arms, his arms ultimately atrophied and withered away, because he refused to do anything for himself.

And yes, this was an entirely unfair characterization, but it felt really true in many ways, especially since this was, after all, a depiction of the guy who couldn't stand my picking up a book if we were in the same room together. He would literally make up stuff that he "needed" me to do to keep me from reading. I rest my case. ;-)

Anyway, when were switching houses after the divorce was final, the sterling wire got mangled, and after attempting to "fix" it numerous times I ultimately gave up, but was sorry as I really liked the sculpture.

Even though it was far from my best work, it was funny, to me at least. ;-)

"Divorceasaurus" - LOL!! - "became extinct because, while she had fully functioning arms, his arms ultimately atrophied and withered away, because he refused to do anything for himself." Ohhhh man, you could SELL these, Cori!! My sister Lori needs one of these!! Can you remake this and 3-D printer it and market it?? Or make T-shirts and dishtowels? Seriously, you've gotta patent this, fast. Greeting cards?

Finally! Someone else who thinks it's funny!

The really ironic thing is that I actually showed these at one of our GCAA (Gulf Coast Artist's Alliance) art shows, and it seemed like almost no one there got the joke. And here I thought it was pretty self-explanatory.

Which, naturally, made it that much funnier to those of us who did get the humor. ;-)

If you've encountered people who didn't see humor in Divorceasaurus, then I feel better about the way hardly anyone ever gets my kind of humor. Like Dave Barry saying, "I don't want you to think I'm whining--(I am a whiner; I just don't want you to think so)" - that cracks me up. So I read it out loud to someone who doesn't even crack a smile. sigh Well, I think you're hilarious, fun, and kind-hearted, so the rest can go turn to stone. (Ok, I need a better line there.)

LOL - I can completely relate.

My ex, and my previous ex before him, never got British humor, and couldn't even understand English accents, which blew me away because, come on now, they're speaking ENGLISH!!!

Needless to say neither one got my whacked out sense of humor. Hence, "Divorceasaurus."

I remember talking about it with a close friend one day, and her comment was, "Maybe you should use that as a litmus test from now on?" Indeed, and I did so.

It's amazing how many American men just don't get British humor.

So along comes Marek, from a completely different background and part of the world, with English as his second language; and he was already completely addicted to British comedy, and thus got my sense of humor from the start. And I got his.

And that same friend, several months later, after observing us together at one of the many art openings we attended, commented, "Isn't it awesome when you finally find someone who gets you?" Yes. It is. ;-)

And I dearly love Dave Barry, which I already know doesn't surprise you by now, and have several of his books, as well as several of Carl Hiassen's, of whom I''m also a fan.

Did you ever read "Naked Came the Manatee?"

It was a collaborative mystery novel, in which each author wrote a single chapter, and it was fabulous. Both Barry and Hiassen wrote chapters, along with a number of other high profile Florida authors. It's a fast read, full of Florida trivia and in-jokes, and hilarious.

Perhaps in your copious free time. ;-)

Naked Came the Stranger... and the Manatee! Ha!
I'm shocked, shocked, I say, that you'd love Barry too. :)
"Isn't it awesome when you finally find someone who gets you?" Yes. It is. ;-) If Steemit has done nothing else for me, it's brought my YOU! A missing sister.

Awww. Thank you, Carol. I feel the same. ;-)

As for who "gets" my humor, the list is short and sweet.

Thankfully, it included both of my parents, who were as warped as I am, and steered me in that direction.

Likewise, my sister Carol, who is the only person I'd call thinking we'd talk for fifteen minutes and, four hours later, we were still finding new and interesting things to discuss.

My meditation group in Florida, pretty much to a person, got my humor from the beginning, and I got theirs, because we have so many references in common. I miss them greatly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65