The 12 Week Year—Week Three

in #the12weekyear6 years ago (edited)

Mindset

Define one step for each day, so tiny, that you know you will carry it out. Break the project down into daily bites of work. Then take action every day.

Know in every moment what needs to be done to move you toward our goal.

Always ask this before you do a task: Does doing this get me closer to creating what I want to create?

Only plan items you can execute! Make your plans achievable. Less might be better. When you make plans you cannot achieve your motivation will be killed!

12 Week Year Outcome: develop and launch SteemDesk.com

Outcome(s) for this week

[ ] Launch SteemDesk
[x] Make Utopian contribution

Monday

[x] Plan the week
[x] AtlasParcel: Complete the starter
[x] AtlasParcel: Push to GitHub, make live demo
[x] AtlasParcel: Write and publish post for Utopian

Tuesday

[x] SteemDesk: Init new project based on AtlasParcel
[ ] SteemDesk: Add Redux to project wich re-ducks structure
[ ] SteemDesk: Move reputation code from Hyperapp to React

Wednesday

MISSED

Thursday

[x] SUI-Parcel: Build starter project base on Semantic-UI, packages, routing, lint, bundling
[x] SUI-Parcel: Build starter project base on Semantic-UI, components, app structure
[x] SUI-Parcel: Publish to GitHub

Friday

[x] SUI-Parcel: Make Utopian Post

Saturday

[x] SUI-Parcel: Improve starter. Design & code.
[x] SUI-Parcel: Publish Utopian Post

Sunday

Remember, Sunday is special. If there are still open issues, you should finish them, or refine The Machine.

[ ] Clean backlog and open tasks from this week

The Week In Retrospect

Look at the previous week, before planning the next week. Do this every Monday morning.

What has worked? What did not work? Do you need to adjust The Machine? Be honest, find the truth.
Plan the next week.

  • Identify problems that stand in the way of you achieving the outcome this week
  • Diagnose problems to get at their causes​
  • Design plans that will get you around your problems and toward the defined outcome
  • Push through to completion. Do what is necessary.
  • Define the outcome for next week that will bring you closer to your goal.

Backlog For Next Week

[ ] SteemDesk: Init new project based on SUI Parcel
[ ] SteemDesk: Add Redux to project wich re-ducks structure
[ ] SteemDesk: Move reputation code from Hyperapp to React
[ ] SteemDesk: Move followers code from Hyperapp to React
[ ] SteemDesk: Move current delegations code from Hyperapp to React
[ ] SteemDesk: Build delegation history for current delegations
[ ] SteemDesk: Build delegation history for current delegations
[ ] SteemDesk: Build delegation history for current delegations
[ ] SteemDesk: Build delegation history for current delegations
[ ] SteemDesk: Add form to make delegations
[ ] SteemDesk: Wire form to redux store
[ ] SteemDesk: Make delegations​ through steemconnect
[ ] SteemDesk: Init new project based on SUI Parcel
[ ] SteemDesk: Add Redux to project wich re-ducks structure

18th of March 2018 Recap Of Week Three

In regards to following a set plan, this week has been a disaster. I did not follow through on most of what I had outlined last week. This happened mostly because I was not able to make a decision what component lib I should use for SteemDesk. The many options available paralyzed me..

I decided to make some starter projects to work with the libs to be able to make an informed decision afterward. But as it turns out I still do not know which one to choose. There are three libs that are looking promising:

For three weeks I wanted to launch SteemDesk and still I was not able to make it happen. I'm driving myself crazy :)

Therefore​ I will not analyze​e yet another components lib but build SteemDesk with AtlasKit.

TAGS: the12weekyear, busy, steem, steemdev, steemdesk

Sort:  

Looking like another good week Jo. It looks like you're moving your project from Hyperapp over to react, is Hyperapp to restrictive for what you need or is there another reason for the switch? Really keen to see the source code of Steem desk, hoping I can learn some more React/Redux.

Hey Sam, good to see you mate. Normally only bots are coming by :)

Yes, indeed, I'm moving the code over to React from Hyperapp. The reason is mainly that I use React at my 9-5 job and I'm quite productive using it. Another reason is that I want to use Atlaskit components for SteemDesk. I hope you can learn something from my code, at least some anti-patterns,😅

Hyperapp is awesome, and I would recommend it to anybody who wants to build a website fast without wanting to learn a ton of new concepts.

I am going to take the retrospection part for myself. Looks like a solid way to understand your week.

Also good luck on the steemdesk, never stop at anything. Go get that GOAL!

I am going to take the retrospection part for myself.

Haha, yes indeed. Let me know your feedback next Sunday. Thanks for your motivational words.

Are you planning your week?

I am starting this coming Sunday and ending next Saturday :)

Cool, let me know if you are sharing your progress here on Steemit. Have a great week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52