What Holiday Traditions Does Your Family Do?

Thanksgiving and Christmas are just a few weeks away. I thought it would be fun to know what your family does that makes the holiday's special or brings fond memories for you.

I have a complex family. They are scattered all over the United States and have been for many years. Television commercials showing a whole gaggle of relatives around a large table with a monstrous turkey in center stage is laughable to me. Some years it's been just me as a lone wolf, with no where to go. Other years, the house is just my children & grand children. A few years the whole family was together. It was too much!

We tend to go the informal route. I usually make the turkey while everyone else brings the rest. Sometimes we do it buffet style if the crowd is large, when it's small we go formal since everything will fit on the table.

One item that must be on the table is sweet potatoes. You know, the ones with marshmallows on top and pecans? A mutiny can happen if someone screws up and doesn't bring them. We also go around and say what we are thankful for the most the past year. Sometimes it's the littlest thing that had the biggest impact on a person's life.

So what are your traditions in what most call the most dreadful time of year, the holiday's?


This is an original art done by my talented friend.

Sort:  

I like your tradition of going around the table and everyone saying what they are thankful for. Also, those sweet potatoes sound incredible! We're never had em like that or I could understand the mutiny!

Here, I go crazy if we run out of stuffing, that's my mutiny hahaha!! In Canada our thanksgiving was last month, there was enough stuffing :)

Ah yes, Canada had her Thanksgiving already. Yes the round table of thanks can be a tear jerker or one of laughter and everyone who's blessed our table says it was most memorable. I love stuffing too and have tried some interesting ones. Some have been a flop (always check reviews! ouch!) The old standby of giblet stuffing is always a hit. Just never tell it has giblets in it, HA!

Yep, cooks should never share their secrets hahahaa! I remember how grossed out I was when I watched gravy being made....blood...boiled neck...but damn it's good!!

Green bean casserole is the mutiny item here and pumpkin pie. I am a lone wolf alot too. But that's OK with me.

I'm alone again this year so my friends who have a small family have invited me. A lot of local churches have a free community meal every Thanksgiving. I went to that one year, good food & I met some people from town, it was nice. No cleanup, but no turkey sandwiches the next day sucked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69