Friday challenge: 5 things I like and dislike about Germany

in #the100daysofsteem4 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians, how are you?

As promised I'd write again another contribution to the Friday challenge
of #the100daysofsteem.

federal-republic-of-2567135_1280.jpg
source: pixabay

I have been living in Germany for the last 11 years, neverthless I still
occasionally heard such question: how do I feel about Germany, do I have
a strong homesick, etc. I never really had so much thought about it,
because my home is where I can see my beloved persons everyday. Surely I
love my parents and other family members too, but people grow and they
always have to set their own priority in life.
Now this challenge had intrigued me to think carefully, what does make
me stay here this long aside of my husband and child, despite the
extreme difference between this country and my origin "Indonesia".
There must be something that I like here, otherwise I'd never feel like
home.
After contemplating for a while I finally found 5 things I like about
Germany and happen to be things I yearn the most while being among
Indonesian people.
So probably I'd better put it in a table, to make it easier to compare :-D.


5 things I like from Germany 5 things I dislike about Indonesia
1. straightforwardness and bluntness

Life is already complicated enough, it's so comfortable when one can
just be honest and straightforwardly saying what one thinks.
Yes means yes, No means No.

It's so nice that people won't easily get offended just because I disagree with them, when I honestly said that I am not interested, that I prefer something else or rather do things another way.

When an Indonesian asks a German: "How was your day?",
then the answer was:"Beschissen! (crappy!)" continued with a narration...
it would be very awkward for the Indonesian. Because normally it's just
perfunctory question.


Unfortunately I tend to be like a German, who would assume that the
questioner asked me because they care, that they have a genuine concern about
me and would never judge, so I'd normally answer honestly too.

If you don't really want to know, please don't ask, all right?
I didn't want to indiscriminately destroy other people's mood with my
random complain either.

2. an appointment even for private matters!

Ooooh... how comfortable it is to not having someone suddenly stands in
front of my house without prior notice.
I like wearing my comfy sleepwear all day at home, allright?
And sometimes I just don't feel like seeing people LOL.

I'm such a loner if being compared with most Indonesians :-D.
3. nature and animal lover

Well... I have never been a complete ignorant before I moved here, but I
do now appreciate the nature more after living in Germany.
I like going for a walk with my husband and little girl in the forest, things I never did in my country. There are so many greeny park here but it's so hard to find a greenery in my homeland to go for a walk.
Enjoying free time to get fresh air is not a custom in Indonesia. There you would normally go to the department store to spend free time 😅.
Regarding animal issues....
I can still remember when I first came to Germany and saw many ducks roaming freely
in the park, my first comment was this,"Oh... I miss our delicacy so
much, a grilled duck with sambal pete."
@jaki01 was like,"You, Indonesian, can you not see animal without
thinking about eating them? Indonesians only see animals as either
livestock or working aid, eh?!?"
I could only grin embarrasedly at that time LOL.
Here we have wildparks for children to learn to love animals, for free. The animals have enough space to play too.
In Indonesia you would even find the zoos to be rather abusive towards animals.
4.punctuality

Germans are known to be very punctual, always. So I love it because I am very impatient person.
I have always been very punctual in Indonesia, so you can imagine how stressful it was for me to live among extremely unpunctual Indonesian folks 😅. I have often lost interest in a man that I found very attractive before but he often let me wait without even apologizing. I was very harsh in judging such a man even when he was only late for 15 minutes LOL.
I happened to live in rather small town so traffic jam can't be used as an excuse hahaha.
However... I am now married to a non typical German. He doesn't like beer, sausage, schnitzel, cold and very laid back, he is not always punctual either 😜🤭😅. Not as extreme as Indonesians, cos he still knows when punctuality is obligatory, he is more like Spanish people.
So why can I tolerate him?
I don't know.. Maybe that is what people often said: love makes you blind hahahahaha.
Ok seriously, perhaps my love indeed has more weight than my complain, that's why I can tolerate that flaw and marry him anyway 😊.

5. good public transportation service and many pedestrian zones

I love the fact that in Germany we can live comfortable enough even without having a car, as long as one doesn't live in a really remote area.
But even if we live in a village, one does not always need a car as long as the job doesn't require us to be always mobile.
The public transportation service is good and there are also plenty of pedestrian zones with trees along the way so that it's safe and comfortable to go everywhere on foot.
We don't have a car and it is fine for us.

1. Hipocrisy, dissimulation.

Beating around the bush is still considered nice and polite, but even
this habit alone is already able to get me on my nerves. Why must people
so fond of complicating things?
I'm not a clairvoyant, why can't people just say directly if they don't
like what I say or whatever it is about me?
How would I know that I offended them, if they are still smiling widely
to me and so friendly.
That's hipocrisy.
If they told me, I may correct it, or at least apologize, right?
If reconciliation effort is futile, it's fine too. Friendship is not to be forced afterall, it only works out if both have mutual tolerance and acceptance, despite the possible difference.
I don't need to be liked by everyone, it's an impossible thing anyway.
Fake kindness/friendship is nasty, I don't want it either.
Unfortunately Indonesians tend to prefer talking bad behind our back
with an excuse: "criticising openly is not giving face, impolite, would
only be done to people you dislike!"
But to me it's absurd to put "straightforward" with "impolite" on the same level.
However this characteristic is really too typical among Indonesians.
Living in a society that put too much weight on "face" and "image" is
really tiring.
I've had enough wasting my time just to analyse other's hidden thought
behind their perfunctory politeness.
So you see why I like the Germans in this aspect so much.

2. coming over without prior notice

The classic design of indonesian houses nearly always have a front
terrace with possibility to sit comfortably for the sudden visitor to
wait for the home owner, when they are not at home yet. Because people
often just stop by without prior notice. We also always have snacks in
stock at home, to prepare for such surprise visit ^_^.
3. ignorant towards nature.

I have narrated so much in my previous article about how much natural
assets we have, that we are basically blessed with nature paradise. But
I'm really worried that those beauties wouldn't last long anymore.
We lost our tropical forest massively everyear.
German is now dirtier than 10 years ago, yes, but you really still can't
compare it with Indonesia.
This is what you can see in some beaches of Bali, like "Kuta" and
"Legian", especially after each stormy days.
It's really terrifying... Indonesians can't take care of their precious
assets well.
I know that the Eurepean became more conscious about environmental
issues because they have lost too much during industrial revolution.
But Indonesians (and other Asians too) have seen what happened in
Eurepe, so why couldn't they just learnt from Eurepeans' mistake?

garbage-‪4634114‬_1920.jpg

source=pixabay

Many Indonesians love gardening and cultivate edible plants in Germany although we only have so short time in a year for gardening activities.
But in Indonesia where the soil is sooo fertile and showered with sunlight all year round even in rainy season, prefer to cover their yard with paving blocks.
They don't even choose a lawn, let alone gardening.
I rolled my eyes often when Indonesian complained about the rising price of chilis. Cultivating chilis in a flower pot should be able to cover the needs of a small family, so why don't they do it?
Pesticides are also used too widely there.
Considering animal issues...
I won't say much in this chapter anymore, my husband's remark on the German section of my article has told you enough.

4. "Jam karet" = rubber/gummy hours

What does it mean?
Well, don't trust Indonesians when they say they're already on the way to you! 7 o'clock would probably means 8 or even 9 o'clock and many of them don't even bother to apologize 😅. And that happens too in professional world, unfortunately.

5. Bad public transportation service and lack of pedestrian zone

Considering the big population, it is really a shame that up to now, we don't even have a good public transportation service yet.
We have too little train connections. Let's not wish for wide pedestrian zones and protected from the sun with trees, because having an intact sidewalk and not occupied by street vendors is already a luxury in Indonesia 😑😏🙄.


Those are 5 things I like the most in Germany and I dislike the most in Indonesia. There are perhaps some more things I can tell you, but only 5 are required for the challenge.
However, after reading them, you'd surely understand why I can adapt well here in Germany.
Of course there are not only nice things in Germany, I also have complains.
Nevertheless it is a fact that some of my personal traits are more suited to this country than to my homeland. So I'm quite happy here.

Should I still list my dislikes too towards my present country?
Na ja, OK... I will tell you that too 😉:

  1. Inflexibel, too bureaucratic (in Indonesia, you have corrupt officials, true, but you also have those who would see you as a person instead of reference number, and merely based on compassion would agree to bend some unreasonable rules to help you)
  2. Germans are too much of complainers LOL. They always think that they're being taken advantage of.
  3. Form...form...and form again, for every little s##t (pardon my French 🤭😅) you would have to fill in few sheets of forms, which are often not easily comprehensible even for such a grammar pedant like my husband, so that you even need some extra sheets of instruction manual to answer every single questions 😂😝😜.
  4. Service desert
    If you ask me what I miss so much from Indonesia is: the excellent service you can expect in nearly every aspect.
  5. Cold face 😔. Yes, I am not very social like other typical Indonesians, but I still think that a little smile when someone walk towards you doesn't hurt. Smile is gratis afterall.
    Btw... Asians just love to smile, so please don't misunderstand that as an invitation for a flirt 😝.

Well.. I think this should be enough for today, see you again soon in my next article.
Thanks @steemcurator01 for organizing the challenge.

Sort:  

Hallo Ana,
auch deine Fortsetzung gefällt mir ausgesprochen gut! Es ist sehr spannend, die Vor- und Nachteile aus der Perspektive einer "Neubürgerin" und dann auch noch im Vergleich zu einem mir völlig fremden asiatischen Land zu lesen. Du sprichst Aspekte an, auf die ich nie gekommen wäre, weil sie für mich als damit Aufgewachsene so "normal" sind.
Die Sache mit dem Getratsche hinter dem Rücken würde mich ja verrückt machen. Leider geschieht das hier natürlich auch und - sorry, liebe Geschlechtsgenossinnen - besonders Frauen können das gut. Deshalb habe ich immer lieber mit Männern im Team gearbeitet, weil die doch oft gradlinig sagen, was ihnen nicht passt oder aber "Fehltritte" nicht sofort persönlich nehmen. Naja, Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel und man darf natürlich auch hier nicht pauschalisierend alle über einen Kamm scheren.
Lächeln ist schön, ja. Wenn aber alle immer Lächeln, hätte ich persönlich große Schwierigkeiten, Personen, Gesagtes etc. einzuschätzen. Da bin ich manchmal ein kleiner Autist. Im "deutschen Alltag" habe ich gelernt, dass man oft ein Lächeln zurück bekommt, wenn man eines verschenkt. Ein Lächeln, ein nettes Wort, ein Dankeschön ist bei mir an jeder Kasse selbstverständlich - und, ja, oft muss ich grinsen, wenn die Leute dann erstaunt reagieren...
Bezüglich der Pünktlichkeit bin auch ich ein kleiner preußischer Pedant. Und wir beide teilen bezüglich der Partner das gleiche "Schicksal". Ich sehe das mittlerweile als Lebensaufgabe zu lernen, auch mal Fünfe gerade sein zu lassen... ;-)
Alles Liebe euch,
Chriddi

P.S.: Ich nehme nicht mehr an der Challenge teil, du machst das viel besser :-)
Als positiven Punkt hätte ich tatsächlich die vielen Möglichkeiten, die Natur genießen zu können, obwohl wir ein relativ kleines, dicht besiedeltes Land sind, genannt. Besonders das Weltnaturerbe Wattenmeer liegt mir am Herzen. Negativ ist, dass es so viele Menschen gibt, die das nicht wertschätzen und nicht wahrnehmen können/wollen, wie gut wir es - gerade im Vergleich mit anderen Ländern - haben.

Leider geschieht das hier natürlich auch und - sorry, liebe Geschlechtsgenossinnen - besonders Frauen können das gut. Deshalb habe ich immer lieber mit Männern im Team gearbeitet, weil die doch oft gradlinig sagen, was ihnen nicht passt oder aber "Fehltritte" nicht sofort persönlich nehmen. Naja, Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel und man darf natürlich auch hier nicht pauschalisierend alle über einen Kamm scheren.
Das stimme ich zu. Ich war damals auch immer lieber mit Männer befreundet sein. Deine Aussage trifft bei den Indonesiern auch zu. Ausnahmen gibt es immer. Ich zum Beispiel gehöre auch zu den Ausnahmen unter den Indonesiern 😊. Und unter der Deutschen existieren solche Gerüchte hinter dem Rucken auch, aber es ist immer noch nicht vergleichbar mit Indonesiern 😅. Die Indonesier oder vielleicht sogar Asiaten haben irgendwie immer den Drang, andere Leute zu sagen, was sie tun sollen. Auch wenn es eigentlich Privatsache ist und sie sind noch nicht mal eng befreundet bzw. verwandt, sondern nur Bekannten. Niemand mag ungewünschte Ratschläge in Privatsachen, sie selbst auch nicht, machen sie trotzdem zu anderen Leuten. Sie haben auch irgendwie sehr größe Neugier übers Leben anderer Leute.
...dass man oft ein Lächeln zurück bekommt, wenn man eines verschenkt.
Das stimmt. Zumindest wenn man in einer öffentlichen Gebäude ist und die Menschen sind zufällig relativ nah voneinander (Supermarkt, Restaurant, oÄ). Beim Spaziergang treffen wir leider oft Leute, die noch nicht mal uns in die Augen gucken 😅. Der @jaki01 ist oft der Person, der laut danach rief :"Leute heutzutage können weder *Guten Tag* mehr sagen noch lächeln." 😂. Es ist natürlich nicht immer so schlimm wie dies. Wir wohnen zum Glück im Dorf, wo die Leute meistens noch relativ freundlich sind.
Und wir beide teilen bezüglich der Partner das gleiche "Schicksal".
Ich bin jetzt schon viel rühiger und geduldiger geworden als früher. 😁

Die Gegenüberstellung deiner Sichtweise auf Aspekte, die du einerseits in deiner Wahlheimat schätzt und andererseits in deiner Ursprungsheimat weniger magst, finde ich sehr gelungen und eine gute Idee.

Ich möchte noch auf einen atem(be)raubenden Umstand hinweisen, der mir bei meinem kurzen Taiwan-Besuch vor eineinhalb Jahren, vor allem in Taipeh, negativ aufgefallen ist: die starke Luftverschmutzung, die mir - lange vor der Corona-Krise - die Bekanntschaft mit meiner ersten Gesichtsmaske beschert hat sowie der tosende Verkehr. Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass sich auch die größeren Städte Indonesiens mit diesen Problemen konfrontiert sehen.

Unzählige Mopeds, Autos, Busse und Kleintransporter, die ihre Abgase ungefiltert ausstoßen, dazwischen einige mutige Radfahrer. Verkehrsschilder und Ampeln, die nur eine grobe Orientierung zu geben scheinen. Ein Lärmpegel, der in der Nacht nur wenig abflaut.

Was mich im Gegensatz zur starken Luftverschmutzung sehr überrascht hat, waren die sauberen Straßen. Der Müll wird getrennt und die Müllabfuhr funktioniert. Die Müllwagen kündigen sich lautstark mit Beethovens "Für Elise" an, der Abfall, wohlgemerkt nur in offiziellen Mülltüten verstaut, wird schwungvoll auf die Ladefläche geschleudert. Ein sehenswertes Spektakel.

Ich reise sehr gerne, weil mich fremde Kulturen und Landschaften interessieren, aber ich freue mich auch immer wieder auf das "Heimkommen".

Taiwan ist schon relativ modern verglichen mit vielen anderen asiatischen Ländern. Es ist nicht so gut wie Singapur, Süd-Korea oder Japan, aber besser als die anderen Reste, deshalb ist das Entsorgungssystem relativ gut.
Dort wo die Umgebung relativ sauber in Asien isy, gibt es normalerweise eine verbreitete Kameraüberwachung und die Strafe is richtig teuer 😀. Manchmal denke ich tatsächlich, dass so ein Volks wie asiatiachea Volks nur Ordnung haben könnten, wenn sie strenge Regierung haben 😅. Traurig aber diese Aussage enthält eine gewisse Wahrheit.
Luftverschmutzung ist am schwierigsten zu vermeiden, zumals noch die fosillen Brennstoffe massiv verwendet werden.
In chinesischen Ortsteil sehr stark (besonders im Winter) die Luft verdreckt ist nicht nur die Abgasse der Fahrzeuge, sondern die Heizungsanlage. Sie verwenden noch Kohle als Energiequelle, und zusammen mit der Abgassen macht die Luft sehr schlecht.

Ich möchte v.a. mal auf die Sache mit dem Lächeln eingehen. Da ist nämlich wirklich etwas dran. Ich habe ja schon in einem eigenen Beitrag mal geschrieben, daß ich seit einger Zeit versuche, möglichst viele Leute, denen ich draußen begegne, freundlich anzulächeln und zu grüßen, auch wenn ich sie nicht kenne. Einige gucken wirklich ganz verschreckt weg. Besonders auch Frauen! (woran das nur liegen mag....)
Das ist wirklich sehr befremdent, und zeigt mir auch, daß die Gesellschaft wirklich "einen gewissen Schaden" genommen hat. In letzter Zeit fällt mir allerdings auf, daß die Leute zunehmend positiv darauf reagieren. Natürlich ist es eine subjektive Betrachtung.
Cold Faces stören also nicht nur dich, sondern auch mich.

Du hast Recht, besonders die Frauen reagieren so. Sie haben wohl Angst, dass ein Lächeln als eine Einladung angenommen werden könnte.
Ich wohne nah an der französischen Grenze, sodass diese Phänomen nicht so stark geprägt scheint. Die Südländer sind ja etwas wärmer 😊.
Außerdem merke ich auch, dass die Leute etwas freundlicher werden, sobald der Sommer wieder kommt.

Ich plädiere daher für einen "Endless Summer". ;-)

👏🍻🍺🥂😁

... besonders die Frauen ...

Mir fällt schon sehr lange Zeit auf, dass es anders ist, wenn ich im Auto an Frauen, die auf dem Gehsteig laufen, vorbei fahre. Da schauen mir wirklich ganz viele Frauen lange ins Gesicht.

Wenn Mann zu Fuß Frauen begegnet, schauen sie meistens gar nicht. Sie haben dann wohl Angst, gleich angesprochen zu werden.

In Italien habe ich das ganz anders erlebt. Da kommt sehr oft ein "tschau".

Mit Frauen, die einmal in der Gastronomie gearbeitet haben oder noch arbeiten, geht es aber auch in Deutschland ganz einfach. Diese Frauen sind gewohnt, unverfänglich mit Männern, die sie nicht kennen, zu kommunizieren. Ich lerne sehr oft Bedienungen kennen; auch außerhalb ihres Tätigkeitsfeldes.

Edit: Oh, Entschuldigung! Ich wollte ja eigentlich schreiben, dass ich deinen Beitrag sehr interessant und lustig finde. Es hat mir Spaß gemacht, ihn zu lesen. Danke!

Danke für die nette Rückmeldung 😊.
Was du erzählt hast, fällt mir auch auf.
Die Frauen, die im Service-Geschäft tätig sind (Gastronomie, Reisebüro, oÄ), sind normalerweise freundlicher.

Great article again! Ah! I can understand now why you feel like home in Germany and can adapt well there.

Among the 5 things that you like from Germany, I like item 3rd the most. I love "nature and animals" very much. It's great that there are many greeny parks there. So, I would be really happy to walk around in nice nature; like the forest near your house. You are very lucky to stay there.

Regarding item 2nd, I think Indonesian and Thai are similar, "coming over without prior notice". I don't feel like seeing people while I'm at home, too. Yep! Another thing that we are similar again is that "I'm a loner", too.

Yeah! I can see your love for your husband, @jaki01, is bigger than anything else. That's why you both have a very warm family and a cute little princess.

Like other Asian people, the signature of Thai people is "smiling", too. Ah! Well said! "Asians just love to smile, so please don't misunderstand that as an invitation for a flirt."

Thanks so much for sharing. Have a pleasant day and stay safe! ;)

Well... I think Asian People do have a lot of similarities in behaviour, so we can say that my article is roughly applicable too in comparing German with Thailand 😁.
I love reading Chinese Web Novel and Drama, so I noticed that it's not much different with them either, aside of the fact that Chinese are generally not laidback type. This is perhaps the main different that we have with China.

Yeah! You are right! I absolutely agree with you in all respects. ;))

Deine Artikel zu diesem Thema sind richtig gut, in dem Fall war es auch sehr aufschlussreich, mal an einer anderen Sichtweise auf dieses Land und dieser Kultur teilhaben zu dürfen. Größtenteils stimme ich dir zu, aber was das direkte sagen der Meinung angeht, ist das bei Deutschen nach meiner Erfahrung schon unterschiedlich, manche mögen es, andere eher nicht so.

Ich denke in diesem Zusammenhang oft an ein Zitat des berühmten Schriftstellers Mark Twain, nach dem wir die Menschen lieben, die frisch und unverblümt direkt ihre Meinung sagen, vorausgesetzt, es ist die selbe, die wir auch haben. Ich für meinen Teil habe diese Erfahrung schon einige Male machen dürfen, wobei das bei vielen Menschen in etlichen Ländern ganz ähnlich ist, glücklicherweise aber nicht bei allen und und einige derjenigen, die auch andere Meinungen aushalten konnten, gleichzeitig aber immer sehr diskussionsfreudig waren zähle ich noch heute mit zu meinen besten Freunden. ;-)

Klar treffen meiner Aussagen nicht immer zu. Ich habe auch in meinem vorherigen Artikel bereits erwähnt, dass jeder Person einzigartig ist.
Nun mal so, dass ich die Generalisierung machen muss, weil ich ja gerade über die gesamt Eindrück eines Landes beschreiben möchte 😊.
Information über allgemeine Eigenschaften bzw. typische Verhalten einer bestimmten Gesellschaft ist immer noch von Nutzen, wenn man erst neu in einem Land kommt.
So kann man bestimmte Probleme vielleicht vermeiden.
Wenn es um Freundschaft geht, wird es einen anderen Bewertungsvorgang benötigt LOL.

Der Theorie finde ich auch zutreffend. Allerdings kann ich es nur für Problemme in der Gesellschaft tolerieren, weil es uns alle betrifft.
Was ich in dem oberen Artikel beschrieb, gilt aber auch für persönlichen Themen.
Hier in Deutschland wird kein Mensch dir unbefragt eine Meinung bzw Ratschlag über dein Leben sagen, es wird auch keiner böse sein, nur weil seinen Ratschlag nicht genützt wird. Es ist immerhin eine Privatsache, keine offentliche Interesse.
Sowas ist aber unter Indonesiern oft der Fall.
Mit "Direktheit" meine ich eher, dass man nicht immer rätseln muss um zu wissen, was hinter dem Satz eigentlich noch versteckt ist.
In Indonesien muss man fast immer sich selbst fragen, ob die Aussage einer Person so angenommen werden kann, wie es gesagt worden ist.
Es ist auch oft der Fall, dass du für immer ratlos bist, warum ein bestimmter Freund ohne konkreten Grund von deinem Leben zurückzieht und manchmal sogar plotzlich so feindlich sich verhält.
Die Asiaten sind groß aufgewachsen mit der Gewohnheit zu analysieren, was die Anderen über sie denken.
So ein Leben finde ich sehr stressig.
Nun wenn ich sage, dass es mir scheiß egal ist, was die Anderen über mich denke, würden sie dann sagen, dass ich kein anständiger Mensch wäre.
Das finde ich lächerlich. So lange ich niemanden schade, warum sollte ich soviel unnötige Gedanken machen 😝.

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

👍

Thanks to @jasuly for burning 1000 CT! You have been rewarded with a 100% vote. Your action makes this project grow and helps to restore a Clean Planet! Join us on our Discord Channel and on our website

Congratulations @goldcoin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @kobold-djawa!
@kobold-djawa will receive 4.40893125 TRDO & @goldcoin will get 2.93928750 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @kobold-djawa, your post successfully recieved 4.40893125 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@goldcoin earned : 2.9392875 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47