The Biggest Event of the Year

Cape Town has tonnes of annual events each year and it really depends on what you are interested in as there is something for everyone. I could literally hundreds of events that take place in and around the city each year and they all attract a major crowd. However, If I were to pick out a popular Cape Town event that happens every year I would have to say the Cape Town Coons Carnival also known as "The Kaapse Klopse"

biggestevent.png

The Kaapse Klopse

The Kaapse Klopse is a minstrel festival that takes place annually on 2 January and it is also referred to as Tweede Nuwe jaar/ second new year, in Cape Town.

People dress up, they practice their marching and new songs each year and compete with one another in a massive parade all around the city centre. As many as 13,000 minstrels take to the streets garbed in bright colours, either carrying colourful umbrellas or playing an array of musical instruments.

I would say its primarily a "coloured" tradition those who are native to Cape Town culture and are also seen as a separate ethnic group in South Africa. While it looks fun and colourful and is a joyous occasion, the festival celebrates a deep history of oppression and racism as does many things in South Africas past.

I've never participated in the festival myself, but I have been to one and seen the squads in action, It can be loud and noisy and very busy but I think its worth checking out at least once in your life.

Have your say

What do you good people of STEEM think? If you have other suggestions, why not make your own post? You can find the instructions here

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post, sprinkle it with an upvote or esteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler and subscribe to my fanbase

Browse & Earn CryptoStack Sats For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
brave.jpgEarnSats.jpgcryptocom.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73