The Long Wait: the steemititians' contest by @lordjames

in #the-steemitians7 years ago (edited)

Another day, another night,
The church signboard stood,
directing people to meet God.
While they received salvation
Its rusting in the rain.

When will my day come.
Another just passed
But the great wait continues
Like a refugee's wait for war to cease
The Master's intervention, I pray please
image

My patience limit is almost exceeded
My breaking point needs to be extended
This takes breath out of my tripartite being
For my patience has been bashed
Like a dog's confidence against the lion's.

Another week, another phase
Allow me grow at my own pace.
I am in competition with no man, I lied
Constantly rejecting the world's rejections, my fight
For this wait is only bringing me closer to my destiny

How this has bred two things
A culmination of willpower and strong desire
I've chosen my preacher, my Steemit god
To help me find the path of this blockchain road
Oh steem, may I not be a cast away in your kingdom.

Another day, another night
My converts have gotten their keys and testeemonies.
While I'm hoping against hope,
Lord, satisfy my thirst
Lest my hope vanishes like a swirl of skirts.

Thank you for reading

Image Source: Pixabay
The first stanza and the first three lines of the second stanza were composed by @lordjames to be completed, based on contest rules

If you wish to join this contest, click on the link below;
https://steemit.com/creativity/@lordjames/in-the-kingdom-of-the-steemititians-2-the-long-wait

Sort:  

I enjoyed how the lines flow together. Poetry is like music, the flows are just amazing. Very beautiful write up, I enjoyed reading your piece. Thanks for participating, your entry have been received.

Thank you for your kind words

Would have served better if it glorified God the creator!

But its a good write-up all the same

Yeah, but it was written within the ambience of the contest. Thank you for your kind words and observation.

I love how it ended, nice piece

Oh steem, may I not be a cast away in your kingdom.

Was a bit confused about the poem till I saw this 😂😂😂😂.

My brother give your life to Christ... Don't procrastinate, Heaven is close..

#smiling... Lovely poem

Hahaha, my poem has turned you into a preacher, thank you bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57