I am coinbitgold. How the hacking incident event led me to think steemit is like high school all over again

in #the-hack8 years ago (edited)

First, i want to say that i am @coinbitgold. I will try to provide more evidence to show that I am @coinbitgold later on in the next few posts. But in this post, i will talk about the hack during that fateful night and how the $30k makeup tutorial reminded me of high school.

What happened on that fateful night?

It was after dinner that i was casually browsing on steemit website and slack channels, as usual looking for interesting stuff to read. Then, i saw Dan's message on slack channel saying that he got hacked. Then, i saw @kevinwong saying on slack channel that there was something amiss with his account and some of his funds have been transferred and he could not log into his account. At the same time, i was looking at Dan's 2-liner weird and unusual post - a post that does not sound like him. I hesitated to upvote and then i flagged, knowing from someone in the channel that it was in fact written by the hacker.

What does this incident teach me?

Frankly speaking, I don't know what this incident taught me because i did changed my password straight after i found out that that there is hacking going on. And in an effort to protect the funds, i sold my liquid steem ASAP so that the hacker will not get his hands on it. I guess it was just plainly unlucky and unfortunate that my false positive account became a suspected compromised account.

I was unlucky that i lost my voice at steemit.

The good thing that came out from this is that i decided to transform this situation to create a new account and will probably start to mine.

My random thoughts on steemit content

Before the hack happened, i was posting on #phd #designthinking, the more business and serious stuff. I also have plans on developing my #coinbitgold into my freelance research and consulting platform. And that, i guess have to wait until i get my account back. With such a long time not blogging with new posts @coinbitgold, the account creations and number of posts increase at such an exponential rate that i feel i can no longer keep up.

To be frank, i am getting a little depressed with makeup tutorial getting $30k worth of upvotes whereas my previous blog posts about #designthinking were never more than 40 votes. I was really doubtful of the value of myself. It makes me wonder if all steemians are really all into learning makeup or all steemians, male and female want to apply better make up. I was immensely jealous of Tara and this strange yet familiar feeling came back to haunt me.

How the makeup tutorial reminded me of high school and how i think steemit is like high school all over again

You know, how in high school, there are always cliques. There are the cool ones, the cheerleading squads, the good-looking ones, the rich and privileged, the sporty ones, the bullies, the nerds, etc. I was somewhat the nerd, the Bernadette Rostenkowski, or even Amy Fowler. I was never the pretty one. But I did blossomed later on, knowing a little bit of fashion sense and learnt to put on clothes that flatters me later on in university. And as i matured and grew, i realized that i was really being silly. This is because every one of my high school friends, no matter which clique they came from, became part of my FOND MEMORIES during high school days. I realized how valuable those memories were. My high school friend were so diversified that we learnt from one another, brought value to each other and grew together.

Likewise in steemit, i think diversity is steemit biggest's strength. All of us, no matter where we come from, no matter where we are living now and no matter what language you speak, our diversified interests and content can bring value to steemit. And i guess it was good at least, i was filling certain niche content as @coinbitgold. As steemit and steem progress, i can imagine us entering a new era of social and cryptocurrency revolution.

As we are entering this era of new revolution, 30 years down the road, we look back at the old steemit days and i can imagine myself nodding and saying that was some good steem it off.

About this blog @alicahuca

I will be blogging randomly about my thoughts, travels, parenting and non-business stuff at this blog. If you would like, please follow me.

Sort:  

Intеrеsting thоughts

Congratulations @alicahuca! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45