THE LONG WAIT

in #the-steemititians7 years ago (edited)

This is an entry for a poetry contest organised by @lordjames

The first stanza and a half is of his own creation, I hope you'll enjoy how I chose to end mine.

20180215_070515.png

Another day, another night
The church signboard stood
It directs people to go meet God
While they received salvation
It stood rusting in the rain

When will my day come
Another just passed
But the great wait continues
With a silence even the dead would despise

A happy wind blows by
Rattling the unsteady signboard
Oblivious to the impatience that is now my default mood
Grating on a nerve that can barely hold its own
Curses to its cheerfulness

Once again I feel the dark closing in
My eyes are shut tight
Afraid that another night will creep by
With still no messenger of goodwill to alleviate my sorrow
And as I feared, night approached and still nothing

I am beyound waiting
I will crush the mail box if I have to wait any longer
I will bury myself in sorrow
Clearly I have been rejected
Perhaps, I have been found unworthy

When will my day come
Maybe it never will
Maybe I will die from all the expectant looks on all the faces of whom I have bragged to, before it comes
Or maybe, just maybe, today will finally be the day.

Sort:  

@rose-collette, you might not be aware about this but you have been delegated a big amount of steem power (12,911SP), I've seen this by chance on steemd: https://steemd.com/@rose-collette
Not sure what it means or what you can do now but try upvoting a thing or two, see what gives.

Other than that, beautiful poem ! :)

rose-collette.PNG

OMG! THANK YOU SO MUCH

Very beautiful poem
Love it

Thank you becks😆, I'm glad you like it

You nailed it

Aww @burlarj😊, thank you

Nice one dear

Thank you Zizi😊

Its a creative one dear. 👌

Thank you brother 😄

Today is your day. No more waiting dear. All the best

THANK YOU SWIDDY

Beautiful piece. If your are on discord, chat me up.

Awesome, you’ll not die before your expectations are fulfilled if they’re in line with the will of God for your life.

Everyday is yours.

Amen o... Thank you sir.

Everyday is mine

Wow... This is so sweet dear.. Feel inspire ...

@gprince ✍️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84