The 12 Week Year—Week Two

in #the12weekyear6 years ago (edited)

Mindset

Define one step for each day, so tiny, that you know you will carry it out. Break the project down into daily bites of work. Then take action every day.

Know in every moment what needs to be done to move you toward our goal.

Always ask this before you do a task: Does doing this get me closer to creating what I want to create?

Only plan items you can execute! Make your plans achievable. Less might be better. When you make plans you cannot achieve your motivation will be killed!

12 Week Year Outcome: develop and launch SteemDesk.com

Outcome(s) for this week

[ ] Have a working sample application to post to the Steem blockchain using SteemConnect

Monday

[x] Plan the week
[x] Find name for new app. Buy domain and register Steem user. Grab iTunes name.

Tuesday

[x] Setup a new app on SteemConnect

Wednesday

[ ] See if I can use AuthSession from Expo

Thursday

[ ] Learn how to use OAuth 2.0 in React Native

Friday

[ ] Learn to use sc2-sdk

Saturday

[ ] Update RNSteem app and make Utopian contribution

Sunday

Remember, Sunday is special. If there are still open issues, you should finish them, or refine The Machine.

[ ] Clean backlog and open tasks from this week.

The Week In Retrospect

Look at the previous week, before planning the next week. Do this every Monday morning.

What has worked? What did not work? Do you need to adjust The Machine? Be honest, find the truth. Plan the next week.

  • Identify problems that stand in the way of you achieving the outcome this week
  • Diagnose problems to get at their causes​
  • Design plans that will get you around your problems and toward the defined outcome
  • Push through to completion. Do what is necessary.
  • Define the outcome for next week that will bring you closer to your goal.

20th ofMay 2018 Recap Of Week Two

TAGS: the12weekyear, busy, steem, steemdev, steemdesk

Sort:  

This comment is my Recap of Week Two of my current 12 Week Year. I was to update the post. Therefore I write the recap as a comment to my own post.

First of all, I noticed that I did not take care that well of my 12 Week Year posts lately. I do not update my progress on a daily basis. Not updating the status is bad because the whole planning falls apart if you do not follow your plan. I need to take care of it and be more thorough.

The acute reader will notice that I already should be in week three and not in week two. I got stuck on my development work and did not update the status at all. The problem was a technical one; I did not get the Steem lib to work with my React Native app. The 0.7.1 version did not work. It took me a whole week to resolve the problem because of poor documentation.

In this week (week two) I lost a lot of time again due to a technical problem and poor documentation. This time it was sc2-sdk which does not work with my React Native app. react-native-app-auth did not work with my app. And even if it would it would be insecure (Native Apps and PKCE), because sc2-sdk is not supporting PKCE. Please correct me, if I am wrong here.

Because of this, I reconsidered my decision to use OAuth with my mobile application. Instead, I will allow the user to authenticate with the username and private posting key. I hope I will earn the trust of users.

My takeaways​ for the planning of next week is that I need to follow through on my plans and take daily actions as laid out in each post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86