Onboarding....(The Stuff We Say to Retain Users)

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)

🤓On my one year Anniversary of being a Steemian the retention rate for the 160 Plus people who joined on that date is around 6%. Some days am sure it is far less and am sure some times it is more. The point is that of everyone I ever onboarded I'd like to share with you how many stuck around.🤓

Several had tens of thousands of followers, published authors and rather well known personalities in their circles. Every single one left and all I could honestly say was, "I get it and I am sorry." There were lots of different reasons given as to why they left and so I compiled a few of the common ones.
giphy (20).gif

  • The old formatted Trending Page....nuff' said! That single handedly ran off one person who was wanting to advertise to his listeners, readers, viewers, subscribers around 20k plus. The new format is much better and it is unfortunate it takes years for something so reviled to be changed. You Snooze You Lose
    I tried and failed to attempt to divert attention to other positive communities on DISCORD...."Ignore Steemit and just focus on Discord."

  • Malicious Attacks
    It sucks to have to tell people to not push on links and to be very careful in this terrain but 'tis what it 'tis. This I don't totally understand as every single platform has this. I chalk it up to perhaps at times lack of fucks given by the powers that be. The personal attacks and ones based on gender seemed to reallllllly piss off some people, I can't blame them but this is the Wild West. I am beginning to wonder how much Social Engineering actually occurs on here. :)

  • "When do I get lots of money?"
    There are NO guarantees on this at all. People talk of spending a week on a post and not making hundreds and that basically nobody appreciates their genius and they leave. I tried to get a few to stay the course but at the end of the day this is not for everyone. The only people at this point I attempt to onboard need to have thick skin and a warped sense of humor.

  • My favorite question is why do I stay on here. I spend most of my time in Discord not on Steemit as I find it more pleasant. My only response to that is..... "Good Question!"
    Unplugging and taking time off from here is Psychologically healthy, there seems to be only so much time anybody really should devote to chasing the almighty dollar.... NO MATTER WHAT GUISE IT PRESENTS ITSELF AS ;)

f.jwwb.nl%2Fpublic%2Fq%2Fj%2Fn%2Ftemp-bqyuqgvgrrqagsjrbgdi%2Ft24m9l%2FIMG_6112.png

DQmYnrP7GN9hUrhoM4qwSZUa9ToBeUvVKgnTAVubdvPnjn4.jpeg
(Giphy #thealliance #steemusa #steemsugars #teamgood #thesteemexperience Be the Change)

😼Persistance Pays Off! It is what defines success or happiness on Steemit for you. For me, the friendships and alliances formed have been beautiful. Suffice it to say I am rather done trying retain people or get them to get onboarded. If they want to be on that is cool and if not that is cool as well.😼

Sort:  

This is a great post and for me I know it's hard for people and if you really only seek success I think it's easy to fail and give up but doing things in right amount. For me I feel success in friendships and self growth. I have met so many amazing people that are friends for life and I also learned much about myself and I have grown in my confidence and realize that getting our of your comfort zone is a good thing.
Money? Ya I'm not so successful there but I'm happy and for me that's all that matters 🤗
You are amazing and all you do is incredible. Great written and happy week 🤗

Community features are coming ( they have been coming for a while now but there was an update today on @steemitblog) i wonder what impact this will have on discord and will the communities move over to steemit. Although there was no mention of chat or DMs so probably not!

Hey @paulag I agree with your sentiments...without chat and dm's and the other features I feel that Steemit is still actually mostly people who are using Discord out of sheer necessity and user friendliness and this is just where we stick our finished products at times, ;) , t.c.
b.a. :)

Congratulations on your first year here. Persistence obviously pays off but so does good quality, and you have both. Discord is doing wonders for people and, like you said, it is more pleasant. Keep on doing what you do, steemit is lucky to have you 💚

thanks! it's not always pleasant that's for sure but keeping the path at least gives especially some of us a bit of a group of friends to be able to chat with, lucky to have u 2

Oh god, dollar chasing sucks. I get why people really want money, but I also get why, when the go hard for it, most of them give up. I find it more pleasant and rewarding to focus on things like how many things I make or how much better I am at something. Passion first.

However, life is really, REALLY hard to do without money, and the allure of being able to just make content is really big. A good. healthy balance is needed right now. Maybe that will change in the future.

my fave line was..."I don't believe in money" as they bled me dry
never again

ain't this da truth. I totally echo your sentiments in the last paragraph. The people and connections on Steem are often more tangible than in real life.

Excelente post @battleaxe y feliz aniversario, lo ideal sería que no olvides como fue cuando comenzaste.

Hmm I need to work more on unplugging. I seem to be commenting here 24/7.
I see myself everywhere I go.

Yah! Persistence is the word.

You just refreshed my memory on how I got to know about you, DISCORD Yah, I can recall.

You've been quite kind, I must admit, your Courtesy on Discord was really admirable and you had this way of stopping by on my blog,
continue being awesome @battleaxe

Indeed, steemit is not easy to survive this days, unless someone with high SP decides to be a sincere friend and lend you a climbing ladder.

This most at times discourages people from spreading words about steemit.

thanks for remembering me, that's very thoughtful and yes it is hard
It is not a fair platform or easy but the connections can keep us afloat and afford us other avenues to work from and opportunities, is why I stick around
take care
battleaxe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92