My Local Media Review

South African broadcasting, in general, is pretty poor most of our local content is driven through our mismanaged national broadcaster the SABC which has no idea how to run a profitable business and burns through tax revenue and ad revenue without ever improving their product but since they're a government-enforced monopoly of sorts, it is what you get.

Locally the media is pretty informal I would say, the market doesn't really have enough disposable income to be supporting high-quality production in radio, tv or newspaper but surprisingly we have all 3 running.

Local TV

Locally we do have one TV channel C-TV or Cape Town TV that shows more regional content and tries to provide a more grassroots type coverage but its hardly very popular among Cape Townians.

capetowntv.org

Image source: - Cape Town TV

Local radio

I would say local radio is far more popular with radio stations like Heart 104.9 and Goodhope FM being the most popular and catering to the wider Cape Town metro area.

Nothing has changed its still the same formula of top 40 count downs, call-in competitions and prank calls and some current affairs news. It's hardly changed the formula but I guess it works why change it right?

I'm not a big fan of local radio and would prefer to use my apple music or even Soundcloud before I touch a local radio station.

Local newspaper

As for local newspapers yes we do have ones for certain suburbs like the tygerburger and the metro burger which are dumped in your mailbox for free and littered with ads in between the local human interest stories. I guess it plays its part in the ecosystem of keeping those educated who can't afford to be online.

I don't read it personally but I do get them from time to time, often local communities will use it to promote projects and feel-good stories too.

Have your say

What do you good people of STEEM think? What's your local media like? Create your own post with the instructions here

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or esteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler and subscribe to my fanbase

Browse & Earn CryptoDonate LikeCoin For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
brave.jpgLikecoincryptocom.jpg

celciusnetwork.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73