I Miss The 90's

in #the90s8 years ago (edited)

For those of you that got to live through this amazing decade, what do you miss the most?

Ahhh the 90's, when gas could still be had for under a $1.00 a gallon, grunge was being born, Mtv was still showing music videos and kids actually went outside to meet up with their friends. I miss all of it.

Internet came in the later part of the 90's in my area and cell phones weren't really common. I do remember pager beepers though. For us though just going to the park was all that was needed to find out the latest chatter on what was going on.


We always knew to meet up there a few hours before dark so we could all decide where we would drive out in the middle of nowhere to have our bonfire. We basically lived either at the park, at the lake, or somewhere in the woods. It was nice to be able to drive 20 mins in any direction and be in the middle of nowhere escaping the lights of town. As kids that was where we found our freedom.

Oh and we knew how to dress!


I remember some kids had their Hyper Color T-shirts and their pump up Air Jordan's. For others they had their combat boots or Doc Martins with a flannel preferably wrapped around their waist in baggy shorts. The very daring tried there luck in spandex shorts with no chance what so ever to hide any bulges or curves. Ha ha, that makes me chuckle little some people should not have been wearing those! Oh and stripes, everyone had striped shirts. Gym assembly's back then were a sea of stripes as far as the eye could see.

Sometimes I find myself thinking about those times and I always miss them so much. We had so much fun back then. Why did we all have to grow up damn it, grrrrrr.... :)

Then other times I put it all out on the line and I ask myself "Ok right now this second would you really go back?" Would you really give it all up to go back and redo all those good times and also some bad times again?

Yes!!!!

Dear god yes! I would give up my internet, I'd give up my flat screen TV (remember we had giant fuzzy pictured cubes back then), I'd give up my smart phone, I'd trade me mp3's for cassett tapes. Bye bye amazon prime. I'd even give up my computer. Sigh... my beloved computer. I'd give it all back in a second for a one way ticket to one of the best decades there ever was.

I LOVED THE 90's!!!!

And before I go I'll share this.

I got to see Nirvana back in 1993. I Still hold onto my ticket stub to this very day... Rock on guys!!!

Remember to like and follow and share what you miss the most about the 90's... I left a lot out. I didn't want to hog up all the awesomeness :)

~Cherryleaf~

Sort:  

I miss music , these days music is crap , total crap . I miss my Denon Pro cassette player . I miss my 325i E36 BMW .

I miss being in college, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. :)

i miss being able to talk to people without them staring at a tiny screen. however, i would actually be dead without the internet. would be cool to be able to visit the 90's on weekends. and yeah, most of today's music, movies, and tv is crap. i found some tv from new zealand, it reminds me of the 90's but with cellphones. try : the almighty johnsons, outrageous fortune, or go girls! (the original series)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39