Working at a 'Help Desk' can be a tough job...A Shout-out to @Timcliff and @Drakos

in #thankyou7 years ago

This is not the easiest job to do...
and often Unappreciated!

Think about the last time you had to call a support line for your internet, computer or whatever. Maybe you have to wait on hold for someone to become available, go through your issue with them and ideally they are able to provide the information your looking for or step you through a problem. But here on Steemit..there isn't some office with a fleet of workers to provide customer support.

What we have are a few dedicated VOLUNTEERS!

When someone encounters a more technical problem with Steemit, most lines lead them to the #help channel in Steemit.chat. While I'm sure most these people needing help never thought about or realized, that the helpers aren't a paid employee like at the phone company. On top of this, I've personally seen many people drop in this support room, being extremely impatient and sometimes flat rude. Obviously there are many that leave happy giving @TimCliff or @Drakos their thanks.

But anybody that has ever worked in Customer Support, this is a very taxing job! It's hard to take day after day, smiling back at the person shouting at you...and that's when you're a PAID Employee! These two guys VOLUNTEER their time, simply to help our community as a whole!

Recent Spike in "Help Tickets."



Sure...there's always going to be some problems here on Steemit. But lately the amount of traffic through the #help channel has go up a TON! The ongoing common problems they deal with include somebody:

  • Not receiving the SMS text to verify for signing up a new account
  • Not getting the final approval email (with their actual password to let them login)
  • Unable to get certain things to work on the site (like when Steem Power is too low)
  • and plenty more.

Lately however, there's been a HUGE increase of traffic in the #help room, primarily from the Bandwidth issue SO many people (lower SP holders in particular) which prevents them from pretty much being able to do anything. I won't bore you with the details, but I'm sure you could imagine the frustration if suddenly you couldn't post, comment, vote or even claim your rewards!

I know not everybody would even realize that this was going on. Had I not been spending so much time in the #general channel in Steemit.chat to answer questions, moderate, etc..I probably wouldn't have known about this either.

So I really wanted to highlight all the time and effort
@TimCliff and @Drakos have been putting in to
providing Customer Support for Steemit!



@TimCliff has had my witness vote for a very long time. Though more recently I was quite happy to free up a witness vote for @Drakos as well! We all have our own way of determining who is deserving of these votes. For me, supporting those who help our whole community, especially in more thankless roles, are at the top of my "Most Deserving" list!

Thank you @TimCliff and @Drakos for what you do!
I'd have gone crazy long ago!

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get more Votes?-Part 1-Part 2-Part 3

Why do my Post Payouts and Account Value go down?

Click HERE for a list of All my other Guides!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Guide Helpful.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Image Sources:
IT Support
Southpark Meme
Phones

Sort:  

@sykochica When I registered in Steemit, I had to wait like 8 days to know if they would send me the confirmation, I really did not have a reply. I came to the chat room of steemit for answers and to my surprise it was in a matter of seconds that I got the help, that help was from my great friend @drakos who took some time to explain to me what was happening with the system which was very helpful for me. In a matter of minutes I was already receiving the confirmation mail from steemit. The truth is a job that can only be achieved when there are people who give themselves 100% and are fond of what they do.

God bless @Timclif and @Drakos. @sykochia I remember u once gave me an advice on steemit chat, I want to say a big thanks to you. Your advice has really helped me. God bless all steemit volunteers

And to you sykochica I would like to say a big thank you for your selfless service cause you personally assisted me. And for them drakos and Timcliff thank you for being available.

Thank you for the kind words. It's often not easy to deal with the increasing influx of users, plus the language barrier which can make things more difficult for both sides. We try our best. I'm glad @sykochica has stepped in recently with helping newbies on the chat, it takes off some of the load.

Steemfest was a nightmare, I had to deal with massive requests of stuck accounts. However, the experience was fruitful, because it prompted me to implement a mechanism to ease the process.

the helpful man your looking for!
here : @Timcliff and @Drakos :)

Lol so jokes! Yes customer service never changes. That is a tough job. You must love the product/service and your company to do that. I need to have something fulfilling to do each day.

Postingan yang bagus sangat bermanfaat saya menyukai ini

Thank you @sykochica for the post. This is useful for colleagues and I as we refine our community. @TimCliff and @Drakos are my witnesses as well.

Rock On Party Rockers!!

@Timcliff @Drakos Thank you so much for everything you've been doing for this beautiful ocmmunity of ours! Nothing but respect! @sykochica You've been helping Steemians a lot as well! Thank you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75