100 DAYS OF STEEM : Day 78 - Friday Challenge How Much Does My Shopping Cost?

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago (edited)

Greetings families and friends here in Steem! It has been so wonderful playing the Diary Game. I will continue to that @steemitblog, @steemcurator01 and all the entire Steemit Team, I can't get all their names here since they are many, but what I will say is that God bless you for your selfless dedication taken the entire Steemit Community to that great milestone and strengthening every Steemian in Steem Block. I see this is the best time for Steem to be improved as we have been collaborated here working in team, instituted positions with active workers. I see these whole ideas building Steem by all member supporting some part will make Steem to reach higher status than before. Because where there is unity, there is peace, and where there is peace, there is growth. This is the basic principles underlying the growth of every Community or business.

Friday Challenge, How Much Does My Shopping Cost?

When this challenge was mentioned for us to participate, I had already decided to go out shopping for my family. Since there were still some basic items that we should have bought during the market day, but we forgot to buy. Yesterday was busy day for me, but I scheduled my day activities into two parts. The first part was what I described in my 25th Diary Game post. So, after 3pm when I had finished my first part of my activity, relaxed little, I walked to town again. Already, the Membership Parliament elections has created tension in town, a whole lot of noise and jubilations were ongoing. But, that wasn't my motive of being in town. My first item on mind was to buy tooth paste. This is one important item in human life. I have come to this store owned by a friend, Sarfo Gyamfi Christian. He is even my Church member we attend Methodist Church. Though I went there for tooth paste, but this pave way to also buy a box of chalk for my kids. The paste cost Ghc 6.00 which is equal to the Dollar $1.04. This amount in Steem is $7.2. The chalk cost only Ghc 5.00 which is equal to the Dollar $0.86, and in Steem is $6.00.

IMG_20200620_143257_742.jpg

IMG_20200620_143411_626.jpg

I moved on to find a cell for my wife's calculator to function, since she is having exams to write. I came to these people who have been selling watches to see whether I can get one. Not knowing that I needed to get 2 of the cells which cost Ghc 12.00 that's equal to the Dollar 2.08 and Steem $14.4. I sat there when he fixed in the cells to confirm that it really function well. Interestingly, the Guy at the same time sell radios, one of the thing I'm lacking. Since television set damaged, I don't have means of listening to news, home is sometimes boring, no entertainment to reduce stress level. I decided to buy one for my family. But the price was scaring me, the lowest was Ghc 65.00 which is equivalent to the Dollar $11.05, $78.00Steem and the highest Gha c 85.00 equivalent to the Dollar $14.45, $102Steem. I wasn't having ready cash to pay for the radio. But one of the good side from these people who have been hawking their products is that they normally give their items on credit bases. When you make half payment for the first month, you pay the rest of the price of the item. They will give the item for you to take it home. They negotiated with me in that way, but I decided to pay in full since I don't want debt to follow me. I promise him to buy one this week starting tomorrow.

IMG_20200620_133239_394.jpg
The Ghc 65.00 radio in displayed above.

IMG_20200620_133101_577.jpg
The Ghc 85.00 radio in displayed above.

IMG_20200620_132935_863.jpg

IMG_20200620_134740_679.jpg
The owner of the radio in displayed.

My children love fine yoghurt and pastries. I have a nice depot of fine yoghurt around some corner in town I used to buy some. I walked to that place to buy 3 and 1 meat pie. Each of the the fine yoghurt cost Ghc 1.20 making Ghc 3.60 plus 1 meat pie which cost Ghc 1.00. In total making Ghc 4.60. This amount in Dollars is $0.782, in Steem is $5.52Steem. The lady removed the fine yoghurt and the meat pie, package them for me nicely. I took few pictures of my proof of purchase here.

IMG_20200620_141020_578.jpg

IMG_20200620_141257_653.jpg

IMG_20200620_141026_395.jpg

IMG_20200620_141429_835.jpg

When I combine all the prices of these items together: the tooth paste= Ghc 6.00, chalk= Ghc 5.00, fine yoghurt and meat pie=Ghc 4.60, the radio I'm yet to buy, say the lowest one= Ghc 65.00. The total amount is Ghc 80.60 equivalent to the Dollar $13.702, in Steem is $96.72 Steem.

IMG_20200620_145036_078.jpg

These items aren't purchase weekly, consider some item like tooth paste, chalk and radio. For fine yoghurt it might be purchased 3 times in the week. But some items like food stuffs, provisions, meat and fishes are our daily consumption. This week Thursday, four(4) tubers of yam cost Ghc 20.00, that's $3.4, $24Steem. That is the quantity of yam my family consume. The yam I'm describing here is proper yam, but the water yam has lower price that this proper yam. But, in terms of quality, the proper yam is ideally the best, that's is why we opt for than variety. My family like yam, but this quantity can't survive us if it's not supported with other common cereals like rice and maize. For the rices come with different brand with different prices depending on the manufacturer. We have royal aroma rice,Uncle Sam rice, cindy rice, Millicent rice, Edna rice, flamingo rice, CIC rice and many other brands that I can't mention all. But I often buy royal aroma rice, which cost Ghc 35.00, that's the Dollar price will cost $5.95, $42Steem. My best shop that I often buy this rice is "Owner shop." It is here that most people buy their items. We get most items at reduce price. We often buy meat like beef or chicken. The frozen chicken cost Ghc 20.00 for the hard one,but if I prefer to buy the soft one, it cost Ghc 15.00. Cassava for fufu a day cost Ghc 5, the same thing applies to plantain or cocoyam which are mixed with cassava for fufu. So, for the whole week if I prefer to eat fufu it will cost me Ghc 70.00. This exclude the vegetables like tomatoes, garden eggs, and pepper. But they are the basic ingredients for the preparation of stew and suop. For the whole week, I spend around Ghc 40.00 for those items.

Within the week, if I calculate every thing, I would be spending around Ghc 300.00 for the shopping of these items. This is equivalent to the Dollar $51.00, in Steem is $360Steem. Most of the items which are difficult to buy are cabbages and fruits like banana. In some seasons they are common to get and very cheap too. But in seasons like this they are very expensive to buy. Apart from this, clothing and foot wears are also another most expensive items in the market. It depends on the the brands but the field in which the individual is found may also determine the kind of clothes to opt for, whether cheap or expensive.

IMG_20200601_171742_130.jpg

This is not all the items and expense I make for the week, as some are bought without even calculating. But this is a summary of the picture of the economy we live in Ghana. Thanks for sharing with me.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Great information in this post.

The Steemit Team

Thanks very much for your support and compliment. I'm so much grateful to your work output.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94