THE DIARY GAME: 17/08/2020: WELCOME TO JAMES ASSURANCE DIARY EPISODE 16. THE DIARY GAME SEASON 2

in #the1000daysofsteem4 years ago (edited)

Dear diary,

A lovely Monday morning.
I woke up early as usual which is becoming a routine these days, it is 7:00 am and I am ready for the day.

I went out for exercise, with the way I have been eating lately my weight has been alarming, I am thinking about registering at a gym if that will help me finally.
since I was starting after a long time I limited my speed to light walks for a while and soon after I jogged for a while.
I was just all sweaty and tired soon after and I returned home.

when I got back I went straight to the kitchen to prepare breakfast, this time I went for something heavy as I was exhausted, I made fried rice the Nigerian way.

Nigerian Fried rice is a very simple yet delicious recipe. it comprises of fresh vegetables, Beef Liver, and a little bit of Oil for crisping it up.
The added beef liver gives fried Rice a very nice rich but subtle taste, and this is why it is one of the most popular choices in Nigeria. Though you can also use Shrimp or any protein you’d like. If you would love to make vegan fried rice, you can omit the Beef liver or Shrimps entirely!

This fried rice is entirely different from the popular Asian Chicken Fried rice because the depth of the taste in the later comes from the Soy sauce while the depth of taste of the later comes from the Curry powder, Thyme, Seasoning cubes and of course the abundance of vegetables like Carrots, Green beans, Peas, sweet corn, and Onions.
Just like the Basmati Jollof Rice we savor these meals so much, and we can barely do without them in gatherings and festive seasons, and it’s a meal you can make in no time. So simple recipe, but the impact it makes in a gathering is quite remarkable!
This recipe starts with already parboiled Rice, so it makes the whole process easier. I cooked this parboiled Rice in a bit of well-seasoned stock so that the Rice can absorb more flavor. Though it’s advisable to this, however, this step can be skipped if you are in a hurry.

ingredients
2 Cups cooked rice
1 Cup Mixed Vegetables I used Carrots, Sweet Peas, Sweet Corn and Green Beans
1 cup Onion diced
2 Scallions
1 Cup Beef Liver Cubed
1/2 Teaspoon Thyme
1 Teaspoon Curry powder
1/2 cup Chicken stock
1 Stock cube
3 Tablespoons Oil for frying
Salt to taste
Instructions
Add the parboiled rice to the stock and cook until the water is dried up.
Preheat the oil in a pan, throw in the Onions and fry for a minute or two, add the scallions, mixed vegetables and the seasonings ( Thyme, Curry Powder, Salt and Stock Cube)
Throw in the rice and stir-fry for about 3 to 5 Minutes. Take it off the heat and serve

Finally, you must always wash the rice before cooking it. This will help to remove the excess starch on the rice, which can cause the rice to be clumped together.

*It’s good to add a dash of cayenne pepper if you like some heat!
*Don’t over boil your Rice before frying it, otherwise, you will end up with a soggy Fried Rice.
*Fried Rice is best enjoyed when the Veggies remain crunchy, so don’t overcook your veggies.
*I used mixed veggies which consist of Carrots, Sweet Peas, Sweet Corn, and Green Beans. However, vegetables like sweet bell peppers can also be used.
*To achieve that nice coveted crisp, you will need to turn up the heat to high during the frying process and stir continuously as you allow the rice to heat up.
*I added pieces of beef liver in my fried Rice, a lot of people like this as well, but if you don’t want it you are free to leave it out, you will still enjoy the total goodness of the Fried Rice.
*When making this Fried Rice, it is best to use Chicken stock or Turkey stock because of their mils taste. The beef stock should be avoided as it can overpower the taste of the fried rice.

MVIMG_20200817_092328.jpgthe after result of the food.

After eating I took my bath and afterward I went to have a long rest on my cozy bed.

Goodnight Diary.

introductory message
https://steemit.com/the1000daysofsteem/@jammz100/shopping-game-28-7-2020-food-item-for-self
@team-1nigeria

team introductory message
https://steemit.com/the1000daysofsteem/@team-1nigeria/the-diary-game

#the1000daysofsteem #thediarygame #team-1nigeria #nigeria #ghana #steemafrica

Sort:  

since I was starting after a long time I limited my speed to light walks for a while and soon after I jogged for a while.

Whenever I have time I also do jogging. Exercise is must for a healthy life
life
#onepercent #srilanka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67