Thankful Acts of Kindness: Learn Many Things From Special Needs Children

First, I would like to say thank for @mariska.lubis who told me about this contest. And of course I also would like say thanks for @natureofbeing and @rebeccaryan who make this contest.

In this post I want tell you my experience what I’ve got from children in special need in Semarang.

In 2010, it was the first time I entered in one of the disabled children's schools in the middle town. Specifically located in the city center, exactly side by side directly with very famous Mall in Semarang. But not many people are aware of the place is a school, people more familiar that place as a mall parking lot because it is part of the place in the school is rented for parking space.

I personally first entered that school actually to apply for an apprenticeship as a lecturer. A fairly long college vacation I use for doing activities. For other friends choose to vacation, but I choose to do activities more useful than that.

As a psychology student, I should have more environmental sensitivity. And I am very aware that at that time my social sensitivities were lacking, because I used to prefer to be alone rather than hanging out with people. By applying for a part-time teacher I hope to learn to be more sensitive. Haha.

Honestly on the first day I was very nervous. Previously I had never been a be a teacher, but now it is directly placed as a shadow teacher at the school. I was amazed. I had a very valuable experience that I had never had before. Being a child with special needs teachers must be very patient. Due to their limited thinking ability, teachers have to repeat several times. And it is not experienced by teachers in formal schools.

In addition to being a lecturer at school, in the afternoon I also help children who live in dormitories. In the school is available dormitory for children who live outside the city. Within a few months they were allowed to go home to meet their families. In addition to playing together, I also assist them in doing homework provided by the teacher.

IMG00240-20110821-1857.jpg

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-30 at 12.08.33 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-30 at 12.08.32 PM.jpeg

I am very happy to do so. Although my apprenticeship has been completed, but until now I still visit the dormitory. They always remember my name and are always happy when I come. I am also, always happy to meet them. Because of them I learned many things, one of i learn is to be more grateful and caring with others.

I really believe that God never created living beings in vain. There must always be a purpose behind it all.

I can not do much for them yet and there are still many things I need to do. But I hope with the little things I did, can give color in their lives.

Cheers.

Mayorita

STEEMIT2.JPG

Sort:  

mantap mbak. . memang butuh perjuangan extra yah.
ga kebayang gimana tantangannya mengajar mereka

iya mas @ekavieka memang butuh ketrampilan khusus dalam mengajar anak-anak special need. Saya salut dengan para guru anak berkebutuhan khusus yang selalu memberikan pengajaran terbaik untuk mereka.

Keren mbak, sukses untuk challengenya dan semoga ini bisa menjadikan inspirasi buat semua.

terima kasih mbak @patriciadian :D

Dirimu begitu penuh cinta, teruslah berbagi agar bahagia itu benar dirasakan oleh semua.

thanks teh. Saya bingung mau menulis tentang apa karena kontribusi saya masih belum banyak, jadi saya lebih pada berbagi pengalaman tentang ini. :D

This is a wonderful story @mayorita!
Thank you so much for joining our contest.
You and the children look so happy. :)

Sungguh mulia! Saya tidak bisa membayangkan bagaimana mengajar anak-anak ini. Mungkin kesabaran aja ga cukup, ya?

Ayo, kita berkontribusi di #steemiteducation.

Iya bang @teukumumukhlis kesabaran saja tidak cukup untuk mengajar anak-anak berkebutuhan khusus, perlu ketelatenan dan juga cinta yang lebih hehe.
Iya bang, saya juga berniat untuk menulis hal-hal berkaitan tentang pendidikan dari sisi psikologi.
Terima kasih bang sudah mampir 😊😊

Wonderful post @mayorita and thanks for participating in our contest! Developing real relationships that lift the spirits of those who have great challenges is such rich work that gives back so much, thanks for all you do to improve the quality of your life and the lives of others.

Thanks so much @naturofbeing ..
Its so pleasure join this contest. I dont expect that i'm one of the winner. I just want to share what i'm doing and i hope could inspired others.

ah but you did win :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36